We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking forward to our return at Easter”
Review of Calypso Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Calypso Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Marsalforn
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Looking forward to our return at Easter”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

After spending Christmas for the last five years at the Calypso we are looking forward to sampling the delights of Easter this year, as well as Christmas. Like other reviews the restaurant staff are excellent and have made our stays very enjoyable and one of the reasons why we keep going back for more. They are locals and are very informative of the island and anything you need to know. The housekeeping & reception staff are always friendly & helpful too. This Easter we are bringing with us 3 of our elderly friends. There are excellent views from the rooms overlooking the sea, and harbour. The rooms are always very clean, bright & airy.

Room Tip: Sea View 1st choice, Bay View 2nd choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beaujolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    312
    96
    38
    24
See reviews for
120
381
43
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed at the Calypso on a BnB basis for 6 nights jn March. We had booked a sea view room and were not disappointed, the room was a decent size, well furnished and spotlessly clean. Having read reviews about the beds I contacted the hotel a week before leaving and was told if we wanted soft beds just ask. I like a firm bed my,wife likes a softer bed so we asked for one of each. No problem, that's exactly what we got, plus a kettle and cups etc, and a fridge to keep the milk, which we bought fresh from the local supermarket. Brilliant service!! Previous reviews give plenty of detail about the hotel and resort, so suffice for me to say we were very impressed with the hotel and its staff, and will happily return.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TattersLeedsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Gwann, Malta
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

After an absence of a couple of years, we returned to this hotel a few weekends ago but left with mixed feelings. Reception is very "robotic" - push the button and you get a speech, at least with a smile! The rooms are exceptionally clean and quiet so that you can get a relaxed peaceful sleep. The bathroom on the small side. However mattresses are uncomfortable - on the hard side and beware since when getting in/out of bed it slides about very quickly. The food is not as great as what it used to be - it was fresh, tasty and adequate. The salad choices on the buffet were poor. At least the bread pudding made up for the shortage. Breakfast however was excellent with a beautiful display of different choices including an omlette station! These are normally only available in 5 star hotels. The staff in the restaurant were professional and very friendly so that shortcomings are superseded by the excellent service.

Room Tip: Beware of mattress sliding on the bed to avoid injury.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

This is another return visit. It has become a regular haunt of ours at least once a year. We had a sea facing room as we love to watch the harbour life from the balcony.
The welcome was warm and friendly and the room was large and airy and well furnished. I do think though that the rooms are looking a bit tired now and could do with a facelift. The beds are also quite hard which i find a bit uncomfortable but wouldnt put us off going. The hotel is spotlessly clean everywhere you go. We like it too as it is easy to keep to yourself if thats what you want.
With it being off season there were several of the restaurants around the bay closed but still plenty of choice of the ones open. There is also a new addition called the Candy Cafe next door to the hotel which sells sweets galore good to take back as presents and is also a cafe.
There is also a couple of supermarkets within a 5 minute walk of the hotel where wine is reasonably priced and good.
It was too cold to swim in the sea and we did notice there were quite a few jelly fish probably brought in by the chilly winds. During the day it was pleasently warm but did turn chilly at night time.
We visited Victoria during our stay and Xaghra. You can get a weekly bus ticket from the bus driver for 5.60 euro.
We had a fab time and cannot wait to go back AGAIN!!

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for sea view. Its well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

What a shame to see a good hotel slide into being not a very good one.
Have just visited the Calypso for the 3rd time in 4 years. Believe it changed hands 2 years ago just about the time of our visit..The rooms are now looking very tired with stained furniture and holes in the awnings on the balcony. The most surprising thing is patched towels one had 3 holes with patches sewn on to cover them.
It all looks very neglected
The restaurant which used to be excellent and had table service out of season now serves buffet food on the nights when it cannot cope with the number of guests requiring food, The food which is supposed to be hot is luke warm at best.
This is such a shame for a hotel in a fantastic position and rooms with great views and staff in the restaurant that welcome you back like a friend.
I will be sad not to go back but unless the decline is halted I would not consider going back again.

Room Tip: Always have sea view room. Rooms on the back overlook a narrow street and dont get the sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geraldinefrith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Once more we have had an enjoyable stay at the Calypso. It may not be the grandest hotel on Gozo but we like it & have stayed many times. We received the usual pleasant friendly welcome from the staff - especially as we walked into the dining room. Being on half-board, we usually had a substantial breakfast to see us through until the evening meal, although we did occasionally have a small snack if out for a visit or on a walk. The evening meals were varied and we enjoyed each & every one.
The room was adequate, with a large balcony overlooking the small harbour. Furnishings & facilities were clean, and we had no problem with either the bed or the bathroom.
Our only criticism would be regarding some of the staff who work in the Reception area. Many of them had their head down as we passed - it would have been pleasant to have been acknowledged - if only by a nod or a smile.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melleiha
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Visit Calypso Hotel for short visit and we were truly satisfied.

To start off, we have only encountered the Front Office,Housekeeping and F&B staff and all are very helpful and efficient especially the housekeeping which makes you feels very welcoming. Front Office tried their very best yet they have their limitations whilst F&B servers need to put more effort in making the client the first and foremost.

The room itself was very well kept. Cleaning was top notch and fittings are of very high standards. We had a sea-view room and definitely a very attractive view of Marsaforn bay. It is shame that the weather was not in our favor and we could not enjoy the well sized balcony. I found the bed a bit uncomfortable, yet the accompanying persons did not complain hence it could be that I am used to different bedding. Having tea/coffee facilities would be a nice touch if they are provided free of charge.

We stayed on BB basis and Breakfast was of high-quality for a four star hotel. Wide selection to choose from especially the pastry section where one may find around 6 different types of bread rolls and another 6 different kinds of pasties which all seemed to be produced in–house and delicious in taste. The only thing about breakfast was concerning hot beverages as Coffee jars and Tea pots were readily available for self service . At times, the tea was not strong enough and throughout the service the tea will not remain piping hot. In my opinion, the management must invest in a coffee machine and offer other choices like; herbal tea, warm milk etc.

Hotel Calypso does not have a lot of leisure facilities and being Gozo is very quite throughout the shoulder months, no particular atmosphere is created. It was also a shame that the roof top pool terrace was not open for residents as I was looking forward to see the view from up there.

All in all, definitely a good value for money and I am surely to re-visit again if I plan to go back to the island of Gozo.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sasha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marsalforn
1.2 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
727 reviews
3.2 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
3.8 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
3.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
1,216 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calypso Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calypso Hotel

Property: Calypso Hotel
Address: Marina Street | Marsalforn Bay, Marsalforn, Island of Gozo MFN 1104, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Gozo > Marsalforn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Marsalforn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Calypso Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Calypso Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calypso Hotel Marsalforn
Calypso Hotel Gozo
Calypso Hotel Island Of Gozo/Marsalforn, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing