We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lobhill Farmhouse - superb”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lobhill Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Lewdown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2011

we stayed one night at Lobhill en route to Cornwall, and arrived (very late) after an extremely long drive down from Cheshire with two small children. Despite the 8pm arrival, Jane was extremely welcoming and had freshly made biscuits out of the oven soon after we'd got there (which our 4 year old appreciated!). Jane is an excellent host - helpful without being overbearing, with nothing being too much trouble. The farmhouse is beautiful, in a gorgeous spot and tastefully decorated - it was a shame it was raining the next day as we would have loved to have explored the grounds, woods and streams (Jane helpfully provides a little map in the room showing different paths which link up to her parents' farmhouse - the grounds of which you are also welcome to explore). The only slight downside was that the room above had quite a creaky floor when walked on - not really a problem for most people, but with two young children we were all in bed for around 9pm, and had to wait for the creaks to stop before we dropped off (but I am a fussy sleeper anyway!). In short - it's a lovely place, great welcome, good food - we only wished we'd had longer than one night.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cescacheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 121 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2011

How fantastic to find a b&b that looks perfect the second you arrive and then lives up to to the apperance. Beautiful setting, most charming 'mine host' etc. B&Bs don't get any better than this. Perfect location as well. Don't be put off by the map:- it looks to be in the middle of a maze of roads, but is 100yds off the old A30 that runs straight through the middle of them. Minutes off the New A30 dual carriageway.
Enjoy.
(45 mins to Eden Project)

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Loved the place. We stayed at the Stable with our 8 month old. Cottage was very comfortable and roomy. The place has great views and Jane is lovely. 100% recommended.

Room Tip: Try the cottage :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diyavenkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We stayed at Lobhill with the children for 2 nights.It's clean and very spacious.The garden is fantastic - with the lovely summerhouse and walks through the woods.The children loved the secret passages!Jayne's hospitality is second to none and the cooked breakfast was delicious.Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Very friendly and amenable host. Accommodation is spotless clean and thoughtfully decorated. Wonderful countryside views. Lovely Farmhouse with beautifully kept garden. Delicious breakfasts.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Excellent spacious accommodation.
The rooms are spotless, with many nice touches such as a welcoming home made biscuits on your arrival.
A walk around the woods in the grounds is a great way to work up an appetite for the hearty breakfast, which is cooked in front of you and served on a traditional farmhouse kitchen table.
Please don’t tell too many people, as I want to come again soon!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Stayed here with my children they adored this place, set in beautiful grounds and snuggled into the borders of Dartmoor. Had a lovely stay and didn't want to leave. The owner is absolutely lovely and very made us all feel very welcome. I cannot rate this any higher as 11/10. Highly recommended. Thank you

Room Tip: All rooms were fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lobhill Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lobhill Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast

Address: Lobhill Farm Lobhill Cross | Nr Dartmoor, Lewdown, Dartmoor National Park EX20 4DT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Lewdown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lewdown
Price Range: $98 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lobhill Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run bed and breakfast, Lobhill Farmhouse offers a warm welcome, quality accommodation and a relaxed and peaceful stay in a stunning location. Situated in the Lew valley this beautiful farmhouse is perfectly located for visiting Devon and Cornwall. Both the rugged north coast and the gentle south coast are easily accessible and glorious Dartmoor is just three miles away.Breakfast is served in the large farmhouse kitchen with a choice of an Aga cooked Full English Breakfast or a lighter option. All ingredients are locally sourced with the eggs being laid just metres away by the hens in the family’s newly planted vineyard. Special dietary requirements can be catered for. Visitors are welcome to enjoy the large garden and relax in the summer house or wander through the woodland, with views of the vineyard and walk further on to the lakeside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Lobhill Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lobhill Farmhouse Bed And Breakfast Lewdown, Devon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing