We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best curry in Gloucestershire”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Slimbridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Tudor Arms Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Slimbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Probably the best curry in Gloucestershire”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at the campsite behind this property and decided that we wouldn't cook for ourselves every night.

We found the staff were above and beyond what you would normally expect in a pub, they had personalities and nothing was too much.

The food was out of this world. On one occasion, I ordered the "curry of the day", upon ordering I asked if it was spicy hot, the lovely young lady explained to me that it was not that spicy but they could change this if need be, I told her to make it as hot as she could get it and some. She returned from the kitchen with a mischievous smile on her face saying that the chef has risen to the challenge.

The chicken curry arrived and to my amazement it was hot. I am a prolific hot spicy curry eater and quite the connoisseur of a good curry and am often disappointed by public houses that claim to be able to make a curry. The Tudor Arms does not fit into this category, this curry had an abundance of flavour and was crammed full of good quality chicken breast. The spices were very clear in their aroma yet not overpowering. The whole flavour was excellent. I can honestly say that this has to be the best curry I have had served to me in a pub in a long time.

The portion sizes were more than adequate, in fact I would go as far to say belly busting is more an appropriate size.

They offered a great selection of wines and ales plus all of the mainstream beers. Dogs are also welcome in certain areas.

Room Tip: Try the curry
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyFinn-Ford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    56
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
49
126
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The Tudor Arms is a real find. Exceptionally high standard accommodation equal to any multi star hotel. Located in between Slimbridge village and the WWT reserve on the Gloucester Sharpness canal it shares the site with a large caravan site so booking a table for dinner is essential. Food is served all day with limited bar snacks from 1400 to 1800, but the quality is very high and if you can wait dine here rather than the reserve. Portions are generous for evening meals so bear that in mind during the day. The accommodation is only 12 rooms so again book well in advance. Pub side has won the local CAMRA Coutry Pub of the Year for the last 5 years - they have a large selection of ciders and perrys in addition to 4-5 hand pulled real ales. The staff are friendly and service is not a dirty word. Last two stays we have had to get away very first thing and we were able to pre-order cooked breakfast so by the time we had finished our cereals/fruit the Full English was ready and on the table. The quality of the ingredients is very superior - sets you up for the day.

Room Tip: There is no lift to the first floor so if you have mobility issues ask for a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HighWycombeCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, England
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Having booked a room for a family celebration I was very surprised with the high standard. The memory foam mattress on a huge king size bed was welcome and so comfortable.
Having worked for many hotels and travelled worldwide. I would say that the room with all the finishing touches was excellent .
Breakfast was also very nice and the service too.
The only downside was upon checkout. Having to pay at the bar and I found the lady not very enthusiastic nor did she ask if we enjoyed our stay.
For £95 a night one would expect a smile on departure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weegers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okehampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The incredibly popular pub with it's attached large caravan & camping site makes one doubt whether a quiet night will be possible on first impressions. The lodge is separate from the main building with its own car park. We slept with the bedroom window open and heard nothing but the occasional owl etc. The room was a decent size, well appointed and clean. The beds were comfortable and the drink selection better than most. We even had a fresh bottle of water per guest provided each day. During our 4 day stay, the manager & the cook were under pressure and working very long hours to cover staff sickness but remained cheerful and the breakfast (served in the pub conservatory) was excellent. Other meals were of the typical pub variety with one or two specialities. To avoid a possible wait, book a table if you intend to have an evening meal there. It is a perfect touring base with plenty to see and do. We recommend an evening stroll along the canal towpath, a canal boat ride to see Purton and its sunken boats and if you like castles, then Berkley Castle is a must. Still in the same family since the sea last froze over (or there abouts!) with lots of info on the guided tour. We can't wait to stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We spent four nights here for a short break. The location is off the main routes, but the pub and lodge were busy especially at the weekend. Our room was larger than expected, very well appointed and extremely comfortable. Well up to the standards expected from some of the better "chain" establishments rather than an independent village "free house". The food was excellent with a good choice on the menu and the pub carried an extensive range of beers and ciders!

The Gloucester & Sharpness Canal is mere steps away and provides some excellent walks, while the WWT Slimbridge Centre is 10 minutes walk down the road. Gloucester is about 30 minutes away by car and the Severn Bridge a similar drive southwards, while the Forest of Dean is within an hour's drive, so this is a convenient spot for touring.

When we next venture to this part of the world the Tudor Arms Lodge will be on our list of possibilities for a return visit. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Llanelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiRock, Manager at The Tudor Arms Lodge, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Many thanks for your feedback. We are pleased that you had a good stay.
We are in the process of upgrading our wifi and it should hopefully be fully funcional soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales, UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed here just for one night in September having booked the day before to take advantage of some late summer sunshine. The position of it just off the canal was ideal for us as we had taken our bikes to cycle up to Gloucester and back a well worthwhile round trip of around 28 miles. On our return we were able to sit in the beer garden In the sunshine for a well deserved drink. The room was of a very high standard and found the bed especially comfortable due to the memeory foam mattress. Restaurant was busy for mid week and we should have booked a table but plenty of good food and real ales. This is a very relaxing place and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marytwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

This was my second visit to the Tudor Arms, the first time was back in the February half term which was faultless and this visit was just as brilliant. I rang at very short notice on a Friday afternoon and they were able to 'squeeze' us in that night. I say 'squeeze' there was no squeezing about it as their rooms are THAT generous. I had hoped to have the family room as I have previously stayed in one of them and they are huge and luxurious, but there were none available so we had a double with a single sofa bed and they squeezed in another 'put you up' bed as we were a party of 2 adults and 2 children and the Double room only sleeps 3. The rooms are luxurious and are very well equipped. The bathrooms are beautiful and the showers are brilliant.

The staff are excellent and nothing is too much trouble. We had supper that evening which was delicious home cooked food, especially the Treacle Tart! And breakfast was excellent too!

If I had to give a negative it would only be that neither my husband or I could connect to the free Wifi, which in the grand scheme of things is a minor detail!

I cannot rate this place high enough, a real gem in the beautiful countryside of Slimbridge!

Thanks again Tudor Arms!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Slimbridge
4.4 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
679 reviews
3.7 mi away
Travelodge Stonehouse
Travelodge Stonehouse
#2 of 2 in Stonehouse
171 reviews
6.8 mi away
Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
#1 of 1 in Lower Wick
432 reviews
7.5 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
2,548 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hatton Court Hotel
Hatton Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tudor Arms Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tudor Arms Lodge

Property: The Tudor Arms Lodge
Address: Tudor Arms Shepherds Patch, Slimbridge GL2 7BP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Slimbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Slimbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tudor Arms Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Family run 4 star inn near with good food, beers and ciders. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Tudor Arms Hotel Slimbridge
The Tudor Arms Lodge Slimbridge, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing