We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Well Equipped lovely farmhouse”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Il hoxna

View of deck area, pool (including children's splash pool)  and pergola with seating for 8.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of deck area, pool (including children's splash pool)  and pergola with seating for 8.
Il nome Hoxna significa una signora grassa; in parte perché il numero civico è 18. Main bedroom.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
View of deck area, pool (including children's splash pool)  and pergola with seating for 8.
Il nome Hoxna significa una signora grassa; in parte perché il numero civico è 18.
Main bedroom.
A copy of the neolithic statue (known as the fat lady, il-hoxna) in the alcove inside the front door
At night.
View on entering from front door, towards courtyard
The courtyard from the TV room.  The plant in the central pot is now a pomegranate tree.
Looking towards stairs to upper floor from courtyard.
Stairs leading to upper floor and 3 bedrooms.
Landing outside the three upstairs bedrooms. Overlooks courtyard through large mesh window
Large 2nd bedroom with ensuite
3rd bedroom. Ensuite to the right.
Splash pool with integral stone bench.
Small terrace outside main bedroom.
Overlooking deck area from terrace.
Terrace also overlooks courtyard.
Children's splash pool.
Kitchen. Includes microwave, dishwasher and washing machine.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Gharb, Island of Gozo

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RGGAG
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Well Equipped lovely farmhouse”
Reviewed September 2, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Il Hoxna was extremely well equipped and the owner gave us detailed information prior to our stay which helped us immensely. Located in the village of Gharb which has a supermarket, four great restaurants all within walking distance. The craft village is also within walking distance which did a good breakfast! The farmhouse was very clean and had a fantastic courtyard that was lovely to cool off in. We hired a car but it is not really necessary as the Farmhouse is seconds from the bus stop, which seemed to run on a regular basis. It is situated on the corner of a fairly busy road so some traffic noise can be heard, however this was not an issue for us.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 25, 2017
Thank you for your kind review. I hope you will visit again.
Nick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIH2013
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Very spacious, comfortable and interesting house with good pool in the beautiful village of Gharb.”
Reviewed July 16, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Just back from a great holiday rental in Gharb. The owner was very happy to help with any info we needed and keen to ensure we had a good rental experience.
The house is spacious and open, with 3 dining areas - one of them pool side. 3 upstairs bedrooms have ensuite bathrooms. The 4th bedroom is on the ground floor and not so well decorated.The kitchen is very well equipped although we had trouble finding kitchen knives etc which we eventually found in a drawer in the large kitchen table. The pool is regularly serviced and there are plenty of sun loungers.
Gharb is a lovely, traditional village. There's a regular bus service into Victoria and beyond if you want to explore Gozo and don't have a car. In the village there are at least 2 supermarkets and a range of reasonably priced restaurants. The fascinating church of Ta' Pinu is in walking distance and the craft village is just up the road.
Would love to revisit - maybe in the spring when we could make more of the great walking opportunities and enjoy the wild flowers and coastal paths. It was pretty hot there this July.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 30, 2017
Dear Delia
Thank you very much for your kind review. I am delighted you had a lovely holiday. Spring is a great time to visit Gozo.
Best wishes
Nick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R B
Hereford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful family holiday”
Reviewed September 20, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Yet another fantastic holiday
Really does tick all the boxes
Excellent location and facilities on your doorstep
Buses are reliable and always on time
Gozoway gets you to and from airport providing a brilliant and friendly service

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 20, 2016
Dear Rebecca
Thank you for your kind review. I hope you return.
Best wishes
Nick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GooderIN
Bologna, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful villa, perfect for a family to relax for a week.”
Reviewed August 27, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The villa is really very nice. Great pool and terrace. Nice internal courtyard in the evenings and 4 bed and 4 bathrooms so plenty of space for the whole family.

Lots of restaurants within walking distance and a supermarket within 100M.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 29, 2016
Dear John
Thank you for your kind review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.
Best wishes
Nick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McSane
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Relaxing retreat”
Reviewed August 23, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We travelled as a family with 3 older teenagers.
Il hoxna is a traditional and open village property with a central courtyard and a separate pool garden. The rooms are all spacious, well enough appointed (bear in mind it is a traditional house, not a modern hotel) and with air conditioning.
If you have small children there are a few things besides the pool to watch out for - a undeveloped basement area down spiral stairs, a well in the garden - but the information sent by the owner is brilliant, extensive and very detailed. We found it very useful.
The property is near the corner of a busy road, so traffic noise is obvious. The pool is great, with enough depth to cope with big kids messing about, limited swimming and a bit of a 'jacuzzi' at one end.
We found the whole break nicely relaxing. Gozo is much less populated and quiet than Malta. Access to most places is easy, despite driving around many hairpins and steep hills! and public transport is a very polished service.
I felt the owner went beyond expectation in offering advice and information and is a very approachable guy. Top class, thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: Dust from the limestone
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 25, 2016
Dear Jason
Thank you for providing a review. Your point re children is very well made and I will add some bits to the information I provide to prospective customers. I will also take into account your suggestion in a seoerate email regarding providing a small pack for those arriving late when the shops are closed. Once again thank you for staying at il-hoxna and I am glad you had a great time in Gozo. Best wishes
Nick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 22, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location of the farmhouse.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 25, 2016
Dear Brendan
Thank you for your kind review. I am glad you had a great time at il-hoxna and in gozo in general.
Best wishes
Nick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Isabella...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Chilled out.”
Reviewed February 15, 2015 for a stay in July 2014

Stayed there with my husband and boys (14 and 12 years). We did not hire a car as public transport good. Owner supplied name of taxi firm for transport to and from airport and I can thoroughly reccommend them. Transfer involves short ferry ride. Property is spacious and quite charming. Pool was very much appreciated as was air-con in bedrooms. TV, DVD, internet and washing machine available for use. We did not travel too far from property as wanted a relaxing holiday, however bus stop at bottom of road made travel easy. Well stocked anf friendly supermarket less than 2 minutes away. Gozo bread is fantastic. Several restaurants within walking distance as is the craft village. Property is spacious offering plenty room for everyone. Hope to return in future as very much enjoyed our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing