We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location - average trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cardrona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We have just returned from a couple of days at this well appointed hotel with a couple of friends and were a bit disappointed. The room was of a good standard and was extremely clean offering good views of the surrounding tweed valley countryside. The pool was a good size and although busy, still offered enough room for a good swim. The sauna and steam rooms, whilst small were lovely and hot. The cleanliness, however left a bit to be desired with a build up of white deposit around the pool steps and the surrounding floors in all areas, including the changing rooms were in need of a good clean. As far as the restaurant was concerned, the food was of a high standard throughout. Breakfast was a buffet affair for cereal and breads then a waiter served cooked breakfast followed ................. eventually! On both days we waited over 30 minutes and then two out of the four orders were served incorrectly, and that was on both mornings. We chose to eat out one night, based purely on the cost of the drinks in the hotel. As I said the food quality was good however the quantity was not. My honey roast mixed veg comprised of two small cubes of carrot and turnip along with three green beans. We elected to pass on the cheese selection at around £9 for sweet. The restaurant service for the evening meal was OK but on trying to order our pre dinner drinks at the bar we were ignored by four different bar tenders, not even acknowledged. I can totally accept hotel prices however, one would normally expect a good standard of service when paying so much, sadly this was not the case. What could have been a very nice couple of days was just OK.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacCardrona, General Manager at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Keith

Thank you for your constructive feedback. I will certainly look into all of the matters you have raised and ensure that we make improvements to standards and service where necessary.

Kind Regards

Stuart Maxwell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,787)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,408 - 2,414 of 2,788 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2013

Last weekend 16th /17th March 12 of us travelled to the Cardrona for a golfing weekend. Despite the terrible weather we all had a great time. The staff throughout the hotel, particulary in the Professional Shop; were all very welcoming,pleasant and helpful. The Hotel was extremely busy but the staff made time for the guests.
The bedrooms were first class.
We had our meal in a Private Room (Horsburgh Suite) the food and service was excellent and enjoyed by all the group with enough choices to satisfy everyone.
The breakfast was also well organised with two tables of 6 being reserved for our group.
All in all a the trip was a pleasure, well organised with great consideration for the guests

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacCardrona, General Manager at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Chris

Thank you for your review following your golf break. We are indeed still suffering from the winter weather, maybe the summer will be great!

I am delighted that you enjoyed your trip.

Kind Regards

Stuart Maxwell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel on several occasions and have never been disappointed. This time, we were on an ITSON deal which was very good value with a bottle of wine in our room on arrival.
The hotel is welcoming and comfortable. The service in the restaurant was good; the breakfasts excellent and the dinners at night nicely presented although I did think if you were staying several days you may want more of a choice. I feel bread and oil should be included in the price; to charge an extra £1.95 is a bit mean. On previous visits this has been included.
The bedrooms are very comfortable and a good size with lovely clean bathrooms with a bath and shower cubicle.
The Spa facilities are good and there are lots of opportunities for walking. The walk directly from the Hotel into Peebles along the old railway line is a must, also a visit to Kailzie Gardens.
We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twitcher36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacCardrona, General Manager at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your visit to The Borders and we hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Stuart Maxwell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I travelled with a large group of friends for a Church conference and was very impressed by the accommodation provided. Our rooms were comfortable and well appointed. Further enhanced by plenty of space with a large seating area beside the window providing a wonderful view over the countryside.. I also liked the fact that as well as a large bath, there was an extremely generous shower cubicle.

We were given a large suite of rooms for our conference and the area provided was excellent. However, my only criticism was the lack of heating. We all felt extremely cold. However, once staff had been notified of this they did try to adjust it.

We thoroughly enjoyed our meals and breakfast in the main dining room on day two was excellent. Unfortunately, there was a problem with the food warmer on day one when we ate in a 'private' dining room which led to the breakfast being cold. On top of the room being cold this was not a comfortable experience. Nevertheless, again the staff tried to remedy the problem.

The hotel is very nice and situated in a stunning location. I would certainly visit again but perhaps in milder weather. Overall it was a really nice stay. My only criticisms are the heating and the price of wine in the bar (£6.90 for a SMALL glass).

Nevertheless, would still recommend it; particularly for golfers and those who enjoy beautiful scenery.

NB
I am rating the breakfast as excellent despite the 'blip' on day one as the breakfast on day two really was excellent: hot, tasty and of good quality.

Room Tip: All rooms have wonderful uninterrupted views over the countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottishtraveller099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacCardrona, General Manager at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback following your conference visit.

I am delighted that on the whole everything was good and I apologise for the issues with heating and cold food.

I look forward to welcoming you all back in the future.

Kind Regards

Stuart Maxwell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

My friend and I had a lovely relaxing midweek break at Cardrona Hotel. The staff was very pleasant and cheerful and of course the meals were georgous.
Our room faced the car park but had a lovely view of the hills. The bathroom was brilliant had a separate shower cubicle (large).
We must not forget the housekeepers for keeping the hotel spotless.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor it was nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacCardrona, General Manager at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Mary

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay.

I have passed on your comments to Irene and her team in housekeeping, thank you!

Kind Regards

Stuart Maxwell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

March 11th-13th 2013 We three ladies (mum and 2 daughters) have just had a perfect spa break. This is our 4th year. Like a previous reviewer has stated, you do have to book treatments in advance but, Linda and her team will do their best to accommodate you. When not in the spa we used the health facilities pool,steam room, sauna and gym.
The service from ALL staff was second to none (again). We like the fact that the hotel is classy without being uncomfortable. We had a golf view room, spacious and clean, looking out to the hills which, were covered in snow. Food was excellent and any request was catered for.
We shall return again because we know we can relax and enjoy,why fix something that isn't broken?.





  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flowerpot89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacCardrona, General Manager at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, it is much appreciated.

I have passed on your comments to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back for another Spa Break soon.

Kind Regards

Stuart Maxwell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Just left Cardrona after a very relaxing two night break. Room was on the golf course side of the hotel and had a fantastic view of the golf course and hills around. Room was clean and comfortable. The shower was huge and my wife loved the bath. We had dinner at the hotel on the first night. Service and food were great. The hotel was very busy that night and it showed the following morning at breakfast. The service was very slow and the staff looked panicked. The hotel was much quieter the second night and breakfast this morning was very calm and of a high standard. We used the leisure facilities but could not book treatments at the spa. Book ahead if you want a treatment. The pool is lovely but is used by non-residents so can be busy at times. Overall it was a fantastic and very relaxing break.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a "golf view"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrandMrsDash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacCardrona, General Manager at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Mr & Mrs Dash

Thank you for your very kind review. I am delighted that you had a relaxing break with us at Cardrona.

Kind Regards

Stuart Maxwell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cardrona
2.3 mi away
Peebles Hydro
Peebles Hydro
#7 of 8 in Peebles
2,097 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
6.2 mi away
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Park
The Park
#5 of 8 in Peebles
455 reviews
5.0 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
782 reviews
2.7 mi away
Traquair Arms Hotel
Traquair Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Innerleithen
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa

Address: Cardrona | Peebles Near Edinburgh, Cardrona, Peebles EH45 8NE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Peebles > Cardrona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cardrona
Price Range: $85 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa in Peebles, offers luxurious contemporary accommodation set in timeless natural surroundings. With the hotel's scenic location on the banks of the River Tweed you'll discover a relaxing haven - just 40 minutes outside Edinburgh and 90 minutes from Glasgow and the North of England - nestled amidst the tranquillity of the Scottish Borders landscape. With an award-winning restaurant, two bars, 99 comfortable and spacious bedrooms and conference and wedding facilities, our hotel in Peebles makes the perfect retreat for a leisure stay and offers a superb backdrop for any special occasion. While you're staying with us, why not try your hand at a round of golf on our 18-hole championship course or enjoy a dip in the pool and a luxurious treatment in our spa and leisure club. Guests can also take advantage of our fishing rights and try to catch some Scottish Salmon along the River Tweed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf Hotel Cardrona
Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf And Spa
Macdonald Cardrona Hotel Country
Macdonald Cardrona Resort Country
Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing