We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of East Raddon B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lewdown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
East Raddon B&B
Ranked #2 of 2 Lewdown B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 5, 2011

We were made to feel welcome from the minute we pulled onto the drive. Lovely homemade cakes and tea on arrival was a lovely touch. The bedroom and bathroom are very spacious and the bed very comfortable. If you enjoy lovely views and good home comfort this is an ideal place to stay. Lovely breakfast. Sylvia is a fantastic host, she even gave us a lift to the restaurant. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 27 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2011

An incredibly friendly and welcoming host and family who couldn't do enough for us and sought to provide everything we could need. There were so many extra touches such as a cream tea on arrival plus fruit and home made shortbread in the room that we were totally spoilt. The room was very spacious, traditionally and tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. The quiet location enabled a wonderful night's sleep which was followed by a very high quality and delicious breakfast - with further home made and local specialities. As it was my birthday, I was also given a couple of little extras and made to feel very special. Would definitely visit again, a real home from home.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rebecca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We had a wonderful warm reception when we arrived, great place, a real Devon farm, with all the animals. Excellent home cooked meals and honest, genuine loving family. Great place to stay, wonderful accommodation. Would definetly recommend it for all country side lovers. A bit out in the sticks, but well worth the trip.

Philomena Hunt

Room Tip: The double room has its own onsuite and has all the little extras, great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philomena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We stayed at East Raddon for 2 nights while in Devon to attend a wedding. Sylvia is such a lovely lady - we had a very warm welcome, with homemade Devonshire cream tea and cake. Our room was lovely - very quaint, VERY comfortable bed, and a lovely large bathroom. Everything was beautifully maintained and spotlessly clean.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helena73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Sylvia is a genuine lovely host, offering a home from home service. We felt it was like visiting a friend. She made us very welcome during the stay, even offering to drive us to our venue for the evening. Easy to follow directions, lovely views, warm & comfortable bedroom with lovely homely touches-like slippers! Would love to visit again. The children were just as welcoming and friendly, even finding 'the eggs'! Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Local19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2011

Sylvia provided us with a truly friendly welcome for our 2 night stay at East Raddon Farm. A lovely countryside setting with super views and quiet surroundings. We opted to eat in and were not disappointed. Delicious home cooking exceeded our expectations. This is a working farm so don't be put off by the initial impression gained when first arriving. Our room was large and comfortable with a fully modernised en-suite bathroom, plenty of hot water and a powered shower over the bath.
Sylvia is very knowledgeable about the local area and it's history with plenty of ideas on what to see and do. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay which was excellent value to boot.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 'large with ensuite'
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Review45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2011

We stayed for 1 night for a wedding 1/2 mile away. The family was very welcoming and warm- with tea and cakes on arrival! Charming children (but quiet too for those worried about such things!) living the country life. It's beautifully positioned with misty hills surrounding and only a short distance from Dartmoor. Breakfast was really excellent- high quality butcher's bacon and saussies- eggs from the their own hens which cluck around your car and the house. The bedroom was large and pleasant and clean- as was the bathroom with a strong shower. Comfortable bed.
This is a working farm - you can go see the animals including pigs and cows and geese and ducks, as well as a bit of mud here and there and the otherwise lovely views includes functional aspects of the farm. Otherwise doesn't intrude- it's a small farm with no dairy so it's very quiet.
It's an extremely quiet lane off an extremely quiet country road so if you want peace and quiet- this is the place for you! a great place for young children who could happily play outside even on the road which is a dead end (assume there must be a house at the end of it!).
We'd like to go back with our 3 yound kids so they can experience farm life and we can have an inexpensive hols near the moor.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tayldn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to East Raddon B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Raddon B&B

Address: | Lewtrenchard, Lewdown, Dartmoor National Park EX20 4PW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Lewdown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lewdown
Price Range: $45 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional working farm close to lewtrenchard manor offer bed and breakfast in a very spacious double ensuite we welcome you with homemade cakes and use locally sourced ingredients at breakfast. Ideal for visiting Lyford ,Tavistock, walking two castle trail or the granite way. National trust properties and Roadford lake You will be most welcome. . ... more   less 
Also Known As:
East Raddon B&B Lewdown, Devon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing