We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great hotel and resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Calypso Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Calypso Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Marsalforn
Wirral
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A great hotel and resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2008

My husband and I have literally just returned from Gozo and after reviewing this site most evenings, I thought it was about time I added a review, which I hope will help others in making their decision to go to Gozo and this hotel.

The Calypso is a very nice hotel and deserves its 4 star rating. The rooms are clean, bright and well equipped. There is a fridge, TV, hairdryer, safe (payable locally, but only 7 euros for the week) ample wardrobe space and a small balcony. Our room was at the back of the hotel and probably wouldn't be favoured by most, as the rooms on the front are far superior in terms of views, but we could see the sea and for what we paid I couldn't really complain. Although I did ask to be moved, but the hotel wanted 135 euros for the week and I thought I would save our cash, as we didn't spend a massive amount of time in our room anyway.

Breakfast is served on the first floor restaurant between 7 -10am and was more than sufficient. You can have a freshly made omelette or fried egg, bacon, lovely bread, kippers, fruit, cakes, cereal - more than enough to sample in a week.

We were only B & B so didn't try dinner, but we had lunch on the top floor terrace and it was very nice and a huge portion.

The pool is located on the roof and although small, we never found it crowded and were even the only ones up there on our last day. This may have been something to do with it being early on in the season though.

Malsaforn is a charming resort and hasnt and I doubt ever will be spoilt by tourist. There is a small beach where you can hire sunbeds, which are 11 euros for two beds and bolly, which your probably thinking is a little more than most med resorts. But what you have got to bare in mind is even on the busiest day there were only 20 beds taken, as everyone tends to sit on the beach or the concrete jetty off the beach. On our first fews days (Tues, Wed, Thurs) the beach and resort was fairly quiet, but the latter end of the week, the place really gets going, which locals coming out with their dogs and children and enjoying the sunshine. This really is the only place I have ever been where the locals (those not working to please you in some way) really are the heart of the place.

There are around 20 restaurants/bars and I must say that the food in all was excellent. One tip, don't let the restaurants which aren't as well presented put you off, as the food was always wonderful. What I mean by this is some restaurants have plastic garden chairs and paper table clothes, whilst others have linen clothes, staff in matching outfits, but what we experienced was a bad case of style over substance and the food was often not very warm and I suspect not freshly make. There is only one restaurant that this really applies to and I can't remember its name! Its next to the tourist info office which sells boats tours and is the other side of the bay to the hotel. The average two course meal, with a bottle of wine and coffee was 40-50 euros and both every penny.

Hiring a car is a must as there is so much to see and do around the island. We stumbled across our rep after breakfast one morning and she was unfortunately just leaving and unable to help, but there happened to be a local chap in reception who organised it all with a quick phone call. The car was delivered and collected from our hotel and it cost 70 euros for three days.

Many people commented before our holiday 'ohh why Malta' and they seem to have negative views. Gozo is completely different to Malta and I can't recommend it enough.

If your looking for booming clubs and busy, buslting streets with lots of shops, this isn't the place for you. If you like nice restaurants, in a beatiful setting and an easy going pace of life, then this will be the place for you.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank LushWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    298
    88
    33
    24
See reviews for
106
360
39
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
137 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2008

We visited Gozo in March 2008, and our visit coincided with unpredictable weather and a storm: huge waves bombarded Marsalforn, but the locals seemed to take it as the norm and carried on as usual.

The Calypso Hotel was largely populated by older people and package tours. We didn't have a sea view, but the room was clean and large enough for two people. The bed was rock hard though and the blankets and sheets combo made it less than cosy in such cold and stormy weather.

The breakfast buffet was above average in choice and quality: very good fresh bread every day.

Being officially "off-season" Marsalforn itself was extremely quiet, with many restaurants closed. However, we recommend the Trattoria a couple of doors down from the hotel for good Italian style food.

Gozo is a very sleepy place, but friendly. We highly recommend a car to get around the island as the local buses are unreliable in winter.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Hard beds
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank JayneLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2008

We have just returned from 28nights at the Calypso Hotel Marsalforn, Gozo. Arrived on a sunday evening, myself and my brother ,check in was very quick and we each had our own room.Well could not believe it ! we each had a room with a double bed, tv,minibar,bath/shower,balcony and the most amazing views of the harbour, sea, unbelievable. The food was fabulous, we were on half board and on valentines night were served a five course meal.The elections were on 8th March and whilst we were there the Prime Minister of Malta stayed at hotel twice, once for a business meeting and the second time when he came over to open the new ferry terminal at Gozo. The staff were all wonderful, could not have wished for more. One of the guests had been coming each year for over 20 years and many of the others had been several times before.

  • Liked — Double bed
  • Disliked — nothing everything perfect
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SurreyBabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2008

Stayed there in January 2008.
In my opinion.

A good quality hotel.

Very clean room and recently been refitted to a high standard. Good air con, TV (with BBC News). Rooms cleaned daily.

Breakfast is very good. Good choice of fruit juices, cereals, individual yogurts, cold meats & cheeses, cooked breakfast buffet style (great tomatoes), good selection of bread. Tea and coffee served at your table. Oh and cakes! Basically 10 out of 10.
All for less than £30 per room for 2.

At the cafe on ground floor they do good snacks and a large selection of more cake (Malta size - large pieces!)

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
7 Thank 19zico67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2008

Very quiet hotel so few guests a lot of the Christmas entertainment was cancelled, crib trip and Island trip. The booklet everybody was given listed lots of things arranged, it was only when asked I was told that it would cost but not enough interest. The food always on cold plates and uncooked vegetables, very small portions as well. Choice of 3 things and 3 courses. When I asked for a salad, nothing on menu I liked, I was given a plate of lettuce with a few carrot scrappings on top!! Poor bus transport as had to be in Victoria Bus Station by 4.30 to catch last bus back to hotel.

  • Liked — Good walking in area
  • Disliked — Too far from a town
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grannyKentUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2007

What makes an hotel so wonderful? Is it:-
Location? Next to/part of the little fishing harbour with superb views across the bay. Possibly?
Food? 4 restaurants of different styles plus the magnificent cakes and pastries of the Caffino .The concise, varied menu of beautifully cooked and presented meals in the main restaurant. Maybe?
Rooms? Immaculate, well-decorated bedrooms with real maple furniture. Ample large rattan armchairs in the public areas. High quality towels and bed-linen. Could be?
Facilities? Diving school, squash and tennis courts, splash pool and large, well equipped roof-top sun terraces. Perhaps?
The real answer is of course - PEOPLE. From the general manager to the handyman, including the ladies who clean and those at Reception, all make guests feel tremendously welcome. Everyone is a valued guest.
Then there is the staff in the main La Perla dining room. As formal or as much fun as you wish, you are cosseted and cared for by both the experienced and younger waiters. Dining here really is something to look forward to each day. Thankyou.
Merry Christmas to you all. Liz and George.

  • Liked — The People of the hotel.
  • Disliked — Absolutely nothing.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
12 Thank lsiow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2007

This hotel was brought to our attention by previous "Trip Advisor" submissions. I was attracted initially by the descriptions of the Island Of Gozo but then began to take more of an interest in the comments on the Hotel. I knew I had to "sell" the hotel to my wife;she is very particular where we stay , right down to the beach towels for the sunbeds to coathangers in the wardrobe..
I had read with interest that hotels in Malta and Gozo were supposedly one grade below advertised when compared with those of European equivalent.
I booked direct with the hotel exactly as recommended by other uses, sea view , 4th floor, bed & breakfast , leaving the option of evening meal to be booked on a daily basis after seeing the menu for the day listed in reception.
From the first moment I made contact to the day we left it was perfect. The staff were friendly and courteous , the amenities first class, the most amazing views from the balcony of the harbour with the luzzo's (fishing boats) chugging back and forth . The bay of Marsalforn spreading before you with the twinkling lights of about a dozen restaurants beckoning you towards them as the sun set beyond the distant hills.
Streets , quiet and unplanned , people so obliging and helpful, buses of a bygone age transporting locals and holidaymakers alike anywhere on the island for 65p or less.
It would be unfair to single out one restaurant above another but a little more than an half-hour walk away in Qbaijar a small "shirley valentine" style eating house called Chez Amand produces the most exquisite lobster together with the most romantic setting you could wish for.
The most relaxing holiday my wife and I have ever had; Go to Gozo and the Calypso before the 21st century catches up with them.

  • Liked — Cllean ,practical and in the perfect setting.
  • Disliked — Rooms at the rear restricted by other buildings.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank alanjbowers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marsalforn
3.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
3.8 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
3.2 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
12.2 mi away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,491 reviews
12.1 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calypso Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calypso Hotel

Property: Calypso Hotel
Address: Marina Street | Marsalforn Bay, Marsalforn, Island of Gozo MFN 1104, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Gozo > Marsalforn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Marsalforn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Calypso Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Calypso Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calypso Hotel Marsalforn
Calypso Hotel Gozo
Calypso Hotel Island Of Gozo/Marsalforn, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing