We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but unpleasant surprise”
Review of Comino Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comino Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Comino
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We are living in Malta and we decided to spent one night in this hotel. Everything was ok. The food had a good quality and the room was clean and comfortable. We chose FULL BOARD for our weekend so that included breakfast, lunch ( on the arrival or the departure day) and dinner.

One of the waiters made a mistake in the dinner regarding to us and because of this mistake we had several troubles in the lunch for the next day.

The main waiter, called Jhon ( the maitre), didn´t make up for the mistake and he started talking to us in an arrogant way and treating us as cheaters. All people around was looking to us. My boyfriend and I were really ashamed because this man, Jhon, was not talking to us in an appropriate way. We are dissapointed because Jhon was so rude even having been the waiter´s fault, not ours. It was only a misunderstood.

We were really happy with the hotel but Jhon, the maitre, ruined our lunch.

The recepcionist girl was really polite and she regreted the situation. We appreciate it.

All our complaints are because of this man.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank beita_nbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (470)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 471 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

Much is written about this hotel and much is harsh. The hotel itself is a little tired but the staff could not have been more helpful. The food is plentiful and of reasonable quality - and the island -if you avoid the much overrated Blue Lagoon with its burger vans - is peaceful and relaxing.

Room Tip: The bungalows are superbly located
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank steve110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Perfect if you want to get away from it all....if you want 5 star luxury forget it. I loved it here as there was no noise unless you go to Blue lagoon, there are enough beaches where you will be on your own for peace and quiet!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LADYMUKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

7th family visit in 14 years . Love the place despite the moans and sadness at the hotels steady decay. Between each visit something is lost. this time the watersports centre and childrens games rooms closed. Clearly losing business this August pool dominated by noisy local families on day trips and witnessed attempted bag theft. Thankfully the chef seems to have maintained the food choice of wholesome, simple food. Fewer staff year on year. Please someone buy out the owner invest ! Rumours of plans to build holidayhomes/timeshares circulating for years, would be a tragedy.

Suggest Hotel supports dive centre and promotes a Comino based centre. Its no use staying on Comino only to wait for divers to be shipped in from sliema before diving..(no matter if it is agood safe operation). In the past you could get two dives in the morning. Love the place and the hard worked staff. Upset by terminal underinvestment and crisis management. Will we return?
Probably but not in August

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HolidayDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Comino is the best place for total relaxation, it was our first time staying at the bungalows, rooms very dated aircon patchy BUT! thats not what you go to Comino for we have been 5 times I am sure we will stay again, food good and no need to dress up for dinner if you don't want to

Room Tip: sea view bungalow top floor is best an endless parade of sailing ships to keep you interested
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank susanandderek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Comino Hotel is a charming (albeit badly decorated) hotel built in the 1960's. Its vast communal areas hark back to a simpler form of tourism, when Malta had not yet been tarnished by its building boom and subsequent 'cementification'. Comino is a truly unspoilt paradise, with hidden coves and rocky expanses, no cars, shops or restaurants. Whilst the hotel may benefit from some sensitive redecoration and an upgrade to its restaurant menu and services on offer, it offers incredibly good value for money and is a welcome respite from Malta's busy and often ugly seaside resorts. Definitely not for those who are easily bored, the Comino Hotel is perfect for quiet retreats and hours spent sunbathing on its namesake island.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Head_Boy1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Since I live in Malta, I find Comino island ideal for a day at the beach instead of normal beaches around Malta. The beaches at Comino are really nice but I suggest to everyone to go early morning since you will find the beach clear. This summer I decided to plan a weekend break at the Comino Hotel where we usually go to have lunch every time we go swimming there since you don't really have lot of options, its the only hotel and public building on this island! The hotel is clean however it needs a desperate refurbishment! Our room was said to be a garden view room it wasn't really like that! It had a view of some plants and walls :S I expected a normal garden at least! The TV had only 4 channels, two in German, Sky News and TVM which is Malta local channel! Apart from the TV was really small!!! The food at the hotel was pretty good, every the desserts! The service was also very proper and waiters and barmen were polite. What it actually bothers me alot is knowing that this hotel will hardly take any note of these comments since it has the privilege to be the only hotel on that island so it has the power to leave the hotel lobby old fashioned with poor plants and eye-sour ornaments. Tourists are still going to visit and stay but I am sure that with some money this hotel could easily look much better. If at least they change the lobby and the plastic white tables and chairs outside its already a big thing really. I usually go to much nicer hotels with the same price I paid! Its not actually the cheapest for its look!

Room Tip: Don't choose garden view! Sea view or nothing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Shadylise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Comino
5.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
2.1 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
3.9 mi away
Luna Holiday Complex
Luna Holiday Complex
#6 of 12 in Mellieha
1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
11.3 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,823 reviews
2.4 mi away
Quaint Boutique Hotel Nadur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comino Hotel

Address: San Niklaw Bay, Comino SPB08, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Comino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Comino
Price Range: $65 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Comino Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Comino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing