We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (512)
Filter reviews
512 results
Traveler rating
433
70
6
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
433
70
6
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cakes cooked breakfast family run street noise small balcony salt pans every morning home away from home breakfast room cold meats lovely room air con stayed here for nights sea front excellent breakfast wi fi few minutes walk
Filter
Updating list...
142 - 147 of 512 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Maria Giovanna is a real gem. We hired a car to travel around Gozo and once we arrived in Marsalforn found Maria Giovanna very easy to find .
Check in was a breeze and we were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived. There is no onsite parking but being off season we were lucky to be able to park directly across the road. We were also shown where to find public parking around 200 meters away.
We were allocated a room on the 3rd floor. We chose a triple room, as although there were just the 2 of us travelling, it gave us a little more space. It was a good size for a guest house. Not fancy but very clean and homely. The bathroom was very small but also very workable and most importantly, it was also very clean. There was a very small balcony - exactly as pictured in their advertising. From here you could look down the street to see the water. Once again, exactly as advertised.
There are lots of little extras. Books and travel information on the ground level. Baskets with equipment to take to the beach on each landing. There has been a lot of thought put into making guests stay as pleasant as possible.
The guest house is only 1 street back from the waterfront. There are numerous restaurants to choose from in this very pleasant little village.
Breakfast was a lot more than expected! Eggs to order - that was a bonus. Plenty to choose from at the small buffet. Can you believe, lemon meringue pie, yum!!!
The bonus of Maria Giovanna is the staff. Very friendly and ready to help. We really felt welcomed and at home here. We were sorry that we hadn't stayed here for 2 nights, as our next accommodation choice was less pleasant.

Room Tip: If you want a little extra space, go for a triple room.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This place is as close as you get to 5 out of 5, without actually getting there. Had the prices been just a little lower, or the rooms had been a little more soundproofed, I would have upped the 4 to a 5.

Due to a pact schedule, we only had two nights to spend a Maria Giovanna's, which felt like a shame. It really was very nice experience overall, from the small, very nicely decorated rooms, to the breakfeasts (which probably ranks as the best I've had).

One of the small things we noticed during our stay is that the rooms (or maybe just the one we had?) are very noisy. We had a little bar across the street and the first night of our stay was from Saturday to Sunday, which meant a lot of business. There was apparently a ventilation shaft up on the wall, which let in alot of noise. Fortunately for us we had earplugs, which meant that this didn't cause too much of an inconvience but still made the room ill suited for reading a book before sleep.

Overall, Maria Giovanna offers a very unique and genuine experience, with alot of character. I would definitely recommend both the guest house and Marsalforn in general, but try to ask for a room facing away from the street and the bar if you are visiting furing a weekend.

Room Tip: As stated in the review, ask for a room that is not facing the bar across the street if visiting during a weekend.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexGalfvensjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

I've stayed in this guesthouse for one night. Below is the pro and con.

Pro:
1. It's nearby the sea, only 2 mins walk.
2. A lot of restaurants around.
3. Relaxing breakfast, felt like home.
4. Cost effective.

Con:
1. Bath room is small.
2. Parking area is not nearby.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ling Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Great hospitality, a lovely boutique room with large bathroom in a good location. Nice breakfasts and extremely friendly hosts. Would definitely recommend to anyone staying in Gozo.
Scope for improvement, only two things really: fix better door locks to keep the noise down, glazed bathroom door was a bit of surprise.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanka P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaSonia, Owner at Maria Giovanna Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Dear Hanka P,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review.

Glad you have enjoyed your stay here at Maria Giovanna.

As regards the glazed bathroom doors and locks, they match the design and character of an old Maltese town house.

Regards

Anna & Sonia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We have just been at this Guest house in Gozo and we are very satisfed. Nice location, friendly people and owner, nice room and close to the sea. The breakfast is amazing, very fresh. The owner Anna prepares fresh good cakes every morning and the wonderful smell wakes you....we left our hearth there because it was real relax....if you want a real break from the daily routine and noise of the town...this is the right place.

Room Tip: it is better to chose the superior room because the standard is a little bit small but if you are thin it is not a problem :)
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RomaMony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaSonia, Owner at Maria Giovanna Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear monyka m,

Many thanks for sharing your lovely experience !

We all look very much forward to welcoming you home again once back on the island.

Warm greetings,

Anna & Sonia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews