We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful family holiday”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Il hoxna

Pool area looking towards kitchen/dining room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool area looking towards kitchen/dining room
Pool view from terrace outside master bedroom Children's splash pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
11 reviews
Pool area looking towards kitchen/dining room
Pool view from terrace outside master bedroom
Children's splash pool
At night.
The name 'Il-Hoxna' means 'one fat lady' partly because the house number is 18.
A copy of the neolithic statue (known as the fat lady) in the atrium inside the front door
View on entering, towards courtyard
The courtyard from the TV room
TV room, with log burning stove.
Kitchen with dining table. Pool (behind) and courtyard (left). WiFi strongest here and around pool.
Pool area. BarBQ to the right
Stairs leading to upper floor and 3 bedrooms.
Landing leads to the three upstairs bedrooms. Overlooks courtyard through large mesh window
Master bedroom. With a/c unit and ceiling fan. Leads onto sun terrace.
Terrace also overlooks courtyard.
Further view from terrace.
Large 2nd bedroom with ensuite
3rd bedroom. Ensuite to the right.
Bedroom 4. Downstairs.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Gharb, Island of Gozo

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
R B
Hereford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful family holiday”
Reviewed September 20, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Yet another fantastic holiday
Really does tick all the boxes
Excellent location and facilities on your doorstep
Buses are reliable and always on time
Gozoway gets you to and from airport providing a brilliant and friendly service

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 20, 2016
Dear Rebecca
Thank you for your kind review. I hope you return.
Best wishes
Nick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GooderIN
Bologna, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful villa, perfect for a family to relax for a week.”
Reviewed August 27, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The villa is really very nice. Great pool and terrace. Nice internal courtyard in the evenings and 4 bed and 4 bathrooms so plenty of space for the whole family.

Lots of restaurants within walking distance and a supermarket within 100M.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 29, 2016
Dear John
Thank you for your kind review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.
Best wishes
Nick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McSane
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Relaxing retreat”
Reviewed August 23, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We travelled as a family with 3 older teenagers.
Il hoxna is a traditional and open village property with a central courtyard and a separate pool garden. The rooms are all spacious, well enough appointed (bear in mind it is a traditional house, not a modern hotel) and with air conditioning.
If you have small children there are a few things besides the pool to watch out for - a undeveloped basement area down spiral stairs, a well in the garden - but the information sent by the owner is brilliant, extensive and very detailed. We found it very useful.
The property is near the corner of a busy road, so traffic noise is obvious. The pool is great, with enough depth to cope with big kids messing about, limited swimming and a bit of a 'jacuzzi' at one end.
We found the whole break nicely relaxing. Gozo is much less populated and quiet than Malta. Access to most places is easy, despite driving around many hairpins and steep hills! and public transport is a very polished service.
I felt the owner went beyond expectation in offering advice and information and is a very approachable guy. Top class, thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: Dust from the limestone
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 25, 2016
Dear Jason
Thank you for providing a review. Your point re children is very well made and I will add some bits to the information I provide to prospective customers. I will also take into account your suggestion in a seoerate email regarding providing a small pack for those arriving late when the shops are closed. Once again thank you for staying at il-hoxna and I am glad you had a great time in Gozo. Best wishes
Nick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 22, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location of the farmhouse.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 25, 2016
Dear Brendan
Thank you for your kind review. I am glad you had a great time at il-hoxna and in gozo in general.
Best wishes
Nick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Isabella...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Chilled out.”
Reviewed February 15, 2015 for a stay in July 2014

Stayed there with my husband and boys (14 and 12 years). We did not hire a car as public transport good. Owner supplied name of taxi firm for transport to and from airport and I can thoroughly reccommend them. Transfer involves short ferry ride. Property is spacious and quite charming. Pool was very much appreciated as was air-con in bedrooms. TV, DVD, internet and washing machine available for use. We did not travel too far from property as wanted a relaxing holiday, however bus stop at bottom of road made travel easy. Well stocked anf friendly supermarket less than 2 minutes away. Gozo bread is fantastic. Several restaurants within walking distance as is the craft village. Property is spacious offering plenty room for everyone. Hope to return in future as very much enjoyed our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 21, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
186525Tar...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic family holiday”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at Il Hoxna with my family, including 2 children aged 11 and 9. We decided not to hire a car given that buses run frequently right round the corner from the farmhouse and are incredibly cheap. We didn't miss not having a car and explored the island with ease. We took the open top bus tour one day which we all enjoyed and stopped at the craft centre just up the road. Il Hoxna is ideally located as the supermarket is about one minute walk away and has everything you need, including lovely fresh baked bread early in the morning. We also went to the luxury Kempinski hotel nearby quite a bit,especially got the half price cocktail hour and also for great bar snacks. the house itself has loads of space and the pool is great, so our kids loved it, as well as having frequent bbq's by the pool. We'll definitely go back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 23, 2013
Dear Madam
Thank you for kind review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at il-Hoxna and in Gozo. You are welcome back anytime. We offer a discount to repeat customers.
Thank you
Nick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing