We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in Devon”
Review of Lewtrenchard Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lewtrenchard Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lewdown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Atmospheric, secluded and beautiful. The house, its setting and style are perfect for a relaxing and very comfortable stay. The room that we stayed in was large, light and airy with window seats that looked out over the fountain and the gardens. Both breakfast and dinner are a foodies delight - inventive, imaginative and very eatable. The bread is outstanding.

The staff are a delight and it feels as if you own the place and are part of the family.

This was our first visit but it wont be our last - definitely a place for all seasons.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (400)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 400 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

We liked this place very much indeed. Late booking the previous evening secured one of just two rooms available. We arrived just as a wedding party was subsiding, and were quickly shown to our room - Aurelia, a lovely, airy and spacious room with a huge bathroom. We were offered morning tea or a tray in the room - we took the latter. After a relaxing time, down to the bar for drinks and a look at the menu. Dinner was really splendid - sole was excellent as was the grouse - flavoursome and moist, no easy trick with this small game bird. Short selection of wines by the glass - a more extensive choice of bottles including some which are truly 'aspirational'. Very comfortable night in a lovely bed. Breakfast was great - 'nearly' smoked salmon, poached eggs, eggs Benedict with oozy thick hollandaise, good toast and proper coffee. The setting is lovely - a sunken garden and grounds to explore. Friendly staff, not stuffy or overly formal, a wonderful Jacobean house that is used and lived in, not a museum, a warm welcome - all combine to create a very special place top stay. We'll be back when we can.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ColinF6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This was our first visit to Lewtrenchard Manor and we will most definitely return again.
It felt quite special to be staying in such a well maintained and appointed historic house - with a relaxed and friendly atmosphere quite unlike anything one might normally expect to find in an upmarket country house hotel.
It was so interesting just to browse along the paintings and furniture in the corridors, stairways and galleries and so comfortable to sit by the fire in the bar, or at an elegant table for dinner.
Dinner was hugely enjoyable and of an excellent standard - as was breakfast.
Our deluxe room was large and comfortable and despite the very old leaded windows, warm and very quiet.
We enjoyed exploring the gardens and could imagine spending more time relaxing here if the weather had been kinder.
All in all a memorable and excellent stay, to be repeated hopefully soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tot2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This was our third visit to Lewtrenchard Manor and I hope we will be back again. It is such a beautiful old house, it is like staying in a National Trust property. The bedrooms are very comfortable and very quiet with just the sound of the tinkling of the fountain outside. The food is excellent and I particularly enjoyed my Devon turbot with creamy risotto with mushrooms and roast salsify. Sat in the bar for pre-dinner drinks and it was light and bright at that time with the evening sun pouring in and a fire lit, then in the Hall after dinner which felt cosy and relaxing after dark. Breakfast was also very good with delicious pastries.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MyrtleWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in early September. Hidden away in rural Devon it's location is wonderful. It's not cheap but is clearly a special place.. The grounds are really lovely and the staff go out of their way to help. The owners are often there and chat away to you. The room was in the courtyard and unfortunately had gravel outside so you could hear all the early morning deliveries and people walking past which we initially were not happy about at that price but when we pointed it out the hotel went o great e goths to put thing right by giving us a free evening meal. The food overall was amazing although expensive ( for us). Breakfast is a little bit formal and stuffy and more choice of continental could be offered rather than just homemade muesli and yoghurt. Overall a lovely experience. Also very dog friendly which is an added bonus. We would definitely stay again. Also ring direct and negotiate a slightly cheaper price rather than booking through the big agencies online.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Legolander706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at Lewtrenchard Manor recently. We stayed four nights in total. The service of the hotel staff was exceptional. The lovely setting of this Manor makes it even more special. We had a nice time visiting with the owners of the Manor. We spent several evenings in the bar area where we had pleasant conversations. We highly recommend Lewtrenchard Manor. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zimmedl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

As somebody who stays in 150 hotel rooms a year, all over the world, this is possibly the best hotel I have ever stayed in - affording tranquillity and luxury at a sensible price.
There are not enough superlatives in the English language to accurately express how good this hotel is. Lovely setting, beautiful gardens, stunning period property, luxurious room (Aurelia) skilfully combining tradition with modernity. Your taste buds will be assaulted by an array of wonderful delicacies during your stay but what stood out for my wife and me was the unassuming, old fashioned attention to service and detail afforded to each and every guest, led by two hosts who clearly love their work and brilliantly supported by the entire staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewdown
13.6 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,130 reviews
16.9 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,395 reviews
15.9 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
669 reviews
22.1 mi away
Glazebrook House Hotel
Glazebrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Brent
342 reviews
4.6 mi away
Arundell Arms Hotel
Arundell Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lifton
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lewtrenchard Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lewtrenchard Manor

Address: Lewdown, Dartmoor National Park EX20 4PN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Lewdown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lewdown
Price Range: $213 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lewtrenchard Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the hills of Dartmoor, Lewtrenchard Manor offers luxurious accommodation in a magnificent Jacobean house. Views from the glorious gardens stretch far over the parkland, and Dartmoor National Park is almost within walking distance.Delicious fish, beef, pork and game dishes feature on a menu prepared by an award-winning chef. Some of the hotel's fruit, vegetables and herbs are sourced from the kitchen gardens. There is also a tasting menu, where you can try a range of fantastic food.Each room at Lewtrenchard Manor has unique character and charming features. Many have views across the grounds, and all feature a TV, seating area, and en suite bathroom.The family-run hotel is situated in Lewdown, a 20-minute drive from Launceston. Here you can visit the many National Trust properties in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lewtrenchard Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lewtrenchard Manor Hotel Lewdown
Lewtrenchard Manor Okehampton
Lewtrenchard Manor Hotel Okehampton
Lewtrenchard Manor Lewdown, Devon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing