We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls break”

Stobo Castle Health Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Stobo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nestled among the beautiful Scottish Borders countryside, Stobo Castle offers excellent service, fine food, elegantly trained staff and above all, the ability to find peace in a frenetic world.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Girls break”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Excellent visit as always. The facilities and treatments were enjoyable and we had a relaxing time. Staff are friendly and accommodating, even when we got so involved in the activities we missed our back massage. The Mud Bath is highly recommended.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tracy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Winyard, Owner at Stobo Castle Health Spa, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind words, following your latest visit to Stobo.

There's nothing more disappointing than returning somewhere and finding standards have slipped - so, I was delighted to hear that your experience was as good as before.

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    72
    34
    10
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A day of tranquility”
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We visited Stobo Castle for the day for my mums birthday. We arrived 20 minutes early to get organised however check in was not the 5* I expected as the girl was too busy talking to another receptionist about the weekend. I had to ask 3 times to check in. We eventually were given our locker keys, given a whirlwind tour then it was time for our treatments. Robes are not very good for plus size ladies. We got a back massage which was excellent (if you suffer from back issues tell them and they will miss that part or change the treatment for you). Our 2nd treatment was a facial which my mum got - she really enjoyed it. I opted for a pedicure which was great. We used all the spa facilities - swimming pool, steam room, sauna, jacuzzi (the overhead power showers in jacuzzi pool are the BEST). We had a 3 course lunch - which was ok except felt very uncomfortable considering our treatment finished half an hour into the lunchtime. we were sat at the table right in the middle of the room still wearing our robes.
Overall a good day only because we had spent a lot of money on the day. We were going to make the best out of what wasnt the best introduction to the spa. Next time I will be getting dressed for lunch or requesting a table that isn't right in the centre of the room for other diners to sit and stare. Perhaps having all the day spa people in the same dining area - better planning definately required.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Winyard, Owner at Stobo Castle Health Spa, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, please accept my apologies for the less than professional welcome you and your Mum received when you joined us for a day visit.

I was delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your treatments and the facilities, especially the overhead jets in the hydrospa. Incidentally, we do carry a stock of triple XL bathrobes that are available on request.

Turning to the lunch arrangements, there will always be a mix of guests who have dressed in anticipation of their departure. Lunch is served between 12pm and 2pm so, in effect, there will be comings and goings over this period.

In closing, I note that your visit actually took place over six months ago - hopefully, you will be considering another day at Stobo soon when, once again, we will have the pleasure of your company.

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Birthday Pamper Treat”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Just back from a Pamper Day at Stobo, friends took me their for a Birthday Treat.I wasn't disappointed.Everything was amazing, beautiful setting, clean and so well organised.We were all so chilled and relaxed after our treatments.Four of us had a fab day and can't wait to go back.

Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Winyard, Owner at Stobo Castle Health Spa, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for choosing to spend your birthday at Stobo - what better way to celebrate!

Your generous review is much appreciated and I was delighted to hear how relaxed you felt after your spa day.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“The BEST spa in Scotland”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Once again Stobo Castle lives up to expectations. Each and every member of staff is helpful and attentive, especially Elaine who checked us in and James in the dining room.

Our room was spacious, comfortable and had great views down to the Loch. Meals were all excellent, great choice and tasty food - there's no danger of going hungry at Stobo.

Treatments were first class too with knowledgable therapists and relaxing treatments. Facilities are fantastic with a range of steam rooms. Though the swimming pool could do with a lane or two for those who wish to swim seriously - I kept having to swim round people just enjoying the water.

If you are considering a trip to Stobo, just book it - you won't regret your decision.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank cosmoprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Winyard, Owner at Stobo Castle Health Spa, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your most generous review, extolling the virtues of Stobo as a destination spa.

Both Elaine and James were delighted to be mentioned as part of your feedback - really good to hear how much you enjoyed the food, treatments and facilities.

With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Simply The Best”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Of all the spa experiences, when you need a bit of pampering this is still the best. Indulge and enjoy!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Riever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Winyard, Owner at Stobo Castle Health Spa, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for such an emphatic endorsement of your experience at Stobo!
All I can do is to assure you that we will continue to reinvest in our guest facilities to cement our position as Scotland’s premier spa destination.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stobo Castle Health Spa also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Stobo Castle Health Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing