We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wish all Gozo restaurants were this good”
Review of Menqa L'Antika - CLOSED

Menqa L'Antika
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Nestled in the picturesque fishing village of Marsalforn on the tranquil island of Gozo, Menqa L'Antika awaits you to savour authentic local and Mediterranean gastronomy with a modern flair. Chef patron Gordon Camilleri, has created an exciting menu using the islands' tasteful and freshest produce. Carte du jour includes antipasti, fresh pasta, fish and shellfish, tender beef cuts, flambe dishes and homemade desserts. Thanks to our extensive wine list, every dish can be paired with that wine to create a fine art. Attentive service, exceptional food and a relaxing ambiance make Menqa L'Antika ideal for romantic dinners, families, friends as well as larger parties.
guernsey
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“I wish all Gozo restaurants were this good”
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

From the welcome to the goodbye, everything about Menqua L'Antika is first class. The food is excellent, freshly roasted potatoes and grilled vegetables with tender suckling pig and fantastic calamari. Great wine (no. 56 on the list if you are interested). All in all a great experience and we will definitely go back. Easily the best we have eaten in Marsalforn. Genuinely good staff too.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank GsyReviewer101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    34
    13
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great seafood in Marsalforn”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Had arrived in Marsalforn intending to try Pulena however this was closed. Our group of 4 decided to try Menqa L'Antika. We were glad that we did, the location is scenic and central in Marsalforn. The decor is great with crisp white table arrangements. I found the service attentive. We had mains only however tasty bruschetta and breads were provided before the main course. A minor issue was a wrong main course came, we didn't change it as it was quite late however what came was tasty so not a major problem. Price was reasonable compared to other similar venues. Overall would definitely return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shaun3001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Enjoyable evening”
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Very good food, nice environment, lovely crockery, good service. Will be back! Thank you for a lovely evening!

Helpful?
Thank normacamilleri575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piazza Armerina, Italy
2 reviews
“Fantastic experience between taste and atmosphere”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

I think is first or one of the best restaurants in Marsalforn , the food was very good and I don't pay very much, the restaurant is nice.... try it...

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank concetto94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Friendly Service!”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

This was our first meal whilst on holiday! The staff were very knowledgeable and knew their menu when asked questions. The staff were really friendly and attentive whilst not being too overbearing. Overall this was a great first meal on the island and would highly recommend the Gnocchi!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Menqa L'Antika also viewed

Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
 
Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing