We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Teed off with a pretty poor show from this Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cardrona
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
227 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Teed off with a pretty poor show from this Hotel”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed one night at the MacDonald Cardrona as a corporate booking en route to the British Open. It's a visually pretty ugly building but nestled in beautiful lush hills and our room was a 'golf view' one so had a lovely outlook over the course. The room was spacious (huge shower) and clean - a bog standard corporate hotel room really but has everything you need. My issue is with everything else! And there's a weird thing in that the corridors are really dark as the automated lighting system doesn't kick in very quickly so you feel like you are in Pentonville rather than a Golf Hotel and Spa.

My husband was hosting a private drinks reception and dinner which had been organised by the London office so he was not party to the organisation however we understood that we were having drinks in the downstairs area by reception which looked very pleasant and comfortable. In fact, two guests were already there. We were then told them we were in a room upstairs which we all had trouble finding not least because our group had to find their way through a wedding party to reach the room - I'm not sure who was more embarrassed or surprised! Our reception turned out to be in a stuffy, unattractive room round the back of a bar and we were told that we had to queue at the bar with the wedding guests to get our own drinks although later a waiter did appear and served us.
Dinner was served in a large private room which was OK. The food was average but the service was dire - food arriving before the wine and then a lack of wine glasses which we had to ask for about four times. I felt that the staff were inexperienced, untrained and had little idea of service and that is the hotel's fault. The waiter had no idea of what Malts or brandy selection was available, and when I was served the cheese board and asked what the cheeses were, the response was "I have absolutely no idea. Sorry." There was no offer to go and find out and by then, I'd lost the will to ask any more.
Usually I avoid MacDonald hotels as I always find them poor and this just verifies what I thought. I'll be writing to them directly and expecting some recompense to the company.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here then the Golf View rooms have the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foxxylizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,104
    877
    406
    134
    84
See reviews for
431
1,467
19
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (517)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I bought a deal for this hotel through 5pm for dinner bed and breakfast and a spa treatment for a girly weekend with a friend. We were really excited as the pictures looked amazing and we got a really good deal. We arrived a bit earlier than check in time but this didn't seem a problem and we were checked in really quickly.
Our twin room was on the opposite side from the golf course beside the car park but we still had a beautiful view of the hills around the hotel. The room was lovely and spacious, the whole hotel was lovely so no complaints there. Our only issue was how we were treated by staff.

As soon as we checked in we went to the spa for our treatment, the staff there were nice and made us feel relaxed, a perfect start to the weekend. However, after our treatments we decided to grab a bite at the golf bar. We went to the bar to order sandwiches and I asked for a chicken, bacon and tomato sandwich but asked if I could have it without tomato. At this point another man behind the bar interrupted "no, it's all mixed in" really bluntly like I was being an inconvenience. I shrugged it off thinking that I must not be the first person to ask that so we paid for our food and drinks and sat down. After 15 minutes we still didn't have our drinks so my friend went to the bar to ask for them. The man who had interrupted earlier asked what we ordered and when she told him he asked "and did you pay for them?" which we found quite rude.

Later we went to the pool which was great as we had it to ourselves and had such a beautiful view, great to chill out before dinner. It was at dinner where we felt service was at it's poorest. We waited 15 minutes before getting asked for drinks and another 15 minutes before taking our order. The food was nice but when we had heard award winning we were expecting a bit more. When it came to asking for the bill we had to ask 4 times!!! We waited at least 10 minutes in between each time and every person we asked they went away and we were forgotten about. It got to a point that I went to ask the manager who was standing at the waiter's desk and she said "I've already been informed and I'm getting it for you now." No apology,nothing. I've never had to try so hard to give someone my money!

I don't know whether it was because we were there with a deal or because we are young but I do feel that we were not treated as we should have been. It was a shame, we were looking forward to having a few cocktails at the bar but we were completely put off, instead we went back to our room to paint our nails etc with the bottle of fizz we brought with us!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had a delightful stay at this hotel recently for a small golf break on route to Edinburgh, the hotel was very comfy and the supper we had was outstanding, all members of our group agreed the food was very very good.

The rooms are comfy, I stayed in a twin room, it had 2 beds, some chairs, a telly and a bathroom more than adequate for a Douglas or 2 so all bases covered there. I had a lovely nights sleep as did my friend who was so impressed with the cleanliness of the bathroom he decided to catch 40 winks in there!!

The spa was a slight let down as there was no jacuzzi which we were all looking forward too but the pool was nice as was the steam room, the changing rooms were clean with one of those machines that drys your trunks. I don't partake in gym based exercise but I noticed a large gym there for all the folk who prefer running and rowing on a machine rather than outside or on a boat.

Finally the Golf course. Well it really is a beauty, top draw fairways and greens, lovely setting with a delightful Barry Burn running through the middle But a tough tough track, to give you an idea of how tough it is we were on route to Muirfield for The Open when we stayed here and found the rough at The Open set up for the worlds best golfers was considerably less penal than the rough at Cardrona. Don't let that put you off though, it's a great course, just take a alot of balls.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TmmyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My wife and i have been to the cardrona many times so it must be good.We have always had a very quick check in and been in our room in about 10 minutes after checking in. The rooms are to a very high standard modern and with all the facilities loverly big beds with a good night's sleep and with a good view over looking the golf course.scenery is fantastic in a loverly valley with rolling hills all around you. We were staying b& b so could not comment on the evening dinner we took a taxi in to peebles and found a good chinese restarant after a good sleep went down to a good hearty scottish breakfast the entire service from the staff was excellent in ever way from checking in to checking out we will continue to use this hotel when ever we can

Room Tip: High floor either looking over the golf course or the hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigbri2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2013

When we lived locally, my family and I had bar snacks at the Macdonald Cardrona Hotel on a fairly regular basis. Our visits were always enjoyable, with efficient and professional service. However, this has not recently been the case.

On paying return visits to Peebles on two separate days over the past few months, we decided to have a bar snack in our old haunt. On both occasions, there were very few customers in the bar (and restaurant) area, and the waiting staff were certainly not "pushed". Despite this, our one side order was forgotten (on both occasions).

On our latest visit, we were given forks wrapped in napkins, but no knives - and had to ask for them to be provided. After reminding the staff about the side order, it arrived when we were more than halfway through our main course. The waiter/waitress removed one of our main course plates before we had both finished eating. Finally, the coffee and accoutrements were brought to the table before the other main course plate, side plate, cruet set, sauce dish and cutlery had been cleared away.

On going through to the ladies' cloakroom, we found that the cloakroom was being cleaned - which is perfectly reasonable and to be expected. However, the chambermaid had placed her cleaning products etc over the entire basin area, and did not move them (or herself!) when we were attempting to wash our hands. As a result, we had to negotiate our way round her and the various cleaning items!

Needless to say, we were very disappointed with the recent deterioration in the service. It was not what we were expecting from a hotel of this calibre and we will certainly not be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Great hotel, perfect location with views of rolling hills from every angle. Friendly helpful staff. Bedrooms good size and well decorated. Swimming pool was lovely, perfect water temperature, and great big warm fluffy towels provided. Food in the restauraunt was also well prepared.
Small childrens play areas outside, which was great. Extensive coutryside all around the hotel, which makes up for it being a couple of miles outside the town. Excellent value and well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Great views all around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judgeatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Just returned from a 2 day break, we booked through a 3rd party who failed to communicate our booking with the hotel, but this was not a problem for Alana on Reception. She immediately told us there were plenty of rooms in the hotel and offered us tea or coffee whilst they sorted out the problem.
The hotel upgraded our room for our inconvenience. The room was very nice with patio doors leading on to the golf course. There was a lovely shower cubicle as well as a bath.
The food was exceptional as was the service, all the staff were friendly, polite and helpful.
I would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanChalmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cardrona
2.3 mi away
Peebles Hydro
Peebles Hydro
#7 of 8 in Peebles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
6.2 mi away
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
2.8 mi away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Park
The Park
#6 of 8 in Peebles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#5 of 8 in Peebles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa

Property: Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa
Address: Cardrona | Peebles Near Edinburgh, Cardrona, Peebles EH45 8NE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Peebles > Cardrona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cardrona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa in Peebles, offers luxurious contemporary accommodation set in timeless natural surroundings. With the hotel's scenic location on the banks of the River Tweed you'll discover a relaxing haven - just 40 minutes outside Edinburgh and 90 minutes from Glasgow and the North of England - nestled amidst the tranquillity of the Scottish Borders landscape. With an award-winning restaurant, two bars, 99 comfortable and spacious bedrooms and conference and wedding facilities, our hotel in Peebles makes the perfect retreat for a leisure stay and offers a superb backdrop for any special occasion. While you're staying with us, why not try your hand at a round of golf on our 18-hole championship course or enjoy a dip in the pool and a luxurious treatment in our spa and leisure club. Guests can also take advantage of our fishing rights and try to catch some Scottish Salmon along the River Tweed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf And Spa
Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf Hotel Cardrona
Macdonald Cardrona Hotel Country
Macdonald Cardrona Resort Country
Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing