We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“out of this world”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eddleston
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“out of this world”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

My wife,myself and my wee dog stayed a night at this wonderful hotel.When we arrived the staff was very helpful and could not do enough for us.At dinner we were entertained by a piper and enjoyed our meal,Plenty of walks to take the dog and scenery was spectacular.Breakfast was superb! fantastic value for money,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie M, Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear J1945,

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind Regards

Jamie Mackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    537
    301
    148
    102
See reviews for
291
870
23
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed on a Sunday night deal. Did not get some of the negative comments. Food is good with friendly, helpful young staff. (some minor hitches on orders mainly due to inexperience but nothing to worry about)

Pool Area-good temp, great heated loungers modern clean changing rooms.Yes the Jacuzzi is pool temp -that is because it is a pool Jacuzzi!. No problem with sauna just a quick call and it is on and at max temp in minutes (makes energy sense not to have it on when no one is present) overall very enjoyable,( yes a couple of tables and chairs may have been handy but management appear to have ignored this sensible suggestion)

Grounds, large interesting area, good to read that the Scotland map will be restored, this has fantastic potential for the area. Minor points -Gazebo could be cleaned and some tidying (old window frame on ground) but on the whole lovely gardens. Brilliant patio area overlooking ravine and old mill, lovely sitting outside the other areas as well.

Location-excellent for walking, (near southern upland way) cycling, and touring and time in hotel grounds.

Yes there is some creaking floorboards but hey it is an old hotel, part of the experience, the positives far exceed the negative, for the price it is an excellent choice. Just some small improvements could move this hotel up to at least 4 star but of course it would more expensive. Have been to much worse 4 and 5 star hotels. All in all a good experience representing fantastic value for money. Not to sure what extras are in a privilege room probably coffee machine and dressing gowns etc do not believe they are bigger rooms so worth checking first however rooms are fine.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie M, Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Fred M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Jamie Mackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We enjoyed a relaxing evening away. Restaurant service was prompt and food of a very good quality. Grounds lovely for some exercise as were the leisure facilities. Breakfast was excellent. Staff are attentive and Peebles is a lovely town for a wander.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edinburgh_Family000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie M, Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Edinburgh_Family000,

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Jamie Mackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Just stayed at the Barony Castle on Saturday night with 10 other friends for a reunion, our trip organiser booked dinner, bed and breakfast for all of us a couple of months ago. The plan was meet in the bar and then the table for dinner was booked for 8pm, but we never made it in to the dining room. The first excuse after we asked why we were kept waiting was, the table allocated to us was still occupied, then at around 9pm it was suggested a table be set in the bar area for us, we agreed and orders for food taken, then because people were now coming in to the bar we were moved to a really cold function suite, we were eating our starters at 10pm It was clear that the hotel had over booked (confirmed by a member of staff) Faulty towers did not have a look in..it was so bad it was hilarious we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves for all the wrong reasons. The hotel handled our complaint well and gave us really good discount. That said the food is at best average (when you get it) 2 mushrooms on toast with a dollop of garlic dressing for £5 get a grip. Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie M, Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear susan w,

Thank you for your feedback. We treat all of our comments with the utmost seriousness and we will be investigating this matter accordingly.

Kind Regards

Jamie Mackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Lass
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We called on chance and found a most delightful hotel. The staff made us feel extra special nothing was too much trouble whatever we requested it was done with a smile and promptly.
Breakfast really sets you up for the day with something for everyone and the attention given to guests is second to none. Evening meals are well presented and very pleasurable. There is a Spa but we didn't use this facility, but understand it is very busy.
If you are looking for something rural in lovely countryside then look no further, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: The advantage of this hotel is that they have rooms with a wet room in the bathroom suitable for dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dene70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie M, Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Dene70,

Many thanks for your kind review. I am glad my team made your stay enjoyable.

Kind Regards

Jamie Mackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Booked family room via a room via Expedia for an vernight stay on 20 April. On checking in we were shown to our room directly above the function suite where a party was in full swing. The noise was intolerable. When we asked for a transfer we were told there were no more rooms in the hotel and that the Function would finish at midnight

We even requested a move to 2 separate rooms. Still no availability.
Clearly we couldn't put up with this racket and had to leave the hotel. This was at 22:15.

After some time, The manager appeared and then miraculosly found 2 adjoining rooms somewhere in the hotel but by then it was too late. Our mood had changed and the prospect of staying there was rather depressing.

We left the hotel around 11pm.

It took me several phone calls to the hotel and expedia to get promise of a full refund, culminating in email from operations manager confirming a full refund on tuesday 23 - 3 days after the event.
The refund was made on 25 april.

The manager by emil made us a rather insulting offer to return at a 50% dscount.

This whole fiasco was very badly handled from beginning to end . Fortunately we made it home in one piece but idread to think what would have happened if we had lived further afield or were visiting from abroud.

It has taken me a while to write this review as it has just now come to the top of my list.

If you consider staying here, make sure you get firm commitment about the location of your room, and don't expect prompt attention if you have a complaint.

Room Tip: Make sure room is well away from function suite and don't expect good customer service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LCAmeh4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie M, Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear LCAmeh4,

Thank you for your feedback. We treat all of our comments with the utmost seriousness and I have investigated the matter in full.

Kind Regards

Jamie Mackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Eddleston hotels

Midlothian, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayed at the Barony Castle recently with wife and our two teenage daughters (who had their own room).
Plus points: Public areas very nice and well maintained, service from staff very good - especially our waitress at dinner, evening meal and breakfast both excellent. Lovely grounds. Swimming pool with clean changing areas.
Negative points: bathroom in our (upgraded) room a little tired with stained, broken roller blind. Both our rooms quite small - expected, having paid extra for an upgrade, they'd be more spacious. Tumblers in room dirty, cutlery at breakfast not very clean.
However, we would definitely use Barony Castle again as the plus points more than outweighed any negatives.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dundreich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie M, Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Dundreich,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Barony Castle. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments, which we are currently addressing.

Kind Regards

Jamie Mackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eddleston
4.4 mi away
Peebles Hydro
Peebles Hydro
#7 of 8 in Peebles
1,990 reviews
4.4 mi away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
1.7 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Park
The Park
#5 of 8 in Peebles
436 reviews
8.9 mi away
Traquair Arms Hotel
Traquair Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Innerleithen
291 reviews
24.0 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Boswells
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel

Property: Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
Address: Eddleston by Peebles | Scottish Borders, Eddleston EH45 8QW, Scotland (Formerly Barony Castle)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Eddleston
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eddleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barony Castle Hotel Eddleston
Barony Castle Hotel Peebles
Barony Castle Peebles
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel Eddleston, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing