We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A refreshing resting place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Noordoewer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Noordoewer Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 1 Noordoewer B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 24, 2014

After the long trip from Cape Town we were given a warm welcome at this guesthouse. The room was neat and clean and the beds proved to be very comfortable and we had a good night's rest. We arrived early enough to take a walk in the vineyards and down to the Orange River, which was pleasant after spending so many hours in the car.
The evening meal was delicious and measures up to their reputation of serving excellent food and giving value for your money. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We can recommend this establishment unreservedly.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yvonne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
There are newer reviews for Noordoewer Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 62 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed one night after driving up from Cape Town. Brand new room, could smell the paint! Very firm comfortable bed, crisp white linen, spartan room - very relaxing. Best of all was the food. We are vegetarian and were delighted with a plate of exquisitely prepared vegetables, laid out beautifully. Salad was tasty, too, with yellow cheese croquettes atop fresh salad ingredients. Breakfast also very good. A lot of attention to detail regarding service, eg when I needed a spoon, it was brought promptly and on a plate. Decor very tasteful. The young guy who runs the place said he'd trained in Stellenbosch, and now it seems he is imitating a fine dining wine farm restaurant in a transit motel in a border town! Definitely worthwhile staying.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller123CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Great, modern rooms, friendly manager, very good (and inexpensive) dinner. Was our second stay ad Noordoewer Guesthouse and it is still the best option in Noordoewer vor overnighting. They are busy adding some more rooms and built a new, bigger swimming pool.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ernst38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

There are few places to stay in this far away part of the world. So much bigger the reason to go there and enjoy this fairly unique place. Rooms and interiors are very special (lots of concrete - maybe the rooms have been moulded.. ;-) but they have a specific, rustic charm . And we all slept very well.
Bar (and barman when we were there) efficient and friendly so we felt most welcome. So close to the desert a lot of refreshment is needed - and they'd got it!
Food - dinner as well as breakfast - was plentiful, delightful and served in a pleasant way.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claes T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

The rooms aren't massive, but they are clean and have everything you need. The establishment is exceptionally well located near the Vioolsdrift/Noordoewer border post, and the best possible place to stay in the area. The cherry on top must be the great food - don't miss the sirloin!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WallasBallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This is the perfect place to stay to break a drive from Cape Town to Namibia. The rooms are simply constructed but cool and comfortable, with plenty of room for luggage. The staff make cute animal shapes with the towels to decorate the beds.The one-course dinner was well cooked with loads of delicious vegetables.
The guest house works on Namibian time but the shop next door uses South African time. We arrived an hour early for dinner!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catherinespratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Ok, so we refuse to drive through to Cape Town in one go, too long with family and decided to sleep halfway in Noordoewer! Nothing to get exciting about, right?

Well, we were pleasantly surprised! Rooms are done simple, but inviting. We went for a walk through the vines, down to the Orangeriver, it felt like the holiday started here! Watching a lovely sunset, drinking ice cold beer, then came DINNER!!! WOW!!! WOW!!! Soft Springbok Fillet with veggies all done to an art ( I do not eat when food is not well presented) we got a beautifully presented dinner, tasted exceptional and the COOK makes this place worthwhile to visit and to STAY! Lovely experience all together, we highly recommend their SPOT! Well done Noordoewer!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Euronovelties A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Noordoewer Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Noordoewer Guesthouse

Address: 51 Zone, Noordoewer, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Karas Region > Noordoewer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Noordoewer
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing