We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant and reasonable lunch”
Review of Chez Amand - CLOSED

Chez Amand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Belfast
Level Contributor
60 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Pleasant and reasonable lunch”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

This restaurant is in a fantastic location looking out on the bay. Presently there is some work going on to improve the surrounding area however this wasn't really a problem. As a couple, we had a lovely lunch with good service. Overall the pricing was reasonable. Would return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shaun3001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    71
    25
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good service, nice orange juice!”
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here for a cold drink on our cycle around Gozo. The staff were very friendly and made us some fresh orange juice on the spot. Unfortunately we were too early for food to be served. Nice place, would stop again if we were there. The only negative was a cd that was clearly broken was playing and skipping the whole time we were there which wrecked the atmosphere of an otherwise pleasant stop off.

Helpful?
1 Thank kyle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xaghra, Malta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food & Wonderful Service !!!”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

We went last night with a couple of our Guests, the food was amazing and the service was second to none, nothing was too much trouble for the owner, his Daughter and staff..... A table was reserved inside as well as out just in case it was a bit chilly.
This restaurant is a must if you are visiting Gozo, lunchtime or for a relaxed evening, you will certainly go back time and time again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marsalforn, Malta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Chez Amand - Definitely worth more than one visit”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We have visited this restaurant now on three occasions and found it to be excellent (the visit was on a strong recommendation). On the last two visits Amand was out in the restaurant discussing the fish dish of the day with us, which in itself is a rarity for the Chef to do. The choice of fish was excellent also - others had different dishes and were equally pleased. Carolin and Amand are so friendly and helpful it makes the visit really pleasurable and such good food. I can understand Chez Amand's rating on this site too. I have visited both top rated restaurants around Marsalforn and they both deserve their high gradings. Nothing seems to be any problem at all, excellent and friendly service. We will return again obviously. We have had dinner there 3 times but never visited for lunch which, I would imagine, would just be as good an experience. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nailsea, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely Evening Meal”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

We returned here this year and had lovely aljotta (fish soup) and pasta. By having starter portions of pasta we had enough room for desserts - strawberry sorbet and a white chocolate mousse. Also discovered a very good local Sauvignon Blanc - the only white wine we had previously experienced was Chardonnay. €70 including a tip. Great food and value. Friendly too. Chef proprietor always pops round at the end of the evening to see if customers have enjoyed his cooking.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Amand also viewed

Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
 
Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
Mgarr, Island of Gozo
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing