We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't stay anywhere else on Gozo!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maria Giovanna Guest House
Ranked #1 of 5 Marsalforn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Home now alas from another wonderful 2 weeks on Gozo staying at Maria Giovanna - we have stayed here ever since we discovered it quite by chance! Thank you dear Anna & Sonia for such a lovely stay - loved our girly chats! For the purpose of review for those that are contemplating staying here, you will not be disappointed. Maria Giovanna is beautifully furnished & renovated, spotlessly clean & the entire family are welcoming, friendly & nothing at all is too much trouble. As many fresh towels as you wish, air con, big walk in shower, balcony, wi-fi and a lovely breakfast not to mention the amazing home made pastries & cakes. It is great value for money too - other establishments in the area charge more & are not of such a high standard. If you don't have a car the bus stop is right near by and the service is frequent. Marsalforn itself is very pretty, friendly, safe & has a small beach which is a few metres away. Thank you all - Anna, Sonia, Maria, Joe, Victor & the rest of the family for making our stay fabulous as always. Already missing being there with you! Til next year.. Anthea & Danny.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swiftbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaSonia, Owner at Maria Giovanna Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Dear Anthea & Danny,

It has been our great pleasure to host you again.

We look very much forward to welcoming you home again next year... maybe with a different hair style !

All the very best,

Sonia & Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (478)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 478 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

This little gem in Marsalforn is about 30 seconds from the sea front.

Our room was small, but the bathroom was a good size, the AC was perfect, and the two sisters (Anna and Sonia) who run it could not have been nicer.

Breakfast is huge, a choice of cereals, fruits, heaps of cake!!! and a cooked breakfast if you want it. They also leave out beach towels, scuba gear and any left over toiletries from other guests so that you can get anything you might need while you are there from their supplies.

It's cheap for what you get, location is exellent, and I would go back there (but get a bigger room than the twin - which was all they had left at the last minute)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaSonia, Owner at Maria Giovanna Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear C M,

Many thanks for sharing your lovely experience with other TA travelers.

It have been our pleasure to host you and look forward to welcoming you home again once back on the island of Gozo.

Regards,

Sonia & Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

My family stayed at the guest house in July for a week and it was our best stay in Gozo!
Firstly the owners, Sonia, Anna and staff were just wonderful - nothing was too much trouble to arrange (such as a family doctor visit) , great hospitality and much care shown towards our young son - thank you.
Freshly cooked breakfast bettered the big hotels and included freshly baked cakes and tarts each morning (with the smell of fresh baking wafting through the premises!)
Finally, our room was just great with high ceilngs, stone floors, large comfy brass beds, nice furniture and a luxurious shower head!

Room Tip: First floor double bed plus one room - there is a bar across the road that can be a bit noisey at ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevdegabriele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaSonia, Owner at Maria Giovanna Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear kevdegabriele,

Many thanks for sharing your lovely experience with other TA travelers.

It has been our great pleasure to host you and your family during your stay here on Gozo.

We all very much look forward to welcoming you home again in the near future.

Warm greetings,

Anna & Sonia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This was the second time I stayed at the Maria Giovanna Guest House, a former old family house located a few yards back from the shore in the peaceful coastal fishing village of Marsalforn, and it felt like coming home. The guesthouse, run by twins Anna & Sonia and family, is full of smiles, laughter, marvelous breakfasts and extraordinary hospitality. This was not a vacation visit and as such the twins were invaluable with local advice, knowledge and help, I cannot thank them enough, a truly great family to know.
The rooms both in the main building and the adjoining apartments are comfortable, clean, airy and with partial harbor views from the balconies. Everything, excellent restaurants, supermarkets, pharmacy and secure ATM etc are just a few minutes away with the added benefit of excellent bus services to the Ferry Port and the central bus station in the capital of Victoria.
I can highly recommend the Maria Giovanna Guest House and will definitely stay there again

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaSonia, Owner at Maria Giovanna Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear Alan R,

Many thanks for sharing your lovely experience at Maria Giovanna with other Trip Advisor travelers.

Great to hear that you have found our advice as well as our smiles useful during the time you've spent here with us.

Wishing you all the very best and looking forward to welcoming you home again once back on the Island of Gozo.

Warm greetings,

Anna & Sonia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I have been travelling to Gozo since 1991 and have stayed in a lot of different places from hotels to apartments but by far the nicest place i have ever stayed in is the Maria Giovanna guset house,its such a wonderful place, the bedrooms are fantastic i'd highly recommend a superior bedroom.....Anna and Sonia the run the guest house are really lovely people and also their mother and father....the food for breakfast is all fresh and delicious, the only bad thing i have to say about the guest house is there should be lemon meringue pie on the menu every day haha its a must....anyone travelling to Gozo check out the guest house you will not be let down...

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donalshelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaSonia, Owner at Maria Giovanna Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear donalshelly,

Great to receive such a superb review !

We try to do our very best to ensure that all our guests enjoy a comfortable stay as much as possible.

Very much look forward to welcoming you home again.

Regards,

Sonia & Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed at the Maria Giovanna Guest House for one night only and what a superb stay. This just has to be experienced. The ambiance- truly a Gozoion feeling, the décor - we had a superb bedroom with balcony, the bed had the most beautiful canopy with Gozo lace , the location - just a minute from the beach and water front, the food - all freshly cooked with the most delicious home cooked carrot cake (yes for breakfast) all above excellent. But what made this guest house exceptional in my opinion was the staff, particularly Anna (Marias daughter) who was so helpful and informative and made us feel like family friends rather than guests. Our only regret was that we had only booked one night and could not stay longer. Certainly would advise anyone visiting Malta to spend at least 3 nights on Gozo and if possible at the Maria Giovanna. Thank you so much for such a wonderful stay. PS There are actually beach towels supplied so you don't need to pack your own.

Room Tip: Room No. 5 was exceptional. Dont know what the others are like but if they were half as good as No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeyWexfordIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaSonia, Owner at Maria Giovanna Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear JoeyWexfordIreland,

How great it is to read such a superb review !

Nice to hear you have all enjoyed your short stay here with us and we all look forward to welcoming you home again in the near future once again on the Island.

Many thanks and warm greetings,

Anna & Sonia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

A delightful family run guest house right on the harbour in Marsalforn, a small fishing village in Gozo. It was the little touches that made it so special- a basket of suncream to borrow/add to, treasure chests full of beach towels, freshly baked cakes each morning....
Every question or request was answered promptly and with care....I can not rate Maria Giovanna highly enough!

Room Tip: they all have air conditioning and en suite. Not very large....but this wasn't a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaSonia, Owner at Maria Giovanna Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Wendy B,

How lovely to read such a warm review !

Many thanks for choosing Maria Giovanna and we all look forward to welcoming you home again once back on the Island of Gozo.

Greetings,

Anna & Sonia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marsalforn
0.1 mi away
Calypso Hotel
Calypso Hotel
#1 of 9 in Marsalforn
725 reviews
3.1 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
0.0 mi away
Lantern Guest House - BAHIM hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
727 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
749 reviews
0.1 mi away
Murella Living
Murella Living
#2 of 5 in Marsalforn
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maria Giovanna Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maria Giovanna Guest House

Address: Rabat Road, Marsalforn, Island of Gozo MFN 9010, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Gozo > Marsalforn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Marsalforn
Price Range: $61 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maria Giovanna, a typical Maltese town house, elegantly furnished 15-bedroom guest house offering a warm yet family atmosphere. It is run with care just like a personal home. Antique furniture, modern design and comforts melt to create this peaceful atmosphere. All bedrooms are set in a rustic style with romantic brass/iron beds. Each bedroom enjoys a fresh shower equipped with a hairdryer. Situated in an excellent location in Marsalforn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Maria Giovanna Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Giovanna Guest House Hotel Marsalforn
Maria Giovanna Guest House Island Of Gozo/Marsalforn, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing