We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mai Dive is the BEST!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mai Dive - Astrolabe Reef Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ono Island
Certificate of Excellence
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mai Dive is the BEST!”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

If you want a assume dive destination, this is the place! From the location to the friendly service to the 5 star meals... Mai Dive Resort is the best value Fiji has to offer. The 5 bungalows are private and very we'll decorated in the traditional Fujian decor. 5 Star all the way"

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    8
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
44
133
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We spent two weeks with the wonderful folks of Mai Dive Resort for our 25th anniversary and had the greatest trip of our lives. My wife and I are avid worldwide divers and we have never seen such an abundance of sealife and coral as Mai Dive's Astroreef.

The food is outstanding, the cottages - all with an ocean view - are comfortable, and the setting is unparalleled, exotic beauty.

The staff, though, truly make this resort special. They are simply your good friends.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Champagne1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Thank you trip advisor for letting us know about Mai Dive. We just returned from a one-week stay in October 2013.

Despite our long journey, we were so delighted to arrive at the resort. We were welcomed by the friendly staff, given a quick tour by the manager Joanna and then shown to our lovely bure with a wonderful outdoor shower room. After getting settled, we were given a beautiful lunch even though we had arrived outside of the normal meal time. That evening, all the guests were invited to the owner's home to join in a family birthday celebration. It was such a thoughtful gesture for Joe and Enid to include us and we felt so fortunate to enjoy the fabulous food and entertainment provided for such a special occasion. Joe is a fantastic historian and story-teller and so generous about sharing his knowledge about Fijian culture (and helping with translation of the Fijian language) with his guests. It was a real privilege spending time with him.

The staff at Mai Dive are such an asset to the resort. Joanna and the rest of the staff always made us feel like part of the resort family and went out their way to be as helpful and welcoming as possible. Ame and Sy are amazing cooks and always surprised us with their fantastic meals. (I must learn how to make roro)!

During our stay we really enjoyed exploring this beautiful resort, hanging out with the other guests, kava evenings,talking with the wonderful staff members and snorkelling and diving in the amazing waters around Ono Island. The diving was superb and we saw sharks, turtles, moray eels and a huge variety of corals, fish and other sea life. Meike was a great divemaster and was very informative, attentive and helpful (and a wonderful, infectious giggle).

We were sad to leave but a huge vinaka vakalevu to everyone at Mai Dive; Joe - Enid and her sons Gary and Allan (the Canadian contingent) - Joanna (always serene, even under pressure) - Meike, Joave, Kini, Dee, Ana, Sy, Ame and all the other staff - our fellow guests

Moce sota tale
VictoriaJane

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VictoriaJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We are a well-traveled family of 5 and had the most amazing stay at Mai Dive. From the moment we were met at the Kadavu airport for the boat ride to Mai Dive to our return we were treated like family. The bures are immaculate, the hot, outdoor showers were a great treat. The food was nutritious, plentiful and delicious. Most important the staff was superb- friendly, engaged, caring and fun. Richard is a great host and outstanding dive master. Our 2, 16 year old boys got PADI certified, I got a refresher and our 9 year old and my wife snorkeled. Richard is a supportive, effective and delightful teacher. Learning to dive in the lagoon was a treat. The snorkeling was amazing and the diving spectacular- through caves and tunnels, fish, shark, and tremendous coral reefs. We snorkeled with Manta Rays- what a thrill. The diving is about the best ever- even compared to the Great Barrier Reef and Red Sea. We visited a waterfall- a great hike and fun swim. We also visited the local village- a great treat and very highly recommended. Many of the staff live in the local village and it was fun to see where they live and meet their neighbors. The kindergarten kids sang- very sweet. If you have spare books or legos, bring them to donate to the village school. The staff at Mai Dive is like family- Joave, Joanna, Mike, Ima, Richard and Joe who lives up the hill. The kava and traditional meal on the last night was another treat. We loved that the resort is small and simple. It has everything you need and blends in to its environment. The water is crystal clear with infinite shades of blue. So relaxing with almost no decisions to make and tons of relaxing to do. Highly recommended for families, couples or friends looking for a warm, friendly, inviting, caring resort to swim, snorkel, dive, swim, and relax. We spent a week there this past August (2013). Cannot say enough good things about Mai Dive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is my first ever review, written because Mai Dive was so wonderful. Joanna and her team made our five day stay absolutely perfect. Nothing was too much trouble and all the staff were warm, friendly and welcoming.

The rooms were immaculate, the food wholesome and delicious, the diving was great, the setting gorgeous.

More than this, every single person went out of their way to make our stay better and better: I mentioned how much I wanted to eat Fijian food before leaving and they made a special lovo; my partner wanted to drink a coconut and our dive master turned up with one - these little touches were really appreciated and absolutely made the holiday.

We did the adventure package - two days of diving, an island visit and a trip to Bird Island, and it was great. I was a bit out of practice after not diving for a year and Micah took me for a refresher course the day before our first dive without any hesitation, which was excellent.

We also really enjoyed hanging out with Joe and all the staff for kava, tall tales, and dad jokes..:) as well as some excellent singing.

Mai Dive is perfect, I thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 223FionaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This was the second trip in a month for my husband who had previously taken one of our daughters on a diving holiday here. She fell in love with this gorgeous island and they had some fantastic diving.My husband was convinced I would feel the same way, so back to Ono Island it was.
We stayed at Mai Dive for a week in July 2013 and I don't think I can fully explain why it was such a fabulous experience. It was like spending time with friends tucked away in a pristine and very remote location. Food was fantastic(and each meal beautifully "plated"); staff were brilliant (and I mean EVERYONE) and the diving was like I remembered the Fijian waters 25 years ago when I first visited Fiji. I have spent a lot of time diving in the South Pacific and this really is something special. Richard and Micah - you are both fantastic - an absolute pleasure to dive with.
Our bure was simple and gorgeous. Very peaceful. The outside shower was a special and somewhat blissful treat especially after each day's diving.
And being a local family-owned resort makes it even more special. Thank you Joe for allowing us to share this very special place. Your father would be so proud of what you have done.

I love this place and can't wait for our next trip!
Cheryl

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sophieNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Mai Dive for 8 days in May, 2013, and found everything about the experience to be exceptional. We liked the small size of the resort and its remote location; it felt less touristy and more natural than anywhere else we stayed (we spent 3 weeks in Fiji total, including a week in Matei, Taveuni/the Rainbow Reef and a few days in Nadi and nearby islands).

1. Diving: the reefs were pristine, the dive group small, and we didn't see another dive boat in the water the entire week. Even when it was a bit stormy we were still able to find some excellent diving. Divemasters Richard and Maika always made us feel safe, and all of the equipment was in good repair. Both my husband and I completed our Advanced Open Water certifications while we were at Mai Dive and were very happy with the course - the instruction was low key but very informative and useful, and it improved our confidence in the specialty areas (our favorites were Peak Performance Buoyancy and Underwater Navigation). The snorkeling offshore from the resort was also superb, just a few meters from the bures. Later in our trip we dove at the Rainbow Reef from Taveuni, and while that was also excellent diving, our experience at Mai Dive was far superior (more pristine coral, fewer divers, shorter boat rides, and a better diving experience).

2. The Stay: From the moment we arrived we found the atmosphere at Mai Dive to feel incredibly happy. The bures are decorated with a simple elegance, with a lot of natural wood and outdoor (hot water) showers. They felt luxurious while still being practical. The food was delicious with abundant snacks available, and the staff were friendly and welcoming - they even goodnaturedly helped me learn a bit of the Fijian language. :-) We enjoyed the communal dinners and interacting with the other guests, but found that we still had ample privacy when we wanted it.

3. Communication: the folks at Mai Dive were great at responding to emails and answering many questions before we arrived. They were also very accommodating when a scheduling issue came up as we were planning our trip.

If we ever get another opportunity to come to Fiji we will definitely visit Mai Dive!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lemcmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ono Island
0.0 mi away
Gecko Lodge Fiji
Gecko Lodge Fiji
#6 of 12 in Savusavu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
12.5 mi away
Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort
1.2 mi away
Oneta Resort
Oneta Resort
#2 of 3 in Ono Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Matana Beach Resort - Dive Kadavu
0.0 mi away
Laucala Island Resort
Laucala Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Laucala Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mai Dive - Astrolabe Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mai Dive - Astrolabe Reef Resort

Property: Mai Dive - Astrolabe Reef Resort
Address: Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Kadavu Archipelago > Ono Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ono Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mai Dive - Astrolabe Reef Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Remote Adventurous Pristine Fijian Resort on Ono Island in Kadavu Fiji. The closest resort to the Great Astrolabe Reef. All facilities are new and absolute beachfront. Eco Resort with solar power, fresh water spring, vegetables garden & fresh seafood. PADI Certified dive operator & plenty of non dive activities. Maximum of 14 guests, as this is a low key relaxed family run resort. Fantastic facilities and even better food with full board included - come and stay with us a while..... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mai Dive - Astrolabe Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mai Dive - Astrolabe Reef Hotel Kadavu Island
Mai Dive - Astrolabe Reef Resort Fiji/Ono Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing