We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the top 2 restaurants in Marsaforn”
Review of Arzella

Arzella
Ranked #4 of 50 Restaurants in Marsalforn
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the top 2 restaurants in Marsaforn”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Brilliant food and service from a restaurant with great views of the harbour.

When we visited this restaurant over 2 years ago we were really impressed with the quality of the fish and the friendly service, This holiday it was just the same as we remembered, and a must for anyone visiting the resort.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dave k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    98
    24
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Valletta
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A fish-lovers heaven”
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

With a superb view - overlooking the sea - and a menu packed with fresh fish, you will be spoilt to choice. We left the waiter to recommend starter and main course and were not disappointed with his 2-person platter combinations; all fresh... all well presented...and all mouth-wateringly delicious.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank delavalette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
94 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“One of the Best”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

My wife and visited Arzella during our stay in Marsalforn. The owner and staff very welcoming and attentive, we picked dishes from the daily specials, our starters of Risotto and the Pasta of the day with seaford was superb. Our mains was freshly caught Lamuki and Swordfish which I must say was fresh and perfectly cooked, the best I have had in a long, long time. We had a long chat with the owner who is very passionate about using local produce. Overall extremely good value for money, as the wines are not to expensive. Ooh and the views is good also as it is a little higher than the other restaurants. Well worth a visit when staying in Gozo.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best spaghetti vongole”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Recommended by Maltese friends of mine that come here often.
Arzella make one the best spaghetti vongole I've ever eaten. Home made, slightly irregular spaghetti, good consistency of the vongole oil/sauce, great garlic taste and perfectly cooked vongole.
The other dishes were very good too, so would definitely recommend.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenmare, Ireland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“My first port of call when in Marsalforn”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I'm delighted to be back again in Marsalforn and my first port of call for dinner was the Arzella. Despite being a single diner, waiting staff gave me the option of a table on the sea view terrace or within the restaurant itself. Knowing how popular the Arzella is, in particular on a Saturday night, I was happy to take a seat inside. Sure enough, in the course of the evening the restaurant was almost full to capacity, this being the best testament to the superior fare offered by its kitchen.
It's Lampuki season and sure enough, the Special's board listed Lampuki Pie which I ordered. I did have to wait 40 minutes for the dish from point of ordering but when it came, the delicious pie filling, the crust baked to perfection and the portion size more than made up for the wait.
For those readers interested in pricing: My meal of a complimentary Bruschetta, the Lampuki Pie, an orange juice (bottled), a coffee and a brandy came at the reasonable cost of 17 Euro.
As always, service staff was friendly and refreshingly, gorgeously, entirely male. Unfortunately, my waiter forgot my initial drinks order despite the restaurant not being busy at the time. Hence, this time, only four stars. That doesn't mean, though, that I won't be back. :-)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HOS70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arzella also viewed

Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
 
Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
Xlendi, Island of Gozo
 

Been to Arzella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing