We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3 star not 4” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comino Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Comino Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Comino
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“3 star not 4”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

Yes the Comino hotel is tired and rough around the edges but that for me was its character. If this hotel was a 5 star oasis then it would make everything too busy and posh on what is a small lonely island. It enabled us to relax and that is why we were there. If they sorted the breakfast out (it was awful) and made the staff happier this hotel would be a little 3 star gem with its own cool Comino personality.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Num_Tee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    149
    86
    42
    40
See reviews for
109
185
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

My wife and I love wildlife and nature in general, so we were very excited to find this particular destination for our yearly holiday.
The site was described as a nature reserve of approx. 1 sq mile island, with no cars, only footfall.
As keen snorkellers there was a promise of good dive/snorkelling sites around the island.
We booked the 4 star hotel for one week as of 2/10/11, and asked for a sea view room, if possible.

In reality , there was very little nature to observe, with the exception of lizards in abundant numbers. The island was very barren with dirt track paths / roads and various abandoned stone structures in varying states of repair, from old hospital bldg s to ruined bakeries and a gun battery placement.
The tranquillity we were looking forward to was sadly lacking , as we dodged many Land Rovers and other vehicles owned by the hotel, transferring people too and from the Bungalows complex in the next bay. The bungalows being part of the Comino hotel complex.Other vans transferred luggage from the boat to the hotel.
The hotel itself may at some distant past have been classified as a 4 star rating, but it certainly is not, now. More like a 3 star.
We were allocated a land view room , despite requesting a sea view. When we asked at reception if we could be moved to a sea view, we were told in no uncertain terms that there were no sea view rooms available,[ despite being the end of the holiday season.?]
The room was adequate, but needed refurbishment, as did the whole of the hotel complex.
The bathroom had discoloured grouting and a shower curtain that needed to have been replaced years ago.
We had a number of thunder storms within the first few days which brought down the TV system and air conditioning. When this was reported to reception, we again had a response that was not helpful.
The maintenance man who came to our room, had more idea of customer service than the reception / bar staff, as he came back to us with a fan to use, but more importantly an apology.
Unfortunately the air conditioning was off for all of the remaining week ie 4/5 days

If you have several hours of waiting around the hotel after checkout at 12 noon, for your boat transfer to Malta, don't bother asking reception for a few hours extra in the room as they will charge 120 euro s for this service ?
On a more positive side, as we were on a half board deal, the food was excellent, with a varied range of food, cooked to a high standard.
Overall , and to recap, the hotel seems to be run on a shoestring with staff that are mostly unaware of what customer service is, except of course the maintenance man and the odd waiting staff.
Good luck, all who book a holiday here.

Room Tip: Make sure if booking a sea view, that you get confirmation from the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank YorkshirePie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

Having read some of the reviews of this hotel (after I had booked....) I was amazed when we arrived. Fabulous location, stunning views - yes, the hotel is a little 'tired' but hey, so are we! I think some of the reviewers must have had incredibly high expectations. This hotel certainly fitted the bill for our holiday - so quiet and peaceful - we loved every minute of it!

Room Tip: Chose a seaview room - stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

This was our second stay on Comino and we stayed the first week in September. This hotel is a little be of a quandry! Yes, it is tired in some parts but in saying that, the rooms are clean and you have a fridge where you can put your own wine etc. usually bought on the Gozo run. The pool is lovely seawater and looking over the sea and there are a couple of private beaches to enjoy the sun and swim/snorkel.
Evening entertainment is none existent for most nights, and can be a bit dodgy on the nights it is provided. The singer on the sunday was by far the best and played the guitar brilliantly. This means you have to talk to each other or play card games. Sounds abit odd, but actually, if you are looking for a total chill out, this is your place and we love it warts and all!!
to stroll over to the Blue Lagoon in the morning and have a swim in that beautiful water by yourself is just to die for. Stay there until you see the boats coming over from Malta and take a stroll back to your private beach. heaven!
You either get this place or you don't. We met so many people who were returning every year for 14 years!
The rooms are clean, if tired. We found the pillows a little to flat for us, even with getting a second one so we had to bolster up with folded towels, but that was not really a problem.
The breakfast is fine but the evening meal is much better- i wish i could cook my beef as well as the chef here! This year there was no shortage of glasses! Bar food is also very good and not over priced.
One of the real pluses about this hotel, is the staff. Always polite and always a smile. i wish i could say the same for some other hotels i have stayed in. Young Sean in the restaurant and bar is always polite and helpful-he was last year as well. Most of the staff are from Gozo and are extremely friendly.
The location speaks for itself and what is nice now is that the diving centre is now working and it was wonderful to do a Discover Scuba Dive with Selkies diving. I felt safe and the instructor and staff were very kind and professional. Started in the pool and then went into the sea. Absolutely amazing experience, it really added to my holiday. I just wish i thought to bring an underwater camera with me, because i don't beilieve i really did it!
If you want to get away from it all, then this is the place, and yes, i agree with other reviewer, bring a torch if you want to go walking at night!

Room Tip: An inland veiw is of the gardens and is quieter than the seaveiw rooms which over look the swimming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank patsy55_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuba
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

We lived Malta since 2 year. we love comino hotel. Great for kids.
the downside about comino hotel.
don go there with high expectation its no 4 star hotel. but its a lovely place to spent 1 or 2 night.

Room Tip: The room 121 i think its a suit on the ground level. i personal think its great for family with smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miamaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxor, Egypt
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

We stayed in the bungalows because they had a rocky bay nearby &, as advertised, they were quite a way from the main hotel. It was a very pleasant 10 minute stroll between the 2 & gave you a bit of a chance to walk off the dinners! A free shuttle was available but, apart from arrival & departure, we only used it once, when it arrived just as we were setting off one lunch time.

Buffet breakfast was served in the restaurant by the bungalows (as well as at the main hotel) until 10, sadly it was not open the rest of the day whilst we were there although I think it was sometimes. We bought cans of drink including beer & Kinnie at the main bar & kept them in the fridge in the room until we wanted them (we had water with us anyway)

My only criticism was the chalets were starting to show their age a little, sticky door & a rather discoloured shower curtain etc but they were spacious & clean & with views to die for!

The pathway had a couple of lights missing & very subdued lighting so for a post dinner walk back from the restaurant take a torch with you. Also a camera for the sunset & moon photo's.

Restaurant had a good range of well cooked food, including a vegetarian option & good wine list.

Looking forward to a return visit

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank franEgyptUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

This is the 4th year in a row that we have been as part of an extended family trip. This time we did 4 nights on Comino and 10 days in Malta. Comino was relaxing, friendly and quite frankly fairly empty which suited us. We were travelling with a 21mth old, he had tremendous fun being the center of the entire groups attention 24/7. The hotel made every effort to make the stay pleasant, the food was good and varied clearly the chef plans his menus to maximize and balance the needs of the guest with needs of the hotel. For the first time we stayed in the hotel as opposed to the bungalows which are a 10 minute walk from the hotel along a dusty track to another bay. Some of our party stayed at the bungalows, the views there are totally wondrous bout they are very very very run down. each day friends put their clothes out to air as the room was so musty, They have now reached the state where they need to be closed or refurbished. As stated we stayed in the hotel, the room was clean airy comfortable with a balcony looking out across the pool to the bay directly in front. The air-con work well (sometimes hit and miss). All in all had another great time, the real downside is the fact that we still pay the all inclusive price of 4 years ago for 1/2 board and the local ale CISK is sold only by the can and costs E4:00 (it is E1:00 on the mainland in many shops and supermarkets). I know they have to make a profit but perhaps not so much as that with a captive clientele. The local wine (when chilled) was ok and cost E5:00 a carafe. There is only one very small shop that sells swim gear, inflatables, local craft and sun cream all at a premium. If you want a soft drink for your room or bottled water then it is bar prices or nothing. All in all well worth the visit and we will go again. Four years ago we went for 2 weeks last year it was 4 day's next year we may do 2 days but no longer. There were no water sports this year - not that they amounted to much) as the hotel declined to renew the licence? Most of the staff are friendly and helpful, there is no doubt that one of the receptionists could do with smile classes.
Comino Hotel if you read this please spend some of your profits on future guests otherwise there may be a lack of guests and profit.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dtSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Comino
2.2 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
1.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
7.2 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
6.2 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comino Hotel

Property: Comino Hotel
Address: San Niklaw Bay, Comino SPB08, Malta
Location: Malta > Comino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Comino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Comino Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Comino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing