We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The warmest welcome on Gozo”
Review of Chez Amand - CLOSED

Chez Amand
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The warmest welcome on Gozo”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

After visiting the Island for 12 years, there is still only one restaurant that we have to visit each time.
Amand and Caroline are first class hosts.
The restauant is situated in Qbajjar (past Marsalforn) and is worth finding.
Armand has devised a menu to suit all tastes and the quality of the food is faultless.
A perfect place for lunch and an ideal venue for an evening meal.
We visited for lunch and chose smaller starter portions from the menu.
I had penne pesto - a basic dish but still served and presented well.
My partner had tortellini bolognese, again presented well.
As always Caroline and Armand checked that we were happy with our choices and nothing was too much trouble.
If you want quality and service, head to Chez Amand.
We will visit again next year.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DudleySm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    71
    25
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“perfect”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

After visiting Gozo last year, our friends who had recommended visiting Gozo told us a few of their favourite eateries.
Chez Amand was top of there list and we made a point of trying it out. We were not disappointed.
We returned this year to find the same welcoming family busy working away. Our lunchtime meal for 6 was excellent throughout and with us all having different dishes not one complaint, even the childrens menu chicken nuggets got the thumbs up from our son, High praise indeed!!
Desserts were homemade and not mass produced or of the "bought in" variety like other places
Smiling friendly service and although all the seats having bums on them, service was seemless
and efficient

During our meal Chef came out and spoke to ALL tables asking "how is the food" which you dont find in many places anymore
As we were preparing to leave Chef & his wife chatted to us for asking if we had enjoyed it , how we enjoyed Gozo etc, all after a hard morning/lunchtime shift. A nice genuine touch to take a few minutes to talk to his diners
The real thing to point out though is no matter how nice the Chef its his food & restaurant we are reviewing and he certainly can cook!! We can not find better
All in all ,value for Money, for the truly exellent quality of the food served
Top recommendation having tried various dishes are the Flemish stew and the Amand Canneloni( with shrimps, salmon etc )
If you are lucky enough to visit Gozo try Chez Amand i'm sure you wont be disappointed

Only downside to whole afternoon was we found out he supported Man Utd.

From a long suffering Leicester City Fan
Top Tip !!! Belgium 2014 World Cup Semi Finalists

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank simon g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delightful sunny lunch!”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Found this welcoming gem of a place while touring Gozo. The service was efficient and with a smile. The fish was beautifully cooked and the shell fish risotto was excellent (although the crab sticks were left!). Amand came out to say hello and this was a nice touch. Will definitely go back and recommend to visiting friends.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Seafood Platter excellent”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The atmosphere at this restaurant is fabulous. Amand made a special effort for our celebrations to produce a seafood platter beyond excellent. The friendly service and great food made for an evening to remember. Thanks Amand xxxxx

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frogwench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attard, Malta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delightful crew, tasty lunch, great chef patron!”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We had a wonderful meal for 7 ranging from salads, through seafood pasta and rib-eye-steaks. The Fresh Cannelloni “Thermidor” were delicious (as always) with a tasty blend of cheese filling, topped off with the prawn and lobster perfectly the pasta and served baking hot just like it should.

The steaks were served as ordered medium-rare. Amand you should let me know how you manage to cook them so precisely every time I come :) I had the green pepper sauce and another person on my table had the mushroom sauce both of which disappeared ever so quickly. These were balanced with balanced range of "al dente" veggies and Malta's best cooked Belgian fries.

We'll be back soon!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Amand also viewed

Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
 
Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
 
Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing