We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Quinta do Lorde Resort, Hotel & Marina
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Canical
Certificate of Excellence
Bergen, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Visited Quinta do Lorde in January 2014. The hotel seemed overstaffed as there were more staff in the restaurant than people, and the dinner was not good. We tried the buffet and "everything" had a bunch of tomato sauce on it and tasted rather bad. But the breakfast was rather good.
The hotel was remotely located which had both it's advantages and disadvantages. We were dependent on a car (either by rental or taxi) to get to any nearby city, but on the other hand one were away from the noise in the city. The hotel is also located directly below the route for landing on Madeira Airport which did contribute to some noise.
The staff was very polite and the rooms were lovely, so all in all a very nice hotel even though it had some disadvantages here and there.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SimenAske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    189
    77
    29
    8
See reviews for
87
327
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eeklo, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I first stayed at the hotel June 13, and wrote the following:
The hotel is a the most quiet place of the island....Caniçal. The envirement, the wonderful scenery, totally on the Atlantic Ocean is breath taking. Every room is super new, and modern.
All you can wish is there. The hotel is even worth SIX stars, if it wasn´t for the food.
As said the resort is the most beautiful I have ever seen. Well organized architecture, extremely well thought.....it couldn´t be better. Service, cleaning, kindness of personel, beautiful rooms, all comfort, large rooms, great architectural design....you name it...if it was me...SIX STAR !
When it comes to the food...the food isn´t bad AT ALL. It´s just to «ENGLISH».

A couple of friends went over there last month, and told me they paied a lot of attentiojn to the food because of my remarc. They let me know I was totally mistaken, and that the food wasn't poor as I lately wrote.
The month of June, during my stay, the Manager told me, and even promised me they were working on the chefs, preparing a totally different offer on the "all-inn presentation" of the food.
Most likely the Manager kept his promise, and did it. I have to admit that it was the only item that kept to make Quinta do Lorde a FULL FIVE star +
I'm anxious to return soon, and I'm sure I will spent a week in the hotel of my choice....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Froanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This was a very nice room in a resort area. This is a new complex at the far end of the island. The room was very nice with nice view of the marina. The hotel was modern and up to date. There were 3 different pools and several restaurants. We were there about a week ago and there were not very many people around. To stay here you really need a car because you are away from everything on the island of Madeira.

The staff was ok, but not overly friendly. We booked the room on Agoda and inadvertently booked it for one person not two. The staff called and insisted that we come to take care of this. We went to the front desk and they wanted another 70E per night. We felt this was too much, they lowered it to and additional 50E per night. You could tell that they thought we tried to pull a fast one...but it was an honest mistake.

We do recommend this hotel and complex. Our only complaint, the AC did not work very well, did not cool the room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Colleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braga, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This resort is really close to Ponta de S. Lourenço (wich is a must-see to any traveler to Madeira). The complex has all the modern facilities, The architecture of the buildings is inspired in the tradicional portuguese style, so it does blend well with the neighbourhood. It has a private beach, with dark vulcanic rocks, and next to it a swimming pool close to the sea.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luís C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This review is NOT about the hotel but is about the marina en-location and part of the complex.
Despite the marina (and resort) being at the far eastern end of the island and well away from shops and nightlife this location is superb! To overcome the remote location the marina offer a free shuttle to the nearest town with supermarkets and other facilities you would expect of a typical resort town. There is a regular bus service to the capital, Funchal every hour too.

The staff have a reputation for being really helpful and friendly - this is really well deserved. Also on the marina is a cafe and restaurant.
Every morning fresh bread is also available on site too.
Just one little negative (which becoming as important as electricity in the modern day) the internet is REALLY bad unfortunately - such a shame for an otherwise perfect marina.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SYTimeless W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This is a great looking hotel spread over a hill and running down to the sea. The suite we had overlooked the marina and gave us what we wanted in space. Being new good standard of décor and reasonably well finished.
Food was good with breakfast being pick of the day, the buffet lunch and dinner were somewhat samey in content. Being a holiday resort we were slightly surprised that men had to wear long trousers and shoes for dinner,this was apparently a new rule brought in the day after we had arrived, but by the end of the week the rule seemed to partially disappeared.
The staff were great and very attentive.
Three pools and well maintained but cold! The sea water pool area was the most well populated with plenty of sunbeds but beware its on probably the windiest corner of the island and sometimes the parasols fly.
No real downside, you forget the airport flight path after the first day!

Room Tip: Over looking the marina gives great views first thing in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Snorbins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Funchal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Hello everyone !

I am here writing to you in order to give you the true picture of what Quinta do Lorde is about . I am gobsmacked with some really poor comments , stating minor and small situations that can happen in any resort in the world and not giving any credits to the whole positive and unique points.
Quinta do Lorde was born a few months ago and is in a growing process in what management is about . Saying that , is showing already signs of high professionalism and commitment , which is a very good achievement for the time being .

I have been , during my 50 years of my life , in many hotels , resorts all over the world , some of them were just excellent as well . But , after getting the full picture of what has been offered here to me and my wife , I just can say that I surrender . Besides the class and construction of the coloured infrastructures , gardens , swimming pools ( one has sea water and is levelled at sea bed , amazing ) , bars , restaurants , marina , etc , there is a huge and important factor to add which is the nature that this resort is engulf . There is no question , this is simply one of most amazing displays of variate scenarios , from sea amazing views to amazing and unique cliff views . The sea water today 5/10/2013 is at 23 Celsius and water crystal clear and shows more like a lake than an open ocean . The food is very good , wines very good , has a maderian beer , called Coral ( a must for beer experts ) . The piece you can achieve here is outstanding , you got to feel the experience . Mind you , you are located in a unique spot in the world , no questions ask. There is something I just want to add , if is the case , that you would like to do something and is not stated on the offers they will make shure will happen . The managers and the team are very polite and you can rely on them for any issue or doubt that you eventually come across .

Finally I want to congratulate Qunta do Lorde and is staff and we wish good luck

and success !

Joao Soares & Luisa Figueira ( 5/10/2013 )

Room Tip: ... sea views !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joao S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canical
14.9 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
6.2 mi away
Vila Gale Santa Cruz
Vila Gale Santa Cruz
#2 of 5 in Santa Cruz
1,024 reviews
26.8 mi away
Savoy Saccharum
Savoy Saccharum
#1 of 8 in Calheta
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club
14.5 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 86 in Funchal
2,852 reviews
9.8 mi away
Quinta Splendida
Quinta Splendida
#3 of 13 in Canico
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta do Lorde Resort, Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta do Lorde Resort, Hotel & Marina

Property: Quinta do Lorde Resort, Hotel & Marina
Address: Sitio da Piedade, Canical, Madeira 9200-044, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Canical
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Canical
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta do Lorde Resort, Hotel & Marina 5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Linking nature and the human spirit, the Quinta do Lorde Resort Marina emerges from the crystalline ocean waters of the Pearl of the Atlantic, Madeira Island. Quality, well-being, luxury and tranquility are the main characteristics of Quinta do Lorde, which invites you to visit and enjoy unforgettable moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Prestigia, HRS, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quinta do Lorde Resort, Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing