We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical island”
Review of Calypso Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Calypso Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Marsalforn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I have been visiting this island twice a year for 18 years and still love it. The best time is springtime when it is green and flowers everywhere. It is ideal for a walking holday, with easy tracks and impressive clifftops, plus plenty of history to enjoy. I always stay at the Calypso hotel, a friendly place overlooking the pretty harbour. I have recently returned from therre and hope to return soon

Room Tip: Sea views are best but cost more
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sylvijoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (742)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

346 - 352 of 742 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2013

Stayed for 10 days in November with brother and sister in law, Hotel very nice, food was good but felt more choices on the menu would have been good. Staff were very friendly and a special mention about Chris the Night Porter who was very helpful toward us and told us a lot of information about the island and the best places to visit - after all ' local knowledge is the best'
The area was a little quiet but probably more due to the reason we stayed in November and am sure it would be busier during peak months. but all in all a pleasant vacation
Abby - Liverpool (Nov 2013)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abby g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We have been staying at Calypso Hotel for many yeas and were always very satisfied.
During our last visit we were very disappointed. Towels supplied were not bath towels and rather,
worn out.The Bed sheets have seen better days and the mattresses are about time to be replaced with new ones. Breakfast was also inferior to the breakfast we use to have until our last visit earlier this year.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tinu55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed here for a week in September, great hotel. Staff friendly, room clean, free wi-fi in your room which I have never had in any hotel before. The roof top pool area is nice & quiet, it was very hot when we were here so the fact the pool is so cool is great! We attended the BBQ night, the food was good, but more of a grill night than BBQ. We ate in the roof top bar most days for lunch and all the sandwiches we tried were lovely.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Save-the-badger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for the last two weeks in June this year. The hotel is very clean, bright and modern. All the staff are very helpful and friendly, especially the restaurant staff. We stayed on the top floor at the back of the hotel. Though we didnt have a sea view room, it was very quiet and had a pleasant outlook towards the hills. We only sleep and shower in our rooms, so didnt see the point of paying the extra three hundred pounds for a sea view. The food at the hotel is very good, Breakfast had a great choice of both hot and cold options, and freshly prepared eggs were also on offer. The evening meal was also very good, with a good choice and good portions. We had intended to eat out sometimes in the evenings, but the foo d was so good in the hotel we didnt bother. Wine was very reasonably priced too. The only negative of this hotel was that the air conditioning in the rooms worked but we were not able to get it cold enough to cool the room efficiently. We found that putting the ceiling fan on and opening the balcony doors and pulling the mosquito screen accross cooled the room better than the air con. We would definitely stay at this hotel again. We went with chevron and for the price we paid was excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor for better views if staying at the back of the hotel. Also choose one away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulaLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I've stayed here before and I'll do it again, [like a shot]. In general the hotel staff very friendly and the dinning room staff go the extra mile, working hard but staying cheerful and helpful.
The building overlooks a small harbour and is close to any amount of restaurants. If Marsalforn is a good place to relax, then Calypso is the hotel to do it in when you're there.
The rooms are clean and well aired with terrific views across the bay.
My only gripe was our worn out and torn curtains. Apparently the damage was caused by sunshine and guests and as the curtains are only changed/repaired during the winter nothing could be done about them. [A pity, but not the end of the world].
So thank you Joe S and the rest of the staff, see you soon.

Room Tip: Always get a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Forkinggeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

A lovely welcome when we arrived after a long nights travel. We had paid extra for a seaview and it was well worth the money, The roof terrace was lovely and always plenty of sunbeds available though we were there late season. Breakfast was nice with a good choice of cooked and cold food. Our room was large and had everything we needed. We didn't eat an evening meal at the hotel as there were so many restaurants nearby but the menu looked nice and people said it was very good.
Reception staff seemed a little haughty but on speaking to them they were very pleasant and helpful. The beds were hard but we liked this and slept well. The pillows were adequate but I am sure if we had asked we could have had extra.
I was nearly put off booking after reading about the small pool but it was fine and very refreshing. For the keen swimmer there are plenty of access points to the sea from near the hotel.
The location is superb and Marsalforn is a perfect place to holiday. The bus service is reliable and very reasonable with buses to the central terminus in Victoria every 45 minutes and another to the harbour via the nearest sandy beach. The restaurants are good and the promenade perfect for an after dinner stroll.

Room Tip: Well worth the upgrade to a seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carrie6651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marsalforn
1.2 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
759 reviews
3.2 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
3.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
734 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Ta' Cenc & Spa
Hotel Ta' Cenc & Spa
#1 of 2 in Sannat
848 reviews
10.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calypso Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calypso Hotel

Address: Marina Street | Marsalforn Bay, Marsalforn, Island of Gozo MFN 1104, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Gozo > Marsalforn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Marsalforn
Price Range: $73 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Calypso Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Calypso Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calypso Hotel Marsalforn
Calypso Hotel Gozo
Calypso Hotel Island Of Gozo/Marsalforn, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing