We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice pub in a lovely location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Tudor Arms

The Tudor Arms
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Slimbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $26
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Situated just 800 yards from the world famous Slimbridge Wildfowl and Wetlands Trust, and yards from the banks of the Gloucester-Sharpness Canal, The Tudor Arms is open for breakfast from 8:00 am and serves main meals from 12:00 until 9:00 pm. We serve a wide selection of ,mostly local, real ales, ciders and perries along with soft drinks and spirits.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice pub in a lovely location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the caravan park behind the pub, we had a meal which was reasonably priced and was cooked very well can recommend the steak pie.
The staff were very friendly.
It is quite a large pub with restaurant areas and family friendly.
The location is great especially if you take your dog.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveH235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    103
    36
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Skomer Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A good pub, good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Good food for all! Big enough portions. Nice Gloucestershire Ale. Close to Slimbridge WWT and walks along the canal.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris_Skomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west country
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We went to the Tudor arms today and had Sunday roast good choice of beef,lamb,pork or chicken approx £9 each or £6.50 for a childs meal (which wasnt much smaller than the adults meal) 3 good slices of meat in tasty gravy, roast & new potatoes Yorkshire pud with all meats and a separate dish of freshly cooked carrots cauli & broccoli, sauces & extra gravy requested and kindly brought out quickly, this was the best Sunday dinner i have had in a
pub/restaurant,Good size portion good value for money. this is a very busy place and sometimes the wait at the bar can take a while, it is close to the canal so if you want to walk off your dinner then perfect for you,(slimbridge wildfowl trust 1/2 mile further on down the road caravan park to the rear & they do B&B ) great place to visit in the summer nice freshly baked cream tea 1 large pot of tea & two home baked scone, jam & cream lovely, light lunches & other menus at different times of the day, good choice of ciders & beers can sit outdoors but not the best view mainly carpark you dont look over the canal but good all round place to visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IdaDabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“New Year Treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We were staying in the Caravan Park behind the pub. We ate Sunday lunch which was generally excellent. However, I don't understand why you get Yorkshire puddings with all meats and why they have to be so big. By being so big they become dry. I don't like gravy so this probably emphasises the dryness of the puddings. But saying that the meat and veg were nice and fresh and also hot./

We went back on new year's eve for a meal at tea time and it was absolutely delicious. We all ordered different meals (4 of us) and it all arrived together and was piping hot and totally yummy.

The pub was busy which probably helped keep the food hot and fresh.

I would suggest this place is worth a visit. Not expensive as you can have most meals for under £10 per person with some around the £5.00.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mobsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drefach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Lovely food!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

came here with some friends, nice local ales, and good honest pub food, great location for exploring the canal! well worth a visit!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tudor Arms also viewed

 
Dursley, Cotswolds
Frampton on Severn, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Tudor Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing