We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ad the business card said: "A Must in Gozo".”
Review of Chez Amand - CLOSED

Chez Amand
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
1 review
“Ad the business card said: "A Must in Gozo".”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

The restaurant was recommended by the tenant of the apartment we stayed in. A very lovely place with a reasonable price for a high quality meal. We did waited a bit to order at the beginning but after that the service was impeccable and the food delicious. Amand was a nice owner/chef that gave us the impression of a person that really cared about the customers. We got a house wine that was delicious (that says a lot: high standard level). We do recommend a reservation!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RedMaqs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    71
    25
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
1 review
“most enjoyable”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Most enjoyable evening, the only weak point was that the parked cars block the view of the bay... by far the best French fries on the island, you can see the Belgian hand at work. We were even tempted by a dessert, despite the heat

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pascal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
60 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely food and great service”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We ate here in June, It was good quality food, one of our party had lobster that was reasonably priced and by all accounts delicious. To comment on a previous reviews statements regarding the owner being intrusive, we personally found staff friendly and engaging, not particularly intrusive. would recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shaun3001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Best restaurant in Gozo”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

we spent a week in a Gozo and this restaurant was by far the best. Chef Amand came out after every course to ask everyone how the meal was. it was so tasty and next year we are going to book the restaurant every night on our 4 day trip.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank holidaysRmyHobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great service and delicious food”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Amand has run good restaurants for many years in Gozo. He is a chef of considerable repute and those who 'know Gozo', know Amand and make up his regular customers: returning time after time. Our recent visit last week lived up to all expectations - great service led by his daughter as maitre 'd' and delicious local food - the prices represent true value for the quality on offer. Amand's culinary range and menu stretches across the best of local produce and excellent french cuisine (you will not get better Rosso Prawns - caught locally!). Now something of a doyen of the Gozo restaurant scene, Amand rightly deserves all the accolades he receives. Qbajjar is just out of the busy area of Marsalforn and the restaurant is well located on the road / sea front. This is 'one to visit' and should not disappoint as long as you make an advance reservation!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank arrowflight904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Amand also viewed

Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
 
Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing