We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lantern Guest House - BAHIM hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Marsalforn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Lot of stairs and there is no lift
Booked double bed and got 2 single beds without prior advice from owner
Chipped glass corners on bedroom furniture - dangerous
Breakfast served till 9.30am only
Balconies are on a main road so it was noisy even at night

Room Tip: not for older couples , pregnant women etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SCOOBYDOO150974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 155 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

Thanks to Mr Saliba and his nice family we really enjoyed our weekend break in Gozo. Our accommodation was in a spic and span studio and were served with a bountiful delicious breakfast and home made cakes. Will surely go back there for a break.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank butterfly1938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Very central. You live in the mainstreet of Marsalforn, but we loved it anyway. Balcony where you could spend cozy mornings and late afternoon looking at traffic passing by. The breakfast was very good with eggs and bacon daily. We stayed for two whole weeks and had a lovely time. Recommendable.

Room Tip: We stayed in forth floor and liked it very much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gunnar N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We booked a quadruple room for 2 nights located on the second floor of the guest house with a balcony overlooking the main road. It was sometimes noisy due to the traffic (lovely parrot next door!) The room was spacious and clean. The shower holder is slightly high for smaller people to reach and the TV didn't really work but we were not bothered about the TV as we were mainly out and about. The breakfast was very good with lots of choice and Joseph was very helpful and attentive. All in all a lovely guest house which is well cared for and is excellent value. Would most certainly book again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joey6312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is my third visit to Gozo and my third stay at the Lantern Guesthouse.

The guesthouse is right behind the bay which is wonderful for swimming, your hosts Joseph and his family always go above and beyond. The accommodation is clean, safe and secure... Actually spotless (people are always cleaning something) :-)

Nice rooms, furnished with new bathrooms. Cleaned daily.

Breakfast is included and always fresh.

I can not recommend this guesthouse enough. We can not wait to visit again next time we are in Gozo.

Room Tip: Request a room with air-conditioning in summer.. As it can be slightly warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrislovesSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

hotel is very clean, we only stayed one night, booked in around 1300, wanted a beer but bar was not open untill 1915, so had to go out? the owner Joesph was helpfull, we had to ask for room service via text message so make sure you have credit. my room was on top floor lots of stairs, I was not shown were the lights were at night for stairs, the room was ok my fault is the space saver door in room 16 that was held together by a magnet which you have to slam shut, but at night this was not poss. you can hear everything from the bathroom no matter how hard you try. was not told that you have to switch on the water tank so was unable to shower wen i wanted. I had to ask remote control for Tv out of 900 channels 2 worked. if you like shopping channels your be ok. my Daughter had room 12, she is 5ft 9 so her feet was hanging over the end. she could hear people use the bathroom next door which is not wot you want to hear from neighbours. her Tv was at right angles to the bed so you could not watch it. breakfast was not worth having, everything cold and burnt, bitter coffee and stewed tea. who knows they may have been having an off time but I would never stay again.

Room Tip: clean budget hotel, no extras, no frills no bar..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jane j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stayed in a twin room with my best friend for one night while we had a night on the town! The room was super clean! It was on the third floor so there were lots of stairs but this was pointed out to us before we booked. Joseph was very attentive making sure everything was okay. Breakfast was lovely with lots of choice, though beans were stone cold. Overall we had a lovely stay and it I literally spitting distance from the lovely Marsalforn. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: If you are an older person then request a room on one of the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gedanddeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marsalforn
3.6 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
734 reviews
0.1 mi away
Calypso Hotel
Calypso Hotel
#1 of 9 in Marsalforn
742 reviews
3.6 mi away
Saint Patrick's Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Downtown Hotel
Downtown Hotel
#2 of 4 in Victoria
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Electra Guest house
Electra Guest house
#3 of 9 in Marsalforn
165 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lantern Guest House - BAHIM hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lantern Guest House - BAHIM hotel

Address: Qbajjar Rd, Marsalforn, Island of Gozo MFN, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Gozo > Marsalforn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Marsalforn
Price Range: $47 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lantern Guest House - BAHIM hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lantern Guest House - Bahim Hotel Hotel Marsalforn
Lantern Hotel Bahim
Lantern Guest House - BAHIM Hotel Island Of Gozo/Marsalforn, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing