We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful relaxing peaceful exquisite family hotel”
Review of Lewtrenchard Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lewtrenchard Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lewdown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We arrived at Lewtrenchard around lunchtime on the 20th August 2012 for a 4 night stay in this beautiful historic manor house. The manor house hotel and surrounding gardens are quintessentially English and the location is outstanding.

We were met in the entrance lobby by the resident Jack Russell dog, Spencer. No introductions by Spencer. He just rolled over for a tummy tickle and my girlfriend obliged. After a couple of minutes of fulfilling Spencer's tummy tickling demands, he rolled onto all fours and led us into the reception area where we were politely met by the receptionist.

Our room was a superior double room which was pretty, very clean and has ample room for your clothes. The en suite bathroom is large, modern and charming. There is the option of morning tea/coffee and a paper delivered to your room pre breakfast and the room has a flat screen tv (although you really don't need it on as the surrounding area is so lovely to explore).

The breakfast is delicious with a choice of the Full Lewtrenchard English Breakfast full of local produce (which I had every day), kippers, haddock or porridge and fresh juices. In addition, you help yourself to natural muesli, fresh fruit and yoghurt. You also have a bowl of small fresh pastries, mini muffins and toast. The tea and coffee is very good.

We found ourselves visiting the local attractions such as Dartmoor National Park, Lydford Gorge and the old towns of Okehampton and Tavistock. There are lovely walks to be done and I'd recommend taking some O/S Explorer Maps although the hotel have some. We came back in the late afternoon to Lewtrenchard Manor and ordered tea and scones which we had outside the hotel in the gardens.

The evening meals are very very special. Although they are expensive, you really do get an amazing dinner which I have to say is one of the best gourmet experiences I have ever had. The evening starts off with an aperitif in the drawing room served by the lovely hosts, Sue and James Murray. A waiter serves you delicious entrees whilst you sip your drink and socialise with the other guests and hosts. It's a wonderful evening experience and the icing on the cake for my girlfriend is that Spencer arrives with his dog basket waiting to be fussed over. After dinner, you return to the drawing room for coffee or tea and chocolates. Very civilised.

We had a wonderful time at Lewtrenchard Manor and we will be returning to this restful relaxing paradise in Devon. The staff and owners are professional, respectful and very friendly and I'd highly recommend a visit.

Room Tip: The Courtyard and Gallery Suites are amazing. Managed to have a sneak look and will book them next t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrotterBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Owner at Lewtrenchard Manor, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear TrotterBath,

Thank you for the great review, we will have to thank Alistair Sawday for sending you our way. We hope to see you again in the future.

The Murrays

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (409)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

377 - 383 of 409 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2012

A lovely weekend at Lewtrenchard Manor. Amazing service, wonderful food, beautiful surroundings. Sue and James Murray made us feel so welcome with just the right amount of personal attention. We commented that Spencer the dog wasn't there and James left the room and returned with Spencer in his basket! Requests for maps, walking advice, breakfast in the room and an impromptu chat with the wedding advisor all met with a smile and nothing too much trouble attitude. The hotel is beautiful, old, creaky and quirky. The food is to die for, including fabulous breakfasts. We had a great weekend , thank you to the Murrays - we'll see you again soon!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daisydh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Owner at Lewtrenchard Manor, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear daisydh,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review, we all (including Spencer) look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

The Murrays

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Took my fiancée there as a surprise on her birthday. We found the staff to be welcoming and professional and our room was great. The manor house is steeped in history and great for a relaxing break. The grounds are beautiful and well kept. The food here is absolutely superb. We have eaten at many of Devons top restaurants, including Michael Caines and Gidleigh but the food at Lewtrenchard was at least as good as these more expensive establishments. To sum up, great accommodation, superb food, beautiful location. We will be back

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Owner at Lewtrenchard Manor, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Dear Peter M,

Its great that you enjoyed your stay, it was wonderful to meet you and your fiancée. The surname coincidence was interesting but I now have it all worked out.

Hope to see you again soon,

The Murrays

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We had been to Lewtrenchard several times for a meal and various 1 day courses when it was part of the Von Essen group, but had never stayed the night. We rectified that this weekend when we stayed on a fabulous deal which included a superb meal and a night in the St.Gertrude suite. The original owners, The Murrays, have come back to Lewtrenchard and are welcoming and very knowledgeable about the house, and the standard of the dinner we enjoyed under the head chef John Hooker, is well worthy of a Michelin star - outstanding. We shall be back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Owner at Lewtrenchard Manor, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Dear Sue G,

It was great to have you not only return to the hotel, but enjoy your stay as well. We also look forward to your return towards the end of November, if not before.

Best Wishes

The Murrays

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My husband and I have just come back from a very peaceful get-away to Lewtrenchard Manor. To be honest we wanted to find somewhere nearer the sea to do some coastal walks but at very late notice this was what we found available. This quirky ancient manor was unusually peaceful and very well run. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and the food both at breakfast and at dinner was first class. We think they are not far off Michelin star quality for taste, presentation and attention. The immediate area did not provide great walks, but there are lovely walking areas a short drive away and the Lydford Gorge was extraordinary. For an antidote to city life, this hotel was just what the doctor ordered.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turnipnoturnip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Owner at Lewtrenchard Manor, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Dear turnipnoturnip,

Many thanks for you post, we do pride ourselves on being a little oasis of tranquillity. However despite this we are very well placed for reaching all of Devon and most of Cornwall with just 1-1½ hours drive.

We hope to welcome you back soon,

The Murrays

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Had a great time there food was Exellent very comfortable really enjoyable time would have been nice to have stayed over lovely old house will do next time greeted on arrival very nice will be returning sometime

Room Tip: Didn't stay the night but it was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cafejane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Owner at Lewtrenchard Manor, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Dear Cafejane,

We are very happy you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Regards

The Murrays

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We had stayed at Lewtrenchard when it was run by Von Essen, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the St Gertrude suite, particularly liking the lack of mobile signal which enabled us to rest! When we decided to have a 10 day "getting away from it all" we immediately thought of returning to Lewtrenchard and found it even better than before in terms of the warmth of the welcome from the Murrays, concern for our comfort, welcome for our labrador (especially from Spencer, who is becoming a real hotelier!) and outstanding food by John Hooker and his team. Nothing was too much trouble and it really did feel like staying in a most beautiful home (which of course it is). Others have commented that certain areas of the hotel are a little "tired" and I would agree with that - but so do the Murray's so I am sure that is in hand. We had a fabulous evening at The Purple Carrot and are hoping to book that again for later in the year (it is worth a 400 mile round trip). I would recommend the St Gertrude suite, The Prince Rupert (which is almost suite-sized with a huge bathroom) and the St Clements suite, but all the rooms are characterful, with the public areas being either Jacobean or Victorian Jacobean! The house has an interesting history which is well worth finding out - and the gardens have very pretty walks so it is possible to stay around the hotel very happily for a few days. The countryside is wonderful around Lewtrenchard, with the majesty of Dartmoor immediately to hand, the coast very close - one hour to Padstow, half an hour to Lanhydrock, Dartmouth, Totnes and closer to hand Ashburton and Tavistock. All well worth visiting with interesting and quirky shops. We will certainly be returning to Lewtrenchard Manor many times I am sure.

Room Tip: I would recommend the St Gertrude suite, The Prince Rupert (which is almost suite-sized with a huge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Owner at Lewtrenchard Manor, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Dear Catherine C,

Thank you for your lovely review. It was fantastic to have you here and we are glad you were able to relax during your stay. We hope to see you the next time you need to get away from it all.

Best Wishes

The Murrays

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewdown
13.6 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,165 reviews
16.9 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,439 reviews
22.1 mi away
Glazebrook House Hotel
Glazebrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Brent
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
678 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Endsleigh
Hotel Endsleigh
#1 of 1 in Milton Abbot
472 reviews
15.9 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lewtrenchard Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lewtrenchard Manor

Address: Lewdown, Dartmoor National Park EX20 4PN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Lewdown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lewdown
Price Range: $203 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lewtrenchard Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the hills of Dartmoor, Lewtrenchard Manor offers luxurious accommodation in a magnificent Jacobean house. Views from the glorious gardens stretch far over the parkland, and Dartmoor National Park is almost within walking distance.Delicious fish, beef, pork and game dishes feature on a menu prepared by an award-winning chef. Some of the hotel's fruit, vegetables and herbs are sourced from the kitchen gardens. There is also a tasting menu, where you can try a range of fantastic food.Each room at Lewtrenchard Manor has unique character and charming features. Many have views across the grounds, and all feature a TV, seating area, and en suite bathroom.The family-run hotel is situated in Lewdown, a 20-minute drive from Launceston. Here you can visit the many National Trust properties in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lewtrenchard Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lewtrenchard Manor Hotel Lewdown
Lewtrenchard Manor Okehampton
Lewtrenchard Manor Hotel Okehampton
Lewtrenchard Manor Lewdown, Devon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing