We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maria Giovanna Guest House
Ranked #1 of 5 Marsalforn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Great atmosphere, great location, lots of fun with the staff..unbelievable breakfast...I'm out of words! Thank you!

I dont want to write more than 200 characters because the hotel speaks for itself :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (481)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 481 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2014

Maria Giovanna is a real gem. We hired a car to travel around Gozo and once we arrived in Marsalforn found Maria Giovanna very easy to find .
Check in was a breeze and we were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived. There is no onsite parking but being off season we were lucky to be able to park directly across the road. We were also shown where to find public parking around 200 meters away.
We were allocated a room on the 3rd floor. We chose a triple room, as although there were just the 2 of us travelling, it gave us a little more space. It was a good size for a guest house. Not fancy but very clean and homely. The bathroom was very small but also very workable and most importantly, it was also very clean. There was a very small balcony - exactly as pictured in their advertising. From here you could look down the street to see the water. Once again, exactly as advertised.
There are lots of little extras. Books and travel information on the ground level. Baskets with equipment to take to the beach on each landing. There has been a lot of thought put into making guests stay as pleasant as possible.
The guest house is only 1 street back from the waterfront. There are numerous restaurants to choose from in this very pleasant little village.
Breakfast was a lot more than expected! Eggs to order - that was a bonus. Plenty to choose from at the small buffet. Can you believe, lemon meringue pie, yum!!!
The bonus of Maria Giovanna is the staff. Very friendly and ready to help. We really felt welcomed and at home here. We were sorry that we hadn't stayed here for 2 nights, as our next accommodation choice was less pleasant.

Room Tip: If you want a little extra space, go for a triple room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This place is as close as you get to 5 out of 5, without actually getting there. Had the prices been just a little lower, or the rooms had been a little more soundproofed, I would have upped the 4 to a 5.

Due to a pact schedule, we only had two nights to spend a Maria Giovanna's, which felt like a shame. It really was very nice experience overall, from the small, very nicely decorated rooms, to the breakfeasts (which probably ranks as the best I've had).

One of the small things we noticed during our stay is that the rooms (or maybe just the one we had?) are very noisy. We had a little bar across the street and the first night of our stay was from Saturday to Sunday, which meant a lot of business. There was apparently a ventilation shaft up on the wall, which let in alot of noise. Fortunately for us we had earplugs, which meant that this didn't cause too much of an inconvience but still made the room ill suited for reading a book before sleep.

Overall, Maria Giovanna offers a very unique and genuine experience, with alot of character. I would definitely recommend both the guest house and Marsalforn in general, but try to ask for a room facing away from the street and the bar if you are visiting furing a weekend.

Room Tip: As stated in the review, ask for a room that is not facing the bar across the street if visiting dur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexGalfvensjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

I've stayed in this guesthouse for one night. Below is the pro and con.

Pro:
1. It's nearby the sea, only 2 mins walk.
2. A lot of restaurants around.
3. Relaxing breakfast, felt like home.
4. Cost effective.

Con:
1. Bath room is small.
2. Parking area is not nearby.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ling Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Great hospitality, a lovely boutique room with large bathroom in a good location. Nice breakfasts and extremely friendly hosts. Would definitely recommend to anyone staying in Gozo.
Scope for improvement, only two things really: fix better door locks to keep the noise down, glazed bathroom door was a bit of surprise.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanka P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaSonia, Owner at Maria Giovanna Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Dear Hanka P,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review.

Glad you have enjoyed your stay here at Maria Giovanna.

As regards the glazed bathroom doors and locks, they match the design and character of an old Maltese town house.

Regards

Anna & Sonia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We have just been at this Guest house in Gozo and we are very satisfed. Nice location, friendly people and owner, nice room and close to the sea. The breakfast is amazing, very fresh. The owner Anna prepares fresh good cakes every morning and the wonderful smell wakes you....we left our hearth there because it was real relax....if you want a real break from the daily routine and noise of the town...this is the right place.

Room Tip: it is better to chose the superior room because the standard is a little bit small but if you are th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monyka m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaSonia, Owner at Maria Giovanna Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear monyka m,

Many thanks for sharing your lovely experience !

We all look very much forward to welcoming you home again once back on the island.

Warm greetings,

Anna & Sonia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

This B&B is a real treat. A lovely old traditional building just off the sea front, it has 15 individual rooms with cool tile floors. We had a great shower, a large firm iron-framed bed and a little balcony with a side sea view. The double-glazed door kept out virtually all noise. The owners are friendly and seem to genuinely want you there. Breakfast is fab with fresh baked cakes every day. The place reflects the laid-back charm of Gozo as a whole. Try a cocktail at the little bar right across the road. Marsalform is small and pretty with wonderful restaurants. Quiet in April.

Room Tip: At the front is slightly better view but not a lot of difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yankeegirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaSonia, Owner at Maria Giovanna Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Yankeegirl10,

Many thanks for sharing your lovely experience with other TA travelers.

Great to learn you have enjoyed your stay here with us and look forward to welcoming you both home once back on the island.

Regards

Anna & Sonia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marsalforn
0.1 mi away
Hotel Calypso
Hotel Calypso
#1 of 9 in Marsalforn
747 reviews
0 mi away
Lantern Guest House - BAHIM hotel
1.1 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Saint Patrick's Hotel
3.1 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
0.1 mi away
Murella Living
Murella Living
#2 of 5 in Marsalforn
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maria Giovanna Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maria Giovanna Guest House

Address: Rabat Road, Marsalforn, Island of Gozo MFN 9010, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Gozo > Marsalforn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Marsalforn
Price Range: $59 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maria Giovanna, a typical Maltese town house, elegantly furnished 15-bedroom guest house offering a warm yet family atmosphere. It is run with care just like a personal home. Antique furniture, modern design and comforts melt to create this peaceful atmosphere. All bedrooms are set in a rustic style with romantic brass/iron beds. Each bedroom enjoys a fresh shower equipped with a hairdryer. Situated in an excellent location in Marsalforn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Maria Giovanna Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Giovanna Guest House Hotel Marsalforn
Maria Giovanna Guest House Island Of Gozo/Marsalforn, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing