We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We simply could not have loved our stay more - absolute perfection!”
Review of Koromakawa Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ono Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Koromakawa Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ono Island
Reviewed September 20, 2009

Like the first reviewer of Koromakawa, we are afraid to post a glowing review simply because we never want to find this place booked should we return (they only host one party at a time). We stayed with Karin and Spencer in their beautiful resort for a week, and it flew by. We found ourselves at our next resort wishing we were back with them. The second resort was a very lovely place, but we agreed that no resort could match Koromakawa's accommodations, food, company, location and staff.

I will say that we had our reservations. We booked Koromakawa for our honeymoon, and the lack of reviews on TripAdvisor gave us pause, especially since you pay in advance via wire transfer. Our fears were as follows:

1) It was a scam, and we'd never see our money again.
2) No one would pick us up at the airport and we'd be stranded on some remote island.
3) The accommodations would be too rustic, or dirty, and we'd have no other resort on the island to switch to.
4) The food would be bad or mediocre (we are big foodies).

In the end, we needn't have worried about any of the above, and in fact Koromakawa exceeded our best expectations in terms of the rooms, food and service.

We arrived via the Twin Otter at Kandavu, an airport in the narrowest sense of the word, as it is just a landing strip and small building. Spencer was there with a staff member to pick up our bags and immediately take us to their waiting boat, where we were offered fresh delicious fruit, beer, water, and our beloved Diet Coke, which they had specially ordered for us. I should note that in advance of coming out, Spencer and Karin sent us a questionnaire asking us to be as specific as possible about the food, drink and activities we'd enjoy, so even though Diet Coke (or Coke Light, as they have there), is difficult to come by in that neck of the woods, they were more than prepared. (Karin even packed us a picnic lunch one day and specifically marked my fiance's salad as the one without onions, since I like them and he doesn't -- they really do tailor your meals to suit your preferences).

The boat ride from the airport to the resort is a bit over an hour through beautiful blue waters with an amazing view of the islands along the way. Spencer has lived an amazing life, and he is a friendly and engaging conversationalist, so we could just relax back, look at the scenery, be jet-lagged and have him entertain us. When we pulled up to Ono Island, we were absolutely overwhelmed ... an amazing private beach, the most beautifully laid out resort, and a row of staff in Fijian garb stood in a row on the beach, singing a Fijian welcome song. We hopped off the boat, our luggage was taken to our bure (house), and we were seated at a lovely table on the beach and given tasty appetizers and coconut juice straight from the coconut. After a brief chat with Karin, we headed to our bure. The entire resort is so beautifully situated that we stared for a bit ... very Swiss Family Robinson, with wooden pathways built into the sloping landscape, connecting their bure on one end, to the beach, and to our bure on the other end. Upon entering, we found that they had crafted a sign with our names on it attached to the front door, so we felt immediately as if it was truly our home.

Inside the bure, it was beautifully decorated, very Fijian, but still with all the modern comforts, and immaculately clean. There is a front sitting room (you can take your meals here, or on the deck), a small fridge with all our favorite drinks, and even a cookie jar that they stored fresh-baked cookies in throughout our stay. The bedroom we used (there are two) was likewise completely lovely, with a view out to our patio and small pool, as well as to the gorgeous beach below. The bathroom was large with two sinks, and all the modern conveniences. We were very thankful for the American outlets as well.

After settling in, we were brought over to Karin and Spencer's bure, which is gorgeous (Karin has quite an eye for decorating, and used to be a professional florist, so she uses the local flowers to great effect in presentation and decoration), for a traditional kava (traditional drink) ceremony presented by some staff and local villagers. Everyone was friendly and engaging. We had an amazing dinner (Ita and Karo cook, and everything is meticulously overseen by Karin) with Karin and Spencer, with lots of wine and great conversation. We went to bed completely blissful.

We are late sleepers, which means we usually miss breakfast time at whatever hotel we stay at, but that's not an issue at Koromakawa. They simply ask you when you'd like to eat, and there it is. Quite a luxury. We had breakfast on our patio overlooking the beach (and the presentation is always perfect), after sipping champagne poolside all morning and glorying in the fantastic surroundings. The same goes for the activities ... rather than have to fit your schedule around assigned times for an activity like at other resorts, you simply discuss what you'd like to do that day with Karin and Spencer, and when, and they and their staff make it happen.

My fiance had never been snorkeling before, and is not a strong swimmer. This might have been a problem at another resort, where they can dump you in the water with 20 other people without real chaperoning. Not the case here. They took us to several wonderful snorkeling sites where we never saw another tourist, and we were constantly guided and supported by the staff there, who were with us every step of the way, and very patient. The fish and coral are amazing, and Johnny, one of the Fijian staff, was terrific at finding beautiful shells for us, diving down to bring them up to us at the surface. Johnny also has a great eye and pointed out fish and other oceanlife that we never would have spotted on our own. If you have an underwater camera, it's a great idea to bring one (we were, unfortunately, not so forward-thinking).

Speaking of shells, we walked up the beach one day and found so many amazing, and huge shells, we couldn't believe it. When we went to our second resort, we were reminded of what a rarity this is, because many other resorts are picked over. We saw shells similar to the ones we found on Koromakawa being sold for $20-$30 elsewhere!

We also did a kayak ride (also with a staff member to guide us) to a village on the other side of the island, where Spencer knows the residents. It was great to see a Fijian village, to visit the school, and to see a traditional Fijian bure. We walked through the mangroves back to Koromakawa and our guide showed us the different vegetation, and told us how it is used by Fijians to this day to treat a variety of maladies. We never lacked activities, but always knew that if we simply wanted to laze around by our pool, or in the soft comfy hammocks on the beach, we could do that as well all day long, with people checking in on us in case we were hungry or needed a drink.

Back to Karin and Spencer: we thought that perhaps we'd just have the first day's dinner with them, because we're somewhat on-our-own kind of people. At the end of the visit, we realized we had eaten dinner with them 5 times by our own request! This is a tribute to what welcoming hosts they were ... they are incredibly interesting people, and so warm and welcoming that we found ourselves wanting to share our meal and conversation. Spencer in particular was great in indulging my fiance by answering all of his questions about building the resort, the wind farm they installed, the solar energy they employ, and their burgeoning garden. They are can-do people, and are always thinking of ways to improve the grounds and the facilities (which, to our eyes, are not in need of a single improvement!). Ask to see the pictures of the tent they stayed in for four months while they were working with local Fijians in building the resort ... talk about an active retirement! They use a great deal of local produce and fish, and the result is interesting and delicious food you'd pay an arm and a leg for State-side, but they can also provide just about any kind of cuisine you've requested.

I should also mention that, unbeknownst to us at the time we were making our plans (we'd never been to Fiji before), the Kandavu strip of islands (of which Ono Island is a part) is apparently not the big tourist area that the Yasawas or Taveuni apparently are. More than one Fijian we met while on other islands expressed surprise and delight that we had been to Kandavu, because it is so untouched and more of the "real Fiji" in their eyes. Seeing the wild and unspoiled area around Koromakawa, it is clear that the Kandavu province is a special place, not only for the availability of shells and lack of other tourists, but also for the great fishing (I "caught" a big grouper while we were on the boat, with no effort at all). I have already told my parents that when they travel to that part of the world, there is no reason to stay anywhere else.

In the end, we dream about coming back, maybe with our future children. It would be a wonderful place to bring a family. Karin and Spencer: if you are reading this, we say "Bula!" and thanks so much for giving us the ideal start to our honeymoon!

TRAVEL TIPS: 1) They will do your laundry, which was a terrific plus; 2) Bring bug repellent, because mosquitoes can get a little active a certain times of the day; 3) We wished we had brought an extra carryon bag to pack all the shells we found, so you might want to do so ... we had to leave so many behind that we wanted to take with us!; 4) There is a Catholic and Methodist church on the island, in the villages, so if you get along with the locals you might get invited to attend; 5) If you are coming from the States and take the LA to Nadi fight, it arrives at 5:20am, and the only flight from Nadi to Kandavu doesn't depart til 7 hours later, so if you have the wherewithal, charter a private flight (we just drank beer and watched the sun come up and read until the Pacific Sun flight left, and it was a long time to sit around in an airport).

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JapanSomeday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
There are newer reviews for Koromakawa Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 57 of 57 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2009

We are starting off this review by wholeheartedly supporting the review for this resort listed already in the "Fiji Forum: Review Koromakawa Resort Ono Island (Kadavu) - Outstanding!"

As seasoned travelers in the Pacific, Carribean, and Red Sea, we have never experienced such a perfect combination of service, facilities, and most significantly, wonderful owners and staff.

The location is exquisite in its natural beauty, which their facilities so beautifuly draw on.

Meticulously clean, beautifully appointed but oh so comfortable. A setting that makes comfortable privacy but can encourage contact with the staff and owners. Something you definitely want to do. Spence and Karin are intelligent, engaging, hosts. Fellow world travelers who shared many of their experiences with us. We would encourage anyone to consider this for your destination just for their company alone.
Their attention to detail and choreography of customer service is absolutely extraordinary given the complexity of providing for guests 55 ocean miles away from the largest city for provisions.

We were there with our family (2 boys 6 and 8) from 2/12-2/22/09. Our good friends joined us 3 days later with their 7 year old. During our stay we dove 2-3 tanks a day exploring the Astrolabe reef in previously uncharted waters. Spence may even be naming one of our dive sites "Siwa’s Swim through" after his dive master, Siwa, found a beautiful reef to explore in a previously un registered site. Spence and Karin taught us much about the Fijian culture. We gained an appreciation for the way they embraced and respected the Fijians customs where many other resort owners may not.

While Spence made sure our diving pleasures were met, Karin did the same for the children. They were kept safe and well entertained. They had the same great Pirate Treasure adventure the previous family had, and had some other great adventures: They visited 2 different Fijian elementary schools where the children danced and sang for them and they had opportunities to play Fijian games. They were taught how to build cocoanut crab traps, weave baskets, and fish Fijian style. Isoa, one young man that cared for them, showed them how to do the Fijian warrior dance. Fita, the young woman that cared for them showed them how to make shell jewelry. Karin and Spence kept in close communication while we were on the water and made sure we had opportunities for us to meet up with the kids occasionally for a private island lunch in between dives or a snorkel hunt for the ever illusive Manta rays.
Our kids haven't stopped talking about how much they love and miss Isoa and Fita. We hope they can come visit us some day.

Another wonderful part about our trip was the cultural exchange for our kids’ schools. Before we travel to South Pacific islands we always try to give back to the islanders in some way. This time we brought children's books and school supplies as well as pen pal type letters from my 3rd grader's school. Since we brought so many books and materials they were split up across 3 of the schools on the surrounding islands. When we parents made the journey to the Natusara Primary School, we brought some of the books and supplies with us. There are no public schools on these islands. The kids are not guaranteed an education unless their parents can pay for it or they are sponsored. There few supplies and non existent modern conveniences at the schools.

It was an adventurous trip through the mangroves to get to the school. We were also greeted with songs and dances performed by the children. It was so heartwarming. We read one of our favorite books (The Snail and the Whale by Julia Donaldson) to them in exchange. Once the formal trip was over and we swam in their waterfall pool, the Fijian children hammed it up in front of our cameras. Having few, if any opportunities to get their photo taken, they vied for the chance and would immediately rush to view the LCD display on our digital cameras. While the kids took the zodiac back with Karin, Spence led us on the scenic 1 1/2 hr. hike back to the resort.

The cooking staff: Ita, Karolina, and Kesa kept us entranced with the various dishes they prepared. As the last review indicated, all dishes were freshly prepared. You just have to look at their menu on their site to get your mouth watering. They even prepared a special birthday dinner complete with chocolate birthday cake for the occasion. Fresh chocolate macadamia nut cookies were made daily and brought to our room.

All culinary preferences were emailed in advance to Karin and Spence. They love to have as much information on your preferences as you care to give them prior to your visit so they can plan all food orders from Suva in advance. They successfully succeeded to go above and beyond our expectations for our stay. Nice little surprises were tucked into the package that I won’t divulge so they can be nice surprises for whoever is lucky enough to find availability with this precious resort.

While there, I setup a site for the kids to be able to communicate to their classes back home. Along with laundry service (so we could pack light) we had internet access. You’ll see some diving photos as well as photos of many of the activities we took part in. http://coreysfijijournal.shutterfly.com/

As for price, the only thing we needed to settle up for was the diving tanks. All nanny, and meal costs were included. We’ve never got so much value for the buck.

Are only regret is we live a half a world away (in the Boston area). If you live closer we suspect once you go, you'll go back again.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SuzanneN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2008

This is a review we really don't want to write. It is not because we weren't happy or satisfied; it is because we want to keep the resort for ourselves as this was the most outstanding experience we ever have had.

Being a couple from Sweden, we had some trouble deciding on where to stay in Fiji. We had three weeks to spend, and as it was hard (naturally) to find a place that only had good reviews on this site, we decided to spend our honeymoon in three different resorts.

We spent our second week at Koromakawa. The stay was so fantastic that we even prolonged our stay in Fiji and went back to the resort for our fourth week!

Koromakawa Resort is a very exclusive resort - it is all about you! No other tourists, no hustle, just you. Koromakawa is run by a lovely American couple, Karin and Spencer, who will spoil you senseless!

The day is planned in the morning, no schedules here. The only thing to consider is the tide if you want to go snorkeling with the Mantas as they will appear by high-tide.

Snorkeling with the Mantas is an experience of a life-time. We were absolutely in awe, having these marvelous creatures just two or three meters below us. Remember, since you are the only guest at this resort, it is not a group going out; it is only you, the owners and a snorkeling guide! You will have lot of space to move around and never have to feel crowded. We also went snorkeling on the Great Astrolabe Reef, on both sides on the reef. All we can say is: stunning! This really also shows Karin’s and Spencer’s great interest and knowledge of the local area and region.

If snorkeling with or without Mantas is not on the top of your list, don't worry, there is plenty to do. There are trails to wander, villages to visit (Karin and Spencer are very popular with their neighbors, so we were very well received), deserted islands to have picnics on and games to play on the beach. We ourselves love the ocean, so we had our aim set for the snorkeling but we still managed to visit a village, have picnics and play hours of beach volley ball.

Another factor to the pleasantness of the resort is the staff. The staff comes from nearby villages and is very friendly. It never felt as they were working; rather it felt as they were hosts. As mentioned earlier, we played hours of beach games, and the staff, as well as Karin and Spencer, interacted and played with us! One warning though, they are very good at every sport they do, so you will have a hard time beating them in any game!

Then there was the food. It was excellent! Karin is amazing putting together menus just to your liking. Just as with everything else on this resort, they will create the meals to suit you and in addition to this, you can have secluded meals wherever you want, or dine with Karin and Spencer.

To round up (since we are never going to be able to fully describe this amazing experience in words) we were going on a honeymoon with the intention of keeping to our selves, and we ended up leaving in tears with the feeling that we have had an amazing honeymoon and had gained some true friends in everybody involved in the resort!

As we said in the beginning, we would like to keep this place a secret, but is just too good to keep to yourself! It was well worth the 35 hours flight, and we definitely will return!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Vicla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mish3al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gehhin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ono Island
1.5 mi away
Mai Dive - Astrolabe Reef Resort
0.2 mi away
Oneta Resort
Oneta Resort
#2 of 3 in Ono Island
48 reviews
13.3 mi away
Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Tiliva Resort
Tiliva Resort
#3 of 4 in Kadavu Island
42 reviews
24.3 mi away
Matana Beach Resort - Dive Kadavu
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koromakawa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koromakawa Resort

Address: Fiji
Location: Fiji > Kadavu Archipelago > Ono Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ono Island
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koromakawa Resort offers first class service and all the amenities of a tropical environment plus ultimate in privacy. We cater to one family or one couple at a time. Imagine being the only guest, with no schedules, everything you do is decided by you. Our resort is designed for pure relaxation. International menus are specific to each customer. Our goal is to satisfy each customer, one customer at a time with the best possible service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Koromakawa Hotel Ono Island
Koromakawa Resort Fiji/Ono Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing