We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant in Marsalforn, one of the best in Gozo.”
Review of Beppe's Restaurant

Beppe's Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 50 Restaurants in Marsalforn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $45
Cuisines: Italian, Steakhouse, Fusion
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Valletta, Malta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Marsalforn, one of the best in Gozo.”
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is consistently great. I have dined her numerous times and there hasn't been one single time where I left disappointed. The owners are friendly and the food is amongst the best you can get in Gozo. Highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank balzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    40
    17
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malta Europe
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Marsalforn!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

For us, dining is a way we sit, meet and enjoy food. We visited this restaurant last week for a reunion. It wasn't our first time and surely it won't be our last. First the chef served us a trio appetizer with a tuna dip and sweet pickled onions, which are to die for! We had an extensive specials to choose from, adapted for diners every night. The chef is focused on serving the finest seasonal products and local dishes, which are thoughtful influenced in the ingredients, techniques and presentation. The restaurant was lately reconstructed on the inside, which gave the restaurant a cosy ambience. The prices are very reasonable considering they are a fine dining restaurant. With lots of competitors, they stand out because of a unique menu whose dishes are always delicious and well-made, an atmosphere that is both inviting and friendly, with caring, professional wait-staff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank formcMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dingli, Malta
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Enjoyed our dinner immensely from hors d'oeuvres to dessert. Starter of mussels in bianco was lovely and were very pleasantly surprised at having the opportunity to try fillet of skorfna as a main course rather than in the usual fish soup. Presentation was also lovely. Staff was very smart, prompt and friendly. A bit pricey but all in all money well-spent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great for a special meal.”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We enjoyed an excellent lunch and returned on a different day for dinner. It is a bit more upmarket that most of its neighbours but you get what you pay for and we enjoyed attentive service and very good food. Sadly as we discovered to our cost they do not open on Monday nights and so we could not return for a final meal.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rondayvous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Gozo, Malta
1 review
“Diamond in the Rough..”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

On arriving in Gozo for our anniversary, we were at a loose end as to where to eat. After a few enquiries, we were advised to try Beppe's in Marsalforn. When we arrived, I didn't think much to the setting. Cramped between several other restaurants, it would be very easy to overlook this small, rather noisy area. To our utter surprise, the service, food and over all experience was Michelin standard. The staff were friendly and attentive, without being overly intrusive,
and the wine list covered wines from around the world, with a choice to suit most palates.

Attention to detail is important to me when dining. To use a crude example, there is no point in having the best chips in the world, if they are served with cheap ketchup. Even the simple stuff, like olives in sweet chili sauce??..worked beautifully, and the genius was in the simplicity. It says to you, that these guys know how to excite your palate, but without overpowering it.

Main courses were a Black Angus Ribeye, medium, chargrilled to perfection, and Duck in a Forest Fruit Coulis. Both served with skin on wedges and crispy salad. Honestly, we could have been dining in the West End. To finish, a chocolate fondant topped with ( and here's the attention to detail ) real cream vanilla ice cream and crispy chocolate pods. How many restaurants would take the cheap option and use powdered cheap ice cream, or frozen desserts? Even the flavour of the chocolate was perfect. Rich, without leaving a bitter taste on the tongue.

At 40 euros a head ( including wine and drinks ), this was a steal, and an absolute pleasure, and when in the locality, we will be sure to visit again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adastreia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beppe's Restaurant also viewed

Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
 
Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
 

Been to Beppe's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing