We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleeping on the hay; a unique experience”
Review of La Casa di Matiki

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Zminj
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Casa di Matiki
Ranked #1 of 1 Zminj B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We slept at La Casa di Matiki for two nights this July. Sonia, the friendly hostess, provides the possibility to sleep 'on hay'. This room is situated a 10 min walk from the actual B&B, next to the donkey and sheep fields, and is part of the hay barn. The room is charmingly decorated, giving it the true farmers experience. There is no electricity, you'll be provided with a torch. The combination of the luxury of the B&B and the 'back to nature' feeling of sleeping on hay was a perfect one. It is a truly unique experience to be wakened by the donkeys and natural daylight. If you are in for an adventure you'll will never forget; try the sleeping on hay experience. A perfect way to suprise your girlfriend!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 283 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

La Casa di Matiki is a family run agrotourism, which offers authentic Istrian experience, including a farm (goats, chicken, lavander, olives), hay-sleeping, home-made breakfast, but also the conveniences of modern life, as pool and wi-fi. The location is perfect for exploring Istria (in the middle of the pennisula, near the main roads) and the accomodation is spacious with tasteful furnishing. The casa is perfect for both families with kids (who can get involved in farm activities), as well as for couples out for a romantic stay. My wife and I spent several evenings here laying on a roman-style hanging bad by the pool under starry sky, with chilled Malvazija wine, olive trees and chirping crickets as the only company :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ike1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed at Casa di Matiki for three nights in July. We chose it because of the great reviews here. The pool was very clean and decent-sized for our children to play in. It was neat to see the donkeys and sheep and place where they keep bees (far from the Inn). We had breakfast one day, and it was a bit of a disappointment. Just bread and jam and eggs, and the portions were not very generous, particularly for 9 Euros a person (other places in Croatia and Slovenia generally also offered cereal, yoghurt, meat, and cheese for breakfast, in addition to bread and eggs). We were traveling with two small children (aged 4 and 6) and this was the only place that charged for the children (half price), so the breakfast ended up being quite expensive for bread and jam and maybe 4 scrambled eggs. Also, the Inn is very close to a fairly busy road to Pula, so there is a fair amount of road noise, particularly in the morning. We didn't have running water one evening, and the hosts didn't seem particularly surprised or concerned, and it did come back later that night so no big deal, but I wondered if this might not be as unusual as they said it was.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonjaKrivicic, Owner at La Casa di Matiki, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Dear Rebecca,

It's regretable that your experience in La Casa di Matiki wasn't as
great as you expected.
Since we work hard to provide the best stay for our guests, I have to
adress the following statements from your review:
- The price of our breakfast is 7 EUR and not 9 EUR, as written in
the review. We have had this price for 10 years now and don't want to
increase it, since we want to provide the best value-for-money for our
guests.
- We are proud to offer our guests only the food that is produced on
our farm. This way, we can guarantee that the food is 100% organic and
of the highest quality. We do not produce cereals and therefore this
is not part of our breakfast menu.
- The information on location of La Casa di Matiki is freely available
to everyone. We are located near a road, which makes it easy to access
all other interesting places in Istria. However, this road is not
"fairly busy", as written in your review, and there is no "fair amount
of noise". All our guests and TripAdvisor reviwers agree on this.
- A short interuption in running water, which you refer to, was indeed
a very rare situation.

La Casa di Matiki wishes you all the best in your future journeys.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Easy to find. Clean!. Modern if you want, or rustic if that's your taste (Can sleep in self catering rooms on normal beds or on hay!). The owner, Sonja, is very helpful and friendly with a great passion for her B+B. Plum and olive trees, play area, vegetable garden, sparkling pool, chickens, neighbouring field owned by Sonja(with sheep and donkeys) make it very kid friendly.

We were a family of four that stayed in a 4 bed room. It was perfect for us as the kitchen was fully equipped to make our own meals (baby food etc). Sonja was also able to provide us with a lovely crib for our 9 month old.

The breakfast is great with fresh coffee, freshly baked bread, home made marmalades, freshly laid eggs etc etc....we even had honey from a local beekeeper (next door) that was taken from the hive that morning! We had breakfast only once, as we found it was more convenient for our kids to have their usual breakfasts that we could make for them in the room.

Highly recommended for families and for couples alike!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ahmad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonjaKrivicic, Owner at La Casa di Matiki, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Dear Ahmad A.

Thanks for your kind words! It means the world to us to know that our guests have had pleasent stay at La Casa di Matiki. Hope to see you and your family again.

Best regards
Sonja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

It's always about expectations. Our expectations for one B&B were not only achieved but they were exceeded on great scale. Yes it is in central Istria, it is relatively small and cosy but that is the whole point. We took "Lavanda" apartment and it is superb choice. Designed and built like old Istrian house or if you wish Mediterranean house, with beautiful old wood details and great surrounding lavender garden. Inside you get small living room with fireplace, nice kitchen, bedroom and bathroom. Every detail from soap in bathroom to baskets filled with wood for fireplace are giving that old-sentimental-rustic feeling that is perfectly chosen and planned. Bedroom is romantic cosy place with a fireplace view if doors are opened. Also you get superb cleanliness and very well maintained accommodation. Mrs Sonja is very hospitable and kind lady who prepared breakfast for us next morning. And what do you get? Her homemade jam with freshly baked and hot bread straight from the oven. After that eggs with sage from her garden and espreso from moka. Wow! That was it. No need for fancy coffe machines or dreadful croissants baked and transported from some city bakery. This is what we expect from B&B and in this case you can really feel how much money, energy and above all - love and emotions has been invested into this. And that's is what is all about - emotions. We will come back again for sure. We've found what we were looking for.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nickyblueeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonjaKrivicic, Owner at La Casa di Matiki, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Dear Nickyblueeye,

I'm so happy that our efforts around La Casa di Matiki have been recognized in the way we intended it. What you so nicely described in your review is exactly what we want to offer to our guests.

We want to become even better in communicating our concept and aligning the expectations with our future guests, so that we all get the best experience out of it.

Kind regards
Sonja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Casa Matiki was a perfect place to rest, and enjoy Istria. We spent few days there with our 2 year old little boy, enjoying the company of sheep and donkeys! The apartment was very well furnished, with great taste. Breakfasts are perfect, all with homemade treats.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CTratar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

If you want to get away from everyday problems, hustle and city life. If you need to get close to the nature, to the life as it once was. If you need to forget about hurry, and take the ride on the slow and easy side of life, then Casa Matiki is just the place for you!
Weather you choose the charming and lovely studios and apartments, or the stylish and refined Casa Lavanda, you will stay in a perfectly thought through, spotless and clean rooms, with a sense of mixed summer retreat and country farm house.
All the property is full of flowers, ravishing smells and sights that will rest your "city" worn out eyes.
And when you step into Sonja's dinning and living room you will be welcomed as if you are a dear family member, not just a guest.
For couples, for romantic getaways, for families with children of all ages to enjoy and get friends with all the lovely animals at the farm (donkeys, lambs, and most of all three dogs Tiffany, Pako and Obama), for friends exploring wonderful and full of tastes Istria, you will find your cup of thee in Casa Lavanda.
Don't forget to buy some of homemade jams (orange, strawberry/pepper and peach/lavanda are my personal favourites) to take home with you, to get you back to this place of peace, serenity and hedonism.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bojana4bgd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonjaKrivicic, Owner at La Casa di Matiki, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear Bojana4bgd,

:) Thank you so much. I work hard to create that kind of experience for my guests and it is wonderful to hear you say that about it! Thank you!

Sonja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zminj
13.1 mi away
Hotel Monte Mulini
Hotel Monte Mulini
#1 of 23 in Rovinj
826 reviews
20.5 mi away
Park Plaza Histria Pula
13.1 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#2 of 23 in Rovinj
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Island Hotel Istra
Island Hotel Istra
#5 of 23 in Rovinj
1,038 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Stefanija
12.2 mi away
Casa Alice
Casa Alice
#1 of 49 in Rovinj
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa di Matiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa di Matiki

Address: Matiki 14, Zminj 52341, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Zminj
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Zminj
Price Range: $10 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Casa di Matiki Bed and Breakfast, located in the Heart of Istria, is an Oasis of Peace and Tranquility for you and your family. We are 20 minutes by car to the picturesque seaside town of Rovinj, 30 minutes to Pula, 1 hour to Rijeka. A 200 year old Istrian farmhouse has been passionately restored with respect and love for traditional Istrian style. Seven uniquely designed apartments each with modern facilities and appliances can accommodate our guests. The natural environment offers a relaxing farm holiday for families or those who enjoy the simple pleasures of blue sky, sunshine, farm animals, a dip in the pool and freshly made homemade breads, cakes and marmalades. Outside stone grill for barbequing is also available. Room rentals are available from 40-155€, depending on the season and room type. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing