We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A time gone by !”
Review of Calypso Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Calypso Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Marsalforn
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A time gone by !”
Reviewed October 18, 2007

This hotel was brought to our attention by previous "Trip Advisor" submissions. I was attracted initially by the descriptions of the Island Of Gozo but then began to take more of an interest in the comments on the Hotel. I knew I had to "sell" the hotel to my wife;she is very particular where we stay , right down to the beach towels for the sunbeds to coathangers in the wardrobe..
I had read with interest that hotels in Malta and Gozo were supposedly one grade below advertised when compared with those of European equivalent.
I booked direct with the hotel exactly as recommended by other uses, sea view , 4th floor, bed & breakfast , leaving the option of evening meal to be booked on a daily basis after seeing the menu for the day listed in reception.
From the first moment I made contact to the day we left it was perfect. The staff were friendly and courteous , the amenities first class, the most amazing views from the balcony of the harbour with the luzzo's (fishing boats) chugging back and forth . The bay of Marsalforn spreading before you with the twinkling lights of about a dozen restaurants beckoning you towards them as the sun set beyond the distant hills.
Streets , quiet and unplanned , people so obliging and helpful, buses of a bygone age transporting locals and holidaymakers alike anywhere on the island for 65p or less.
It would be unfair to single out one restaurant above another but a little more than an half-hour walk away in Qbaijar a small "shirley valentine" style eating house called Chez Amand produces the most exquisite lobster together with the most romantic setting you could wish for.
The most relaxing holiday my wife and I have ever had; Go to Gozo and the Calypso before the 21st century catches up with them.

  • Liked — Cllean ,practical and in the perfect setting.
  • Disliked — Rooms at the rear restricted by other buildings.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank alanjbowers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    312
    96
    38
    24
See reviews for
120
381
43
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
derby
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2007

Eleven of us travelled to Gozo to suprise my Mum who had already been at the Calypso a week for her 50 birthday. We were all due to be staying at the Calypso but for 4 days we were given top notch villas in Gharb as the hotel was over booked. This was first choices error not the hotels!.
We found the Calypso to be very clean and calm and nothing was too much trouble for the waiting staff at breakfast. The breakfast was a large hot and cold buffet with as much coffee/tea as they can make you drink! The rooms were spacious and our sea view balcony on the 2nd floor was perfect.
The resort is quiet with mostly Italians and Maltees holiday makers. No stag/hen do's or large night clubs till the early hours.
The bars and restaurants are all very nice and friendly. No body trying to make you go in as in some holiday resorts. Its all very relaxed in Gozo.
The buses run every 45 mins from Victoria and cost 20 cents (30p).
We all went on a boat trip for the day for 14 lira. We used Peter who is a friendly guy who is moored up outside the hotel. His bouat may not be as swish as the others in the harbour but the personal touch was lovely. We went around the whole island, fished for tuna, snorkled in the Blue Lagoon (where the film was made) and stopped off at many beaches for swimming as well as a beautiful BBQ cooked by Frank and Francis.
The cafe under the hotel is lovely and cakes looked amazing. Beer is cheap and they even put the football on for us too.
A good bar around the corner is Bojangles, it is a sport bar with food. Great staff, very friendly.
We went fishing off the small beach along the top path. Rods were cheap enough to buy and we managed to catch quite a few.
Food was nice everywhere we went. Marlene D's is very good for a hearty breakfast or lunch. The Dive bar staff were great and supplied us with cocktails until the early hours and have a screen outside to watch sports or mtv.
There is not many shops in the resort but you must go to the Green Lantern at the far end of the bay. All hand mad items and the cutest dig (pixie), I think we cleared him out lol.
Get a price befor you get in or order a cab. Mayjo taxis we found were the easiest to use. Do not book a cab via the hotel as the price doubles we found. Most drivers will give you their mobile number to call them for a ride back later.
The local beer is csik, its nice and cheap but if you want a usualy drank in England kind the price goes up alot. Its about 1 lira for a pint (1.50p).
Weather was very hot, 30 was the lowest!
We all enjoyed our holiday and Mum was very suprised to see us all. Defo going back!

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank emmajop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2007

My husband and 12 year old daughter decided on a last minute holiday to escape the awful summer 2007. We chose Gozo as we had all recently quanlified as PADI open water divers and knew it was a good dive destination. The hotel was fantastic - a good 4* rating. We only booked bed & breakfast but did eat in the restaurant on the 'fish' night which was excellent. Breakfast was a hot and cold buffet with plenty of choice and very efficient and very friendly staff. We had a room over looking the harbour which was beautiful. The room was quite large & had a fridge which was useful and the air con was a must as it was very hot during our stay but it was not too noisy to use! On one occasion our daughter slipped on a concrete pontoon in the harbour and needed stitches to her leg and the girls on reception were very kind and organised a taxi straight away to the local clinic who were fantastic. The hotel organised our transport to and from Malta airport for an inclusive price of 33Maltese Lira return for all of us. It takes approx 2 hours door to door including the ferry journey. Marsalforn is a lovely little place - fantastic restaurants very reasonably priced and all with an Italian feel to them - great for kids. No lager louts or time share people here - mostly local people having a lovely trouble free holiday and the locals are so kind and friendly. A good cheap and easy bus service operates into Victoria ( 10 minutes by bus) from where you can get buses to other parts of the island. We chose not to use the Calypso dive centre because it was short staffed at the time we stayed so used Scuba King just along the harbour and they were great. The pool on the hotel roof top was lovely - quite small but plenty big enough and lots of sunbeds etc. The hotel bar was good too and served some excellent snacks cheaply. The downstairs coffee shop was lovely and cool and the cakes devine! There is a small beach suitable for little children right by the harbour with subeds and umberellas but there is a much nicer one around the corner of the hotel up on the rocks - its has access into the crystal crlear waters by ladders - great for snorkelling and there are sunbeds and umberellas for hire too. On a diving front - there are lots of caves to see and the water is crystal clear so very good visability etc but the fish are not too exciting - its no barrier reef but good for building up confidence if new to the sport. There is a good coastal path from behind the hotel to Ramla Bay - a big sandy beach, but as it was so hot we gave it a miss. All in all a perfect holiday - and we shall return as long as it stays so unspoilt!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank Roundwooddivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2007

3 positive aspects
a) most of the staff are Maltese. These friendly, warm people provided a high level of customer service, were efficient in their roles and happy to provide snippets of information on the local area and local customs. Top marks to the staff (and bearing in mind it is peak season)
b) we paid for a sea-view room. It over-looked the beautiful harbour and was spacious, well maintained and air-conditioned. Compliments to the cleaning staff.
c) the roof-top pool was a bonus. An adequate number of parasols were available and an adjacent restaurant was open during the day for lunches and delicious ice-cream! A breeze across the roof-top made the high temps enjoyable.

3 aspects where improvements could be made
a) the locking mechanism on the sliding door was faulty therefore the room was not secure
b) the bed sheets for the bed were a size too small so woke up lying directly on the mattress
c) noise easily travels through the walls / floors – we slept blissfully and undisturbed – but light sleepers may find this a problem

Quick note on Marsalform, Gozo – a beautiful area with abundant restaurants. In hindsight, should have split our week with a few days on the mainland (still staying near the coast / sea) and a few days on Gozo. Gozo is small enough to see in its entirety in 3 / 4 days. Being a bus ride and a ferry ride from the mainland – time is lost in commuting back and forth.

In summary – we had a relaxing, laid-back holiday. The only reason we would not return is we saw all there was to see however, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — decor
  • Disliked — security
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank TooLongInTheOffice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
Level 6 Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2007

The stay was magical. I stayed for four days with my boyfirend in June. Mind you we stayed in the Junior Suite, so I guess it couldn't have been other wise. Breakfast was very good, we brought in-room service for two mornings and that was plenty of food! We also tried buffet dinner one time, which was pretty good. The Chinese Buffet every Friday on ground floor (also part of the hotel) is not to be missed. it's one of the best chinese food I have tasted in the Maltese Islands, and it was a buffet please note!

Service was overall ok. Mind you the pool service was a bit funny at times. Pool is not very big, but was comfortable enough for the amount of people. We also had a leak in the ensuite's sink. Maintance was pretty efficient coming immediately to solve the problem.

  • Liked — The room, lazying around the pool
  • Disliked — Internet Access was rather amateur - no WIFI
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank nokkla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2007

My fiance and I have recently returned from a week at the Calypso Hotel in Gozo. We had never been to the island before, but thoroughly enjoyed it, finding it extremely relaxing, the people friendly and the weather fantastic (we were there in the second week of June). This is a great place to go for rest and relaxation - there are a couple of late night bars, but this really isn't a resort for wild night-life. There are many, great little restaurants all along the seafront, however, and it's not a problem to arrive late and eat and drink until the small hours. The hotel itself was very nice, always clean, looked recently refurbished with modern fixtures and fittings. Our room was not luxurious, but again modern and comfortable and was cleaned every day. We were on B&B board basis and the breakfasts were excellent, so much choice. One thing that impressed me particularly was the taxi service the hotel arranged for us to and from Malta. In our rush to pack, we forgot beach towels, but were pleased to find these could be borrowed, fresh every day, from the hotel, for just a small, refundable deposit. I would definitely return and thoroughly recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and location
  • Disliked — Small pool
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank M_Montana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2007

I went to Gozo with my partner from November 8-11, 2006. I had a wonderful experience, and everything about the trip exceeded our expectations.

Renting a car:
At last minute upon arrival at the Valletta airport, we decided to rent a car. I am so glad we did, because this car was priceless in making our trip that much better. It cost about 57LM, for a automatic, compact car and the petrol that the car came with. We drove to Cirkewwa, which is where the ferry dock to Gozo is, in about 1 hour. Signs are extremely easy to follow. Note that cars are driven on the left hand side, and the drivers seat is on the right hand side!

Calypso Hotel:
Considering we were driving in the dark at night (around 20:00), the hotel was relatively easy to find. It is along Marsalforn Bay, right by the water. I don't think there were any other hotels along the bay. Just follow signs to Marsalforn from the ferry harbour.

Breakfast buffet:
this was fine, the continental selection was great. Hot food, a little limited, not the greatest. Dining room looked onto the bay, which was very pretty on sunny mornings.

Hotel Rooftop:
this was very nice, has a pool, hot tub and a view. Spacious with deck chairs and tables. Also a good spot to watch the sunset.

Parking at the hotel:
The parking lot in front of the hotel is often full because there are a few restaurants next door. We simply parked on the side streets by the hotel; speaking to the locals and the concierge, this was a normal and safe thing to do.

Exploring Gozo:
this was the most fun part of the trip. Gozo is made up of hills, valleys, plateaus, caves, beaches, you name it. We did tonnes of climbing, hiking, tryng to find secret and secluded spots along the sea. There were tonnes! Navigation is fairly easy as long as you have a map with the main roads and towns showing (we got ours from Avis car rental). By the 3rd day, we were so familiar with the little island that we didn't even need the map anymore. Some places we visited: Azure Window (on the west coast of Gozo, it is gorgeous. Around this area there are lots of bays and seashores to explore!), Ramla Bay and beach, San Blas beach, Calypso Cave, etc. etc.

Locals:
They were extremely nice and friendly. We met a 90 year old Gozitan man who told us hilarious stories about pomegranates.

Pros:
We went during low season, so Gozo was very quiet. Often we felt like this was our own private island. It was very beautiful

Cons:
Since it was low season, the weather was not warm enough to go into the water or do any tanning. Weather was about 19-22 degrees celsius.

I highly recommend going to Gozo if you enjoy exploring an intimate island, incredible views of the sea and having a mix of relaxing in the sun with hiking in the bushy hills. Calypso Hotel was a great place to stay, with a car, you can stay anywhere in Gozo without being out of the way.

  • Liked — The location along the bay
  • Disliked — Hot food selection at breakfast buffet
  • Tips/Secrets — Go in the off season for cheap travel and exploring the island without a bunch of other tourists!
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank miellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marsalforn
1.2 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
727 reviews
3.2 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
3.8 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
3.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
1,216 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calypso Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calypso Hotel

Property: Calypso Hotel
Address: Marina Street | Marsalforn Bay, Marsalforn, Island of Gozo MFN 1104, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Gozo > Marsalforn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Marsalforn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Calypso Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Calypso Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calypso Hotel Marsalforn
Calypso Hotel Gozo
Calypso Hotel Island Of Gozo/Marsalforn, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing