We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pub, good food, good staff”
Review of Oakhill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oakhill Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Oakhill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good pub, good food, good staff”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We found this pub by chance and had a lovely Sunday lunch washed down by a selection of real ale. Yum Yum. The food is more restaurant than pub grub and the staff are worth a mention as seemed genuine and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neilg23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    47
    9
    11
    3
See reviews for
39
73
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southern UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 6, 2012

What an excellent find! The staff are friendly and laid-back, and the room we booked (Room 1 - the largest room) was tastefully and nicely decorated with comfortable bed and luxurious bed linen/towels etc. We weren't able to have dinner there (but wish we had) however the breakfasts really are as good as other reviewers have said. We'll definitely be going back.

If I have anything negative to say, it's that the parking is a bit limited (the private car park only holds about 9 cars) but there is some on-road parking close by if you're lucky/persistent.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for room 1 - the bathroom's lush!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hugo_z_hackenbush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We came to this pub by chance. It was recommended by another pub we knew who couldn't fit us in. We booked over the phone and were told that the only room left was the smallest. We booked anyway, pleased get a room (and a good deal) at very short notice. In the event it was small but not that small, it was comfortable and nicely furnished. We found the staff very friendly, car park was close at hand and the food was very good indeed. We came away feeling that we had a really good weekend with good food and value for money. We would definitely go again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DPHorvath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I needed a hotel near Midsomer Norton as I was ther for a course. I wanted somewhere where I could get a decent meak and restful night - and I got this in spades.
The room was comfortable and clean - but the food was awesome. The staff are welcoming, and you are invited to relax and enjoy the pub. I had the steak, which was cooked perfectly with a great chips and salad. Enjoy the full english breakfast as well - too good to miss.
If you are in the area, stop in for a meal - your tastebuds will be delighted.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OzTravel68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowlands Castle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I needed an hotel near Shepton Mallet for three nights and discovered this little gem.The staff made us welcome from the start, their attentive service deserves mentioning. I wan't expecting such high quality food apparently locally sourced. The negatives? A window blind that refused to work properly, other than that nothing that marred an otherwise pleasant and welcoming break. Would certainly visit again.

Room Tip: Room one had a bathroom almost as big the bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We were looking for somewhere close to Shepton Mallett to meet relatives prior to a hospital visit. I like a gastropub and struggled to find anything using search engines and lucked on The Oakhill. It fitted the bill perfectly. The roast lunches were excellent, my wife had the Cornish monkfish and thought if made a great change from the roast meats. The bar has a great selection of local beers on draught and my current fave cider Orchard Pig. The food wasn't inexpensive but was value for money. We're already looking forward to our next visit.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank McGinlayduzitagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

This pub has become our favourite lunch spot of late. The food is fast, tasty and well prepared.

The house burger (beef or lamb) and the fresh fish and chips are real highlights, but other choices off the menu have all been very successful. So far so good, but there are many places in Somerset these days with such lovely food. What sets the Oakhill Inn apart is the lovely informal bar area, the big cosy tables, the warm log burner in the corner, the generous selection of games and books and most of all the excellent beers and ciders, among them the the new Orchard Pig draft cider "Philosopher". At 6%, don't drink too many otherwise you might get a little too "philosophical" !

The welcome has always been warm too. Everything a modern day pub should be.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Somersetpubspy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakhill
4.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel
2.7 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House
#1 of 2 in Shepton Mallet
948 reviews
4.3 mi away
Ston Easton Park Hotel
Ston Easton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ston Easton
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Holcombe Inn
The Holcombe Inn
#1 of 2 in Holcombe
418 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Thatched Cottage Inn
The Thatched Cottage Inn
#19 of 36 in Shepton Mallet
244 reviews
11.0 mi away
Bath Lodge Castle
Bath Lodge Castle
#3 of 5 in Norton St Philip
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakhill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakhill Inn

Property: Oakhill Inn
Address: Fosse Road, Oakhill, Shepton Mallet BA3 5HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Shepton Mallet > Oakhill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Oakhill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Oakhill Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional English country inn with five, 4 star, en suite rooms. Comfy sofas and roaring log fires in the winter and a beautifully sunny walled garden in the summer. The bar is a show case of well kept real ales, local ciders and excellent wines. Menus are full of fresh seasonal produce from local suppliers and served throughout the pub or in the dining room. Rooms are comfortably furnished with particular attention paid to the bedding and showers.This is a family run inn and the welcome guests receive is genuine and warm. An excellent base from which to explore all that Bath and Somerset has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Oakhill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oakhill Hotel Oakhill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing