We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad value for money, bad food, unfriendly staff”
Review of Odyssey Restaurant

Odyssey Restaurant
Ranked #23 of 50 Restaurants in Marsalforn
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad value for money, bad food, unfriendly staff”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Can‘t believe that there are a few recommendations but i just went to there and it was terrible. first a really unfriendly didn‘t want to turn off the fan because i am ill - “ if i mind i should go!“. the food wasn‘t much and it really wasn‘t good. the pizza was more like a warm bread with cheese, like instant pizza and the lasagne was burned! Although it wasn‘t that expensive it wasn‘t worth the money - really BAD VALUE FOR MONEY!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank muchde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conrad s, Manager at Odyssey Restaurant, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Mr ''Muchde''

We are very democratic and respect the general public for their opinion and personal tastes but this time, we cannot be left indifferent to such false statements about our restaurant. We feel we need to use our right of reply in order to correct certain misleading comments which are to the detriment of our job.
First of all, we cannot be blamed for a dispute you had with another CLIENT like you, who wanted to keep the fan switched on during this hot month. If you think the other client was 'unfriendly' to you, then it doesn't necessarily mean that our staff is unfriendly. At Odyssey Restaurant we care for each and every client and even though the dispute was between you two, we cared enough for you as a client and offered an alternative better solution by trying to accommodate you on a new table inside where you would not have been exposed to any fans or the occasional breeze outside. Since this was not to your liking, we also offered to accommodate you on another table outside, not within the reach of a fan.
Regarding our food, you have all the right to say that our food ''really wasn't good'' because this is purely a matter of personal taste. But when you assert that it's ''instant pizza'', then you stand to be corrected. Our pizza is purely HOMEMADE and if you have the opportunity to ask around, you will realise that it is one of the things we are renowned for.
As regards to our lasagna, which you said it was burned, we would have been more than happy to serve you another lasagna (obviously not burned) only if you would have told us!
In 38 long years of successful business, we admit we had the occasional complaints like any other establishments, but we always do our best to improve by correcting our mistakes (if any) and satisfying our loyal customers.
- The Management at Odyssey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    85
    32
    22
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Cheap and excellent pizzas”
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

This is a very popular place with both locals and tourists. It offers a tourist menu so don't go here expecting fine dining. Having said that, their pizzas are first class. They are great value at between €3.50 and €6 and the choices are varied and delicious. If you're on a tight budget a large pizza will easily feed 2 of you. Worth pointing out is the fact that they will serve pizzas all week and at lunchtimes. Most places here won't do that.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TeamStevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Poor service”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were aiming to have lunch here but the waiter who showed us to our table was surly and appeared uninterested, was not polite and appeared to be more interested in chewing his fingernails. I am unable to comment on the quality of the food served here as we only stayed for a drink which was not our intention

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Relaxedtraveller65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food , good prices”
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

I had a pizza , it was really nice and not expensive , fresh , the beer was cheep too , for a nice meal early in thr holiday it was fine , would be happy to go back

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta,Malta
Level Contributor
226 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Fair value...”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is an avarage Family restaurant, Food is good & fresh & prices are fair, Ideal for a family lunch or dinner....where it doesnt brake the bank... would still return although gave it an average vote.

The service is a bit slow especialy when busy, and Restaurant interior can be upgraded a bit maybe thats why I gave it I gave it an avarage Vote!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mario A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Odyssey Restaurant also viewed

Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
 
Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
 

Been to Odyssey Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing