We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay”
Review of Lewtrenchard Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lewtrenchard Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lewdown
Certificate of Excellence
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We originally booked for 2 nights, but because the weather was so good and the hotel so perfect we added another night.
I can't really understand why this hotel is only rated a 3*, as it is immaculate. It doesn't have any additional facilities such as pool, gym etc but apart from that the only improvement would be air conditioning in the bedrooms, but having said that we stayed on one of the hottest weekends this year with a room that caught the sun during the day and it was still bearable at night. Anyway, not sure adding aircon to such a beautiful old manor house would be in keeping. This should be rated 4* and the bedrooms, public areas and beautiful gardens are the equal of many 5* hotels I've stayed in.
We had an upgrade to one of the suites, the Warrington, which was on the first floor across the courtyard with a view to the side across part of the gardens. It was a lovely large room, with very quality furniture and a beautiful kingsize wooden sleigh bed, which was one of the most comfortable hotels beds we've experienced. The bathroom was quite small but immaculate, and the shower over the bath had decent pressure which is often not the case in very old hotels.
All the staff without exception were smart, friendly and efficient, and the Murray family are wonderful hosts. Whilst I have no problem with foreign hotel staff it was refreshing that all the staff were British and local.
The restaurant has 3 AA rosettes, which in my book is a fraction below Michelin 1*. When we arrived we discovered that they had a new chef only 3 months earlier, so having had a similar bad experience with a Welsh hotel last year we approached dinner with a bit of trepidation, as decent food is very important to us. We decided to go the whole hog and try out their "Purple Carrot" dining experience. This costs £80/head or £30 if you are upgrading from a DBB package as we were. For this you get canapés, a glass of champagne and an 8 course tasting menu. A flight of wines can be added for £35 which gives you 5 glass of wine matched to the food. As my wife drinks little we shared a flight. You are also given a tour of the kitchen, introduced to the chef (Matt -really nice bloke, very friendly and informative), then sat in a room next to the kitchen with a marble counter with 3 large TV screens showing all the action in the kitchen. At any time you can get up and wander round to a counter looking in to the kitchen where Matt was more than happy to chat about anything whilst he was cooking. All courses were served personally by Matt who would explain the dish and was happy to talk about the techniques used in preparation. Wine was served by the Murray's son who was very knowledgable and clearly passionate about wine, which was all excellent. The food? It was fantastic, beautifully presented and delicious. Apparently when a restaurant has a change of chef it temporarily retains its AA rating before it is reassessed -I think Matt will easily retain the 3 rosettes. If I had one critisism it would be the same as for all fine dining restaurants that there are never enough veggies with the main course. You don't expect mountains of the stuff but a little bit more than a few tiny but beautifully presented mouthfuls would be appreciated, especially when a lot of it comes from their own kitchen garden. Trouble is I know it doesn't fit with the aesthetics of this quality of food.
Anyway, a bit more than I intended to write (haven't started on te beautiful gardens and area surrounding the hotel) but in summary we will definitely return. And no, I am not a friend or relation of the Murray's!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    42
    11
    1
    4
See reviews for
41
264
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We booked the Purple Carrot, a unique private dining experience which I believe is not available anywhere else in the South-West.

On arrival we were warmly greeted and served a glass of champagne and a selection of delicious canapés in the bar lounge. To our surprise we were taken through to the Purple Carrot via the kitchen, where we met the Head Chef (Matthew Peryer) and his team. Everyone was very friendly and we were encouraged to ask questions and take photographs at any time during the evening.

The Purple Carrot has its own personal WC, and is equipped with three large flat screen TV’s were you can watch the chefs preparing your 8 course tasting menu. A pleasant and cheerful waitress served each course, and Matt accompanied her to explain the dishes. The food was exceptional and temptingly presented. We were unable to pick a favourite course as all were equally superb. The modern menu was very well balanced and each course complemented the other.

This truly was a unique dining experience. Matt, his team, and all the staff at Lewtrenchard Manor deserve the highest praise and success.

Room Tip: Excellent surprise celebration venue/gift for a 'foodie'. Purple Carrot seats up to 8 people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LndCodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed here in June, loved everything about it. The Bedrooms were all individual, furnished with style and elegance. Our Evening Meal was delicious and service was excellent. In fact all of the staff were very pleasant and extremely helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The location is lovely and quiet too. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeechwoodInteriors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivybridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Thank goodness for tripadvisor - I was looking for a place to take my wife to celebrate 10 years of marriage and the place we had got married all those years ago (the Horn of Plenty, nr Gulworthy) was fully booked...for someone else's wedding (fair nuff, hope they had a very good time).
Wanted to find somewhere relatively close by, and this place I'd never heard of before pops up as a high percentage rating. Did a little more research, phoned up for a guide on price and was very taken with the friendly, professional and informative manner of the ladies I spoke with - a good sign already. Easily arranged for some champers to be in the room on arrival and a masseuse session for my good lady wife mid-afternoon.
The manor itself is a splendid pile with an interesting history all of its own, not sprawling but well-sized with 14 rooms in total and some lovely grounds to stroll around in. All the staff were friendly and talkative, especially the owners who were often around and helping out. I had the cheek to ask if I could borrow an iPhone/iPad charger (as I'd forgotten mine) and one of the owners very selflessly lent me her own one overnight - just one example of how well you are looked after and catered for here.
The evening meal was absolutely superb, with each course being a delight to eat and unexpected but very welcome mini-dishes in between the three main ones - I can honestly say that it was one of the very best meals I've ever experienced, and there's a decent set of restaurants close to where we live in and around the South Hams.
Truly, this was a very very pleasant surprise indeed and we will most definitely be returning when the occasion arises again - thank you everyone so much at Lewtrenchard Manor!

Room Tip: We stayed in the St Gertrude room, which is on the far side of the gallery after coming up the stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hellybert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We have been many times to Lewtrenchard manor under the Von Essen banner . Having lived abroad for a few years it was so good to see this lovely old manor returned to its former owners .
The hotel and grounds are looking just great .
We joined a small party of guests for a Spanish food and wine evening .great experience and good to try some very quirky wines ! Food excellent under the new chef.
Breakfast good .cant wait to return

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank neilmaxbartholomew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This beautiful 15th century hotel had a lovely friendly atmosphere and provided an afternoon tea which was a real experience. We were encouraged to have a look around the house before deciding where we would like our tea served. The sandwiches had nice fillings, the cakes all homemade and the scones were still warm. The weather just allowed us to have a quick walk around the grounds and enjoy the views. The price at £17.50 was a reflection on the surroundings, but more than substantial

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare_dc410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Super service. Food excellent. However, ambience a little stilted and formal for our taste. Room (nonnington) needs some tlc. Felt that £7 for a coffee and cold drinking chocolate delivered to our room ( as no facilities ), a bit rich... though sensed most of the clientele were.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Debandmikewhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewdown
13.6 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,068 reviews
16.9 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,261 reviews
8.0 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
494 reviews
7.5 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
311 reviews
18.3 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lewtrenchard Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lewtrenchard Manor

Property: Lewtrenchard Manor
Address: Lewdown, Dartmoor National Park EX20 4PN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Lewdown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lewdown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lewtrenchard Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the hills of Dartmoor, Lewtrenchard Manor offers luxurious accommodation in a magnificent Jacobean house. Views from the glorious gardens stretch far over the parkland, and Dartmoor National Park is almost within walking distance.Delicious fish, beef, pork and game dishes feature on a menu prepared by an award-winning chef. Some of the hotel's fruit, vegetables and herbs are sourced from the kitchen gardens. There is also a tasting menu, where you can try a range of fantastic food.Each room at Lewtrenchard Manor has unique character and charming features. Many have views across the grounds, and all feature a TV, seating area, and en suite bathroom.The family-run hotel is situated in Lewdown, a 20-minute drive from Launceston. Here you can visit the many National Trust properties in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Lewtrenchard Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lewtrenchard Manor Hotel Lewdown
Lewtrenchard Manor Okehampton
Lewtrenchard Manor Hotel Okehampton
Lewtrenchard Manor Lewdown, Devon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing