We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reservations needed.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pulena

Pulena
Ranked #5 of 48 Restaurants in Marsalforn
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Scenic view
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
malta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Reservations needed.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

This weekend we finally decided to go to La Pulena in Marsalforn, after along absence. During Semmer we avoid the seaside restaurants, because they are always packed, noisy and service tends to lack. We always book before we go and thank God we did, because it was full when we arrived. The food is always good, they always have our wine and the service was not that bad. We did not expect that there will be so many people. The prices are reasonable and we enjoyed it as usual. The only thing is that since we are smokers, we had to get up and move 2 paces away from our table, so that we will be outside, which does not make sense. it is not their fault but the of the stupid law which we have.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank osibisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    115
    22
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“the best in Marsalforn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

after the first evening, we returned 3 times, everything was great. food was delicious, we had mostly fish and meat, everything was fresh and well cooked. it is a family-run restaurant. the staff is really really kind, they will take care of you. if you go to Marsalforn, I would really suggest this place.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chiara_Milan0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always service with a smile and excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Every year I make it a must to have a meal at La Pulena. The waiters are so polite. Service is always with a smile and food gets better.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Toya98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Review”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Nice restaurant, good food good service and reasonable prices, not sure why resturants in gozo have ribs as an option, this is tex mex food, at the same time burgers are only on cheap lunch menus.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank StigbyFarbenrude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing food, great service, a little pricey.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Picked this restaurant at random, and were so glad we did.

Went for all fish - Mussels starter, Calamari Main, and Swordfish main, all off the specials. We were brought a "on the house" starter of bruschetta which was utterly delicious.

The manager (and owner?) Godwin served us. All his recommendations were excellent, including the Chenin Blanc.

Everything was delicious, the staff were genuinely friendly and caring, lovely view of the boats. It was on par with European prices, so you can spend a bit here, but it really is worth it for the excellent dishes. Highly recommend it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pulena also viewed

Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
 
Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
 

Been to Pulena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing