We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service not brilliant - food ok”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Ta' Pennellu

Ta' Pennellu
Ranked #19 of 49 Restaurants in Marsalforn
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Torquay, England
Level Contributor
115 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Service not brilliant - food ok”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Went there on second day in resort for a quick lunch - would normally have eaten there for a couple of evenings but was put off by the service - wifey ordered mozeralla salad - waited for a bit then told would be 1 Euro 50c more as they only had buffalo mozeralla left - I mean 1 Euro 50 - we would have left far more than that as a tip - Didnt enjoy the experience at all - the food was ok - not briliant, not poor, but average.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RichHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    32
    8
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great tasting food from a passionate chef”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

Last week was my second visit. Both times I left with a smile on my face. I went with a few friends, and the chef took our order. He described the specials, and I changed my mind twice before choosing because each dish he described sounded better than the one before. I ended up having the cerna ravioli, followed by lamb ribs. The ravioli were really nice, but the lamb ribs were simply fantastic.

The chef came between each course to check that everything was to our liking. The only thing I must say about this place is that the service is not of a high standard, but comes with more of a homely attitude.

All four of us thoroughly enjoyed our food! What a great experience. We were offered a coffee and digestive, obviously on the house. I highly recommend going here.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pawlu_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peebles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Views of the bay and friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

Excellent food and value here. My husband said he had the best steak he'd ever had in his life here and the home brewed wine was excellent. Everyone was really friendly and we were delighted to be presented with a couple plants to bring home after conversations about the local agriculture. We now have an unknown bulb and a growing loquat tree!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mordaj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
“excellent, up to us :the best restaurant of the bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

we were absolutly very friendly invited and received in the restaurant.
the food was prepared as promised and in agreement with our wishes.
the whole evening was absolutely in good harmony and atmosphere.
we came back the other day, and were very happy to have the same experience of the day before: friendly, very attentively served , and the fish again was splended.recommanded to everyone who likes to eat something more than normal.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jenny e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Where to eat in Marsalforn Gozo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a week in Gozo . One of the highlights of our holiday was dining in Ta Pennellu which we did every night after we dscovered it. The food was excellent Nanna's home made Ravoli was my favourite. We both enjoyed the fish my wife especially enjoyed the Turbot .The service was excellent and the chef took time to speak to everyone regarding their meal, the free bruschetta and complimentary drink after dinner was much appreciated. After a visit to Ta Pennellu I doubt you would eat anywhere else or get better value for your money. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shug12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ta' Pennellu also viewed

Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
 
Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
 

Been to Ta' Pennellu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing