We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HELPFUL AND FRIENDLY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maria Giovanna Guest House
Ranked #1 of 5 Marsalforn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“HELPFUL AND FRIENDLY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Had the pleasure of staying at the the Giovanna family Guest House. It is run professionally but doesnt lack in family warmth. The staff (family) cant help you enough and go out of their way to accommodate you in any way. Make sure you eat 'in house' one night and enjoy Maria's famous Rabbit Stew.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jude C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaSonia, Owner at Maria Giovanna Guest House, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Jude C,

Many thanks for your lovely review posted on Trip Advisor.

It has been our great pleasure to host you and great to hear you have enjoyed your stay here at Maria Giovanna.

Warm greetings,

Sonia & Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    63
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
70
256
49
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed at the Maria Giovanna Guest house in April, it was lovely, very comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. We were made very welcome by the lovely family and we will certainly return hopefully next April.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norma c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaSonia, Owner at Maria Giovanna Guest House, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear norma c,

Many thanks for sharing your lovely experience at Maria Giovanna Guest House with other Trip Advisor travelers.

It is always our aim to ensure all guests feel comfortable as well as well enjoying a home away from home experience.

We all very much look forward to welcoming you home again in April 2014 !

Warm greetings,

Anna & Sonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Our first time to Maria Giovanna Guest House and it was excellent and we will return! Situated a minutes walk from the seafront it was a perfect location. Sonia & Anna were so helpful and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The cooked breakfast was amazing - fresh and lightly cooked with everything you could wish for to have for breakfast... highly recommend the lemon cheescake, it meted in your mouth! We read that it was spotless and it was! We stayed during the Notte Gozitana which was rather noisy but it was not the fault of the guest house! We are planning to come back again in the summer and we both commented that Marsalforn was actually nicer than Xlendi - more beach and swimming space and excellent restaurants!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueH2896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaSonia, Owner at Maria Giovanna Guest House, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear SueH2896,

Many thanks for sharing such a lovely review !

We both look forward to welcoming you home again in the near future.

Regards,

Anna & Sonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

I would like to Thank Sonia the receptionist that was on duty on Thursday 9th at “Maria Giovanna” guest house at Marsalforn for being so gentle and helpful when I lost my mobile. Although I was not a client at Maria Giovanna guest house, she was very understanding and honest. It is every ones dream of having such nice people working with dedication and pride with them.
A very big well done and thanks.

Thanks once again.
Joseph Bugeja.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaSonia, Owner at Maria Giovanna Guest House, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Joseph B,

What a great surprise to post such a warm review !

It is always my great pleasure to be of a service to residents and non-residents alike.

Many thanks and regards,

Sonia Teuma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naxxar, Malta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed in the Maria Giovanna Guesthouse in March. The room was very comfortable and we were made to feel at home by the lovely family that runs this guesthouse. We will be back :) for another relaxing weekend. The breakfast is homemade including lovely cakes and bread prepared by Anna and Sonia. Thanks a lot ..

Room Tip: If you are a family of 4 ask for the largest room. It was comfortable and large enough !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BertaVella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaSonia, Owner at Maria Giovanna Guest House, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Bertha & Family,

Many thanks for sharing your lovely experience at Maria Giovanna with other Trip Advisor travelers.

It is always our aim to ensure all our guests a comfortable and an enjoyable stay as much as possible.

We very much look forward to welcoming you all home again in the near future.

Regards,

Anna & Sonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Our third time at Maria Giovanna Guest House in Marsalforn- Gozo. This time we stayed for 3 nights and must admit that we had one of the best rooms in the Guesthouse. As usual the friendly atmosphere gobbles you upon arrival and it makes you feel as if you are at home. The first evening we arrived a bit late so we had to skip dinner but the next day we decided to dine at the guesthouse. Mrs Maria Bugeja, the landlady, who cooks delicious food offered that she can cook for us so we plunged to eat there. The food was done with passion and one could taste it with every bite. She prepared a local fish and I thinks it tasted so nice and tender. Needless to say, the desert,also prepared by the owners, was simply mouth watering. Highly recommended for those who would like to spend some quality time with their loved ones.. tranquility and peace... Thanks once again for the friendly atmosphere and for making us feel so welcome!! :) Thanks Joe, Maria, Anna, Sonia (although we missed her this time) and for those two hard working girls. Keep it up and Thanks once again.. :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikaZammitHaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaSonia, Owner at Maria Giovanna Guest House, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear MikaZammitHaber,

Many thanks for sharing once again, your lovely experience at Maria Giovanna with other TripAdvisor travelers.

I will definitively make it a point to be here on your 4th visit...

Until next time...

Sonia & All
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at Maria Giovanna's Guesthouse for a couple of days as we had seen it last year and wanted to try it out. The rooms are large, spotless and tastefully decorated. Also the breakfast was a treat. Since the house is run by the family, the service is very good and friendly.

I would not hesitate to recommend this Guesthouse and is a very good alternative (probably better) than many hotels.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaSonia, Owner at Maria Giovanna Guest House, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Drugal,

Many thanks for sharing your experience with other Tripadvisor travelers. We all look forward to welcoming you home again in the future.

Kind regards,

Anna & Sonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marsalforn
3.7 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
3.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Calypso Hotel
Calypso Hotel
#1 of 9 in Marsalforn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
3.1 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
1.1 mi away
Ellie Boo Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maria Giovanna Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maria Giovanna Guest House

Property: Maria Giovanna Guest House
Address: Rabat Road, Marsalforn, Island of Gozo MFN 9010, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Gozo > Marsalforn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Marsalforn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maria Giovanna, a typical Maltese town house, elegantly furnished 15-bedroom guest house offering a warm yet family atmosphere. It is run with care just like a personal home. Antique furniture, modern design and comforts melt to create this peaceful atmosphere. All bedrooms are set in a rustic style with romantic brass/iron beds. Each bedroom enjoys a fresh shower equipped with a hairdryer. Situated in an excellent location in Marsalforn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Maria Giovanna Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Giovanna Guest House Hotel Marsalforn
Maria Giovanna Guest House Island Of Gozo/Marsalforn, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing