We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel”
Review of Calypso Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Calypso Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Marsalforn
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We have just spent a couple of nights at this hotel and can easily say that this is not our first time here and for sure we will be going back again and again as there is absolutely nothing to complain about. The hotel has the best location by the seaside, very clean, and perfect service.

Room Tip: For just a few more euro , we would suggest a sea view room over the beautiful Marsalform bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anthony g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    302
    92
    35
    24
See reviews for
110
366
42
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

This 4 star hotel should not rate than a 3 star. We had a miniscule bathroom, balcony was full of cobwebs, mattress very hard could have slept on the floor. Furniture could be better and wi-fi internet inexistant. But our worst experience was on the second day when we had an awful stench of dranage in the room, the receptionist was not surprised, her only comment was that she would change our room.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Convict395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halden, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

The best thing with my stay at this hotel was the wounderful view from my room and balcony. Ask for a sea view room if you like the sea and the sound of the waves. Breakfast was great too. Totaly a hotel to recomend.

Room Tip: Sea view and balcony is a must here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirmat865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I stayed in the hotel for 10 days as part of a scuba diving trip with a large group of people from the club. We were accommodated in the adjoining apartments but had access to the breakfast buffet (which was great) and the lovely roof top pool in the hotel. The calypso staff done a great job arranging transport and all the diving gear we required which took a lot of pressure off the trip.

The hotel itself overlooks the beautiful town and harbor of Marsalforn and a great view of the sun set over the sea. There are many great bars, restaurants and shops within a short walk from the hotel, including Bo jangles bar which is two minutes away and was a great experience with very friendly staff and I’d highly recommend popping in for a pint or some food.

The apartment itself was spacious, clean and fully furnished for all our needs including catering with a great view from the balcony. Over all the experience was extremely enjoyable, the staff were very helpful and i will definitely be returning to this amazing place on such a beautiful island and would highly recommend the calypso hotel to anyone wishing to visit this island paradise.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The hotel is in the bay and at the middle of food area. You can find easily Chinese restaurant here. Room is big enough for 2 people. I use 2 rooms, 1 is standard twin and the other is standard double. The size of the twin bed is about 100 x 200 m. Bathroom is clean. Unfortunately they don't provide electric kettle. Breakfast just average, not much selection, but for us is oke, because we don't eat much for breakfast.
They don't have gym or fitness room... Here only for eating, drinking and sleeping.
Internet is fast, you can use the wifi in the room for free.... 1 voucher can use for 5 gadgets,,,
I like the Chinese restaurant for their buffet dinner. I like also the salad and the spaghetti at the cafe just in front of the door hotel.
View from the hotel is not good. There is a pier and blocked the view and there is also small boat park over there. Difficult to find the parking space.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Enjoyed our stay at Calypso... friendly staff, clean room and surroundings.

Breakfast has a variety of foods including pastries, bread, ham & cheese, fruit, yogurts, cereals...

We alsodined once at the restaurant (La Perla) and food was good too.

I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Land view room looks on a narrow street and an abandoned building. Sea view rooms have lovely view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Venera - Malta
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I had the opportunity to stay at the Calypso Hotel in Gozo during this last weekend. It was a very relaxing weekend with a quite environment in a friendly atmosphere. The breakfast was excellent, the rooms very clean and the service was of a high standard.

The room service was very good and I suggest that guests should experience the quality of this service.

Room Tip: If possible book a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marsalforn
3.8 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
3.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
3.2 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
3.8 mi away
Saint Patrick's Hotel
3.6 mi away
Hotel Ta' Cenc
Hotel Ta' Cenc
#1 of 2 in Sannat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calypso Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calypso Hotel

Property: Calypso Hotel
Address: Marina Street | Marsalforn Bay, Marsalforn, Island of Gozo MFN 1104, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Gozo > Marsalforn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Marsalforn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Calypso Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Calypso Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calypso Hotel Marsalforn
Calypso Hotel Gozo
Calypso Hotel Island Of Gozo/Marsalforn, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing