We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely Unique”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seal Rocks
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sugarloaf Point Lighthouse Holiday Accommodation
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2013

An easy and picturesque drive from Sydney through beautiful bushland to Seal Rocks, SugarLoaf Lighthouse is a truly unique destination. It such fantastic history and the cottages are immaculately conserved, with sweeping views over the most pristine beach. It's hard not to feel like king of the mountain, in such an exclusive and very private dwelling on the very top of the cliffs surrounded by wild ocean. Beautiful high ceilings, lovely wooden floors, huge original stone staircase, a great big balcony and comfy chairs to sit and watch the sun go down, plush green grass to lie on in the afternoon while having a wine and reading a book, fantastic BBQ facilities and an outdoor dining area. A walk out under the stars at night reveals even more of the magic as the lighthouse casts out it's beams. Easy to sleep in a beautiful 4 poster bed with rain falling on the roof and native birds to wake us in the morning. Pretty beach paths to walk along, a few curious dingos on the beach and many pods of dolphins during our stay. The rocks down by the water are really pretty and it's a wonderful stretch for an early morning soft sand run or walk. The water is incredibly clear and crystal green. Great surfing to be had at Treachery around the corner. The strong hot shower was great to return to after spending a day in the surf. We picked up some delicious local seafood and cooked up a storm. It really is a perfect romantic getaway...

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErikaHeynatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugarloaflighthouse, Manager at Sugarloaf Point Lighthouse Holiday Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Hi Erika,
It was an absolute pleasure to have you and Andrew stay as guests. It sounds like you certainly made the most of your few days! Sugarloaf Point really does envelope you and inspires you to relax and soak it all in.
We hope that your small sojourn found you some much needed respite from your busy lives and we hope that you can find some time in the future to return!
Cheers,
Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 71 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2013

The lighthouse cottages lived up to our every expectation. Weather varied from a howling gail and rain, which made for a very cosy evening , to clear sunny days with the ocean indigo blue.
The views from every corner are fantastic,not to mention those from the lighthouse.The licensees cannot do enough to ensure you have a great stay and clearly care for the heritage of this venue.Our only suggestion is for a better sound sytem for ipods,etc.Overall,well worth a visit ..we shall return..

Room Tip: any of the three cottages are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kandbsmall47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugarloaflighthouse, Owner at Sugarloaf Point Lighthouse Holiday Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Ken and Barb!
Thank you so much for spontaneously reviewing the lighthouse cottages! It is our pleasure to share this beautiful spot with our guests. Only three cottages, perched high overlooking the beach ... working lighthouse in your backyard creating marvellous night time beams ... what a place!
We're so pleased you all enjoyed your stay ... and look forward to your possible return.
Kind regards
Judy Linda and Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We just spend 4 midweek glorious days in the North cottage. The location is fantastic being on the coast of course. From our veranda or grass area we were able to sit back & chill out drinking wine looking out over the southern coast. I couldn't have thought of a better place to spend our 10th anniversary. Our weather in August was fantastic, around 25-27 each day, which then cooled down around 5pm when the sun set. By 9pm the sky was full of stars which took on another world feeling. Being so isolated from city lights made the stars shine even brighter. The view from the lighthouse was even more spectacular & in August whales & dolphins were plentiful. We are now planning our next trip with my brother in laws family in the main cottage.

Room Tip: take all your own food & drink & plan for a self sufficient week
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SimonSandra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugarloaflighthouse, Manager at Sugarloaf Point Lighthouse Holiday Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Sandra and Simon
Thank you for taking the time to share your lighthouse experience! Linda, Terry and I feel privileged to share this beautiful spot with our guests.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed it all ... the views, the beautiful natural environment ... beaches, gorge, whales, dolphins ... the starry nights with the brightest star of all ... our Sugarloaf Point Lighthouse with her slowly rotating beams,
It would be a delight to have you return ... many do. We love to acknowledge special events, so please let us know if you're celebrating one.
Kind regards,
Judy, Linda and Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We just spent 3 wonderful nights in the Head keepers cottage for my husbands special birthday. There were 7 of us but the cottage comfortably sleeps 8 people. When we arrived on the Friday, Linda and Judy greeted us with a special gift to celebrate the Big B'day which was a lovely surprise.
The weather for the weekend was exceptional for this time of year and we spent plenty of time on the beach, walking, fishing and sliding down the huge sanddunes on my sons body board and generally couldn't wait to sit out at every opportunity and look out over the stunning view.
We counted no less than 30 whales going passed and enjoyed every minute as the view was so dynamic and changing.
the cottage is totally self contained and beautifully appointed with the feel of the 1800's.
The view from the lighthouse at night is something special !!!!
The only thing we hoped for was to watch a storm come in from the south on our last night.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindell T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugarloaflighthouse, Manager at Sugarloaf Point Lighthouse Holiday Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Hi Lindell
Apols! We were delighted to read of your enjoyment @ the lighthouse cottages celebrating M's special birthday but somehow omitted replying :)
Regardless, we loved having you all stay, to see your pleasure in each others' company ... and enjoying in all the Headkeeper's lighthouse cottage offers... especially the plentiful whales, watched from your verandah! Perhaps next time a storm? ...
Kind regards
Judy, Linda and Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

we just spent 4 days at Sugarloaf Point Lighthouse, mixed weather, but the views on the ocean are fantastic by all weather. Saw lots of whales, enjoyed walks on Lighthouse beach, relaxing holiday. Linda, Judy and Adrienne were very helpful. We hope to come back soon.

Room Tip: Walk to the lighthouse after dark, the light beams are amazing, and you can still see lots of stars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NathalieL1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugarloaflighthouse, Owner at Sugarloaf Point Lighthouse Holiday Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

It is our pleasure to share the uniqueness with you and your family Nath0888 ... yes, the indescribable revelation of a working lighthouse by night ... and the daytime discovery of beaches, walking trails and lakes. We hope to see you again! King regards, Judy, Linda and Adrienne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights. The effect of the light is something to experience and not describe. A sort of special secret! The cottage was very comfortable and well appointed. We will definitely return and Highly recommend the accommodation and the location. A great place to relax, catch up and enjoy nature.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugarloaflighthouse, Owner at Sugarloaf Point Lighthouse Holiday Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

It was our delight to have you and the family stay Diana ... to share the surprising display of a working lighthouse by night, the crystal like lens and the beams' serene continuity ... plus daytime discovery of beaches, coves and lakes. Kind regards Judy, Linda and Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

If ever there is a place to stay that breathes 'relax' it is sugarloaf point lighthouse keepers cottages. We had another three night stay, this time in the head light keeper's cottage and it was just superb. The weather turned it on for us and the water was crystal clear. These cottages are heavenly to stay in. A dingo paid a visit, dolphins put on a running display and an owl came to check us out one evening. The highlight has to be walking up to the lighthouse at night, standing underneath and watching the 16 beams rotate. It is magical and difficult to leave. I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: All three cottages are great with terrific views. It just depends on the number of people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugarloaflighthouse, Manager at Sugarloaf Point Lighthouse Holiday Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Hello Diane R,
We just love that you enjoyed your stay at Sugarloaf once again. The weather has continued to be just wonderful. How lucky you were to enjoy this belated summer!
The wildlife is certainly one of the attractions here. The first whales have been recently sighted, a little earlier than last year. This is unusual considering the current warm ocean temperatures. We hope that this is an indication of a growing humpback population.
It was our pleasure to have you stay and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seal Rocks
6.6 mi away
Mobys Beachside Retreat
Mobys Beachside Retreat
#1 of 3 in Blueys Beach
211 reviews
7.6 mi away
Pacific Palms Resort
Pacific Palms Resort
#2 of 3 in Blueys Beach
129 reviews
18.2 mi away
Dorsal Boutique Hotel
Dorsal Boutique Hotel
#6 of 9 in Forster
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
North Coast Holiday Parks Seal Rocks
6.7 mi away
Blueys Retreat
Blueys Retreat
#1 of 3 in Blueys Beach
32 reviews
14.4 mi away
NRMA Myall Shores Holiday Park
NRMA Myall Shores Holiday Park
#1 of 1 in Myall Lakes National Park
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugarloaf Point Lighthouse Holiday Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugarloaf Point Lighthouse Holiday Accommodation

Address: Lot 1, Kinka Road, Seal Rocks, New South Wales 2423, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Seal Rocks
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Seal Rocks
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three fully self contained, heritage listed and restored lighthouse keepers' cottages. Located at Sugarloaf Point near Seal Rocks, a quiet fishing village secluded in Myall Lakes National Park. Enjoy a holiday steeped in cultural history, while enjoying expansive ocean views. Inimitable location, nestled under the working lightstation, above pristine ocean beaches. Enjoy dolphins, sea eagles, the annual whale migration ... And nature! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing