We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent...again!”
Review of Arzella

Arzella
Ranked #1 of 52 Restaurants in Marsalforn
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent...again!”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We have frequented Arzella each time we are in Gozo and it never disappoints. The view over Marsalforn is excellent (especially at night looking across to Zeebug). The portions are a good size so go hungry! Excellent for a romantic meal with good quality local Rose` wine. The service is excellent as you are made to feel as though you want to be there all night, which was fine with us!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chri55ie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    109
    28
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Superb - as always!”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Christian and his team at Arzella never disappoint. When it comes to fresh local produce, especially fish, this is the place to head to in Gozo. It was our umpteenth visit to the restaurant, and this time we went for a relatively late lunch. The experience was amazing as usual with a delicious mixed fish platter coupled with some chilled Moscato.

Totally recommend this restaurant for one of the best meals you can have around the island!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mariocachia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Abslutely faultless!”
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Although known mostly for its "fishy" meals, this time around I went for a non-fish selection and the result was simply MOUTHWATERING !

I started with a pasta Aglio, Olio e Peperoncino, apparently a simple dish to come up with but, in reality, extremely difficult to get just right. The frsh pasta I was served was absolutely faultless ! The balance between the red pepper and the garlic was perfect and the olive oilabsorbed the tastes perfectly without the frying "aftertaste" that is imparted by the garlic if the temperature of the oil is not maintained just right. Last but not least, the fresh parsley was just enough to give it fragrance without taking off anything from the bite imparted by the garlic and red pepper.

This was followed by an absolutely DIVINE Fiorentina cooked to just the right point and served stylishly boned and served on a lava tile.

Definitly an experience for any foodie ! ! !

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank RaymondB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
“business lunch”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We had this amazing experience.the good was delicious.oustanding staff. The view over the sea is spetacular.y

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 19Umbertino70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Previously missed!”
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

We often eat out in Gozo and this is a restaurant that we have for some reason, we have previously missed. What a great discovery for us though so much so that we ate there twice and both meals were fantastic. The menu has it's fair share of fish but there is an excellent selection of other dishes and local specialities. What must also be mentioned is the service which, despite eating at peak times, was very good. Looking forward to our return trip next year.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravellinLight3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arzella also viewed

Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
 
Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
Mgarr, Island of Gozo
 

Been to Arzella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing