We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Traquair Arms Hotel(Innerleithen)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peebles Hydro(Peebles)
$127
$94
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Park(Peebles)
$84
$75
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$67
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$155
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
$87
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$136
$121
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glen Hotel(Selkirk)
$101
$98
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,914)
Filter reviews
2,914 results
Traveler rating
1,184
958
488
181
103
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,184
958
488
181
103
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely hotelcream teaexecutive roombar pricessteam room and saunafirst classrelaxing breakleisure facilitiesdb bevening mealboth nightsfood was lovelyenjoyable staycooked breakfastbed and breakfastlovely roomshort break
Filter
Updating list...
2,530 - 2,535 of 2,914 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Two day Secret Escapes break. We were treated just like all other customers who had paid full price. Staff are brilliantly trained, efficient but genuinely friendly. Had a great meal in the Renwick Restaurant, again service impeccable, and second night in Spikes Bar downstairs. Worth booking ahead for the main restaurant as very popular. Andrew in Spikes Bar is a great mine host and the food comes from the same kitchen. Will definitely return and Peebles is a lovely town. Try the wool shop - great character running it.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor at the back, give great views over the hills.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RunswickLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacCardrona, General Manager at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you for your very kind review.

I am pleased to see that you were looked after by Andrew in particular. I will pass on your comments.

Kind Regards

Stuart Maxwell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We arrived on a very chilly day but we received a warm welcome and when we got to our room it was very pleasantly warm. We went down to dinner later and though the starter of watercress soup was bland and the mussels rather tough and tasteless the remainder of the meal was very good and well and efficiently served. Breakfast the next day was again very good and we felt we had had a really relaxing break and it was very good value for money - the deal was called the "Renwick Experience" and I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACrawford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacCardrona, General Manager at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you very much for your review.

I will pass on your feedback regarding your starters but I was pleased that the rest of your meal was very good.

I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards

Stuart Maxwell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We have just returned from a couple of days at this well appointed hotel with a couple of friends and were a bit disappointed. The room was of a good standard and was extremely clean offering good views of the surrounding tweed valley countryside. The pool was a good size and although busy, still offered enough room for a good swim. The sauna and steam rooms, whilst small were lovely and hot. The cleanliness, however left a bit to be desired with a build up of white deposit around the pool steps and the surrounding floors in all areas, including the changing rooms were in need of a good clean. As far as the restaurant was concerned, the food was of a high standard throughout. Breakfast was a buffet affair for cereal and breads then a waiter served cooked breakfast followed ................. eventually! On both days we waited over 30 minutes and then two out of the four orders were served incorrectly, and that was on both mornings. We chose to eat out one night, based purely on the cost of the drinks in the hotel. As I said the food quality was good however the quantity was not. My honey roast mixed veg comprised of two small cubes of carrot and turnip along with three green beans. We elected to pass on the cheese selection at around £9 for sweet. The restaurant service for the evening meal was OK but on trying to order our pre dinner drinks at the bar we were ignored by four different bar tenders, not even acknowledged. I can totally accept hotel prices however, one would normally expect a good standard of service when paying so much, sadly this was not the case. What could have been a very nice couple of days was just OK.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacCardrona, General Manager at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Keith

Thank you for your constructive feedback. I will certainly look into all of the matters you have raised and ensure that we make improvements to standards and service where necessary.

Kind Regards

Stuart Maxwell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Last weekend 16th /17th March 12 of us travelled to the Cardrona for a golfing weekend. Despite the terrible weather we all had a great time. The staff throughout the hotel, particulary in the Professional Shop; were all very welcoming,pleasant and helpful. The Hotel was extremely busy but the staff made time for the guests.
The bedrooms were first class.
We had our meal in a Private Room (Horsburgh Suite) the food and service was excellent and enjoyed by all the group with enough choices to satisfy everyone.
The breakfast was also well organised with two tables of 6 being reserved for our group.
All in all a the trip was a pleasure, well organised with great consideration for the guests

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacCardrona, General Manager at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Chris

Thank you for your review following your golf break. We are indeed still suffering from the winter weather, maybe the summer will be great!

I am delighted that you enjoyed your trip.

Kind Regards

Stuart Maxwell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel on several occasions and have never been disappointed. This time, we were on an ITSON deal which was very good value with a bottle of wine in our room on arrival.
The hotel is welcoming and comfortable. The service in the restaurant was good; the breakfasts excellent and the dinners at night nicely presented although I did think if you were staying several days you may want more of a choice. I feel bread and oil should be included in the price; to charge an extra £1.95 is a bit mean. On previous visits this has been included.
The bedrooms are very comfortable and a good size with lovely clean bathrooms with a bath and shower cubicle.
The Spa facilities are good and there are lots of opportunities for walking. The walk directly from the Hotel into Peebles along the old railway line is a must, also a visit to Kailzie Gardens.
We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twitcher36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacCardrona, General Manager at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your visit to The Borders and we hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Stuart Maxwell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews