We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely recommend!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eddleston
1 review
“Definitely recommend!”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed for two nights in a privilege room. The room was not very big and the four poster bed, although looked nice, was not the most comfortable. However, the views from the room were brilliant and it was clean.
The food in the restaurant was nice and the bar makes some nice cocktails. The food and drinks are not exactly cheap but about average for hotel prices.
The spa facilities are nicely decorated and not too busy.
Admittedly its not the most upmarket hotel in the area but it's reasonably priced, has gorgeous scenery and the staff are more than happy to go that extra mile.
We had an overall very relaxing and enjoyable stay and would recommend Barony Castle.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexLockhart88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie M, Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear AlexLockhart88,

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind Regards

Jamie Mackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    511
    289
    142
    98
See reviews for
269
834
20
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The photograph of this hotel is taken from the back as the front is a large car park - rather spoils the drama of the entrance as you sweep up a long drive. There is a sign over the door which says 'Prepare to meet thy God'. The reception was friendly enough and as we were handed our keys we were told we would be in the Eddleston Suite, 'a beautiful refurbished room with a lovely view out the front of the hotel'. Yes, it overlooks the car park. The 'Suite' was a huge room (3 windows) containing a king size bed, two sofas, coffee table, wardrobe, small table and chairs and chess board. There was a decorative fire, kettle and coffee machine. A small fridge in the wardrobe held complimentary bottled water. If you like 'loft living' you will like this room. The bathroom was huge, freestanding bath, double shower and nowhere to put anything except the window shelves which were both a good way from the wash basin. There was a narrow shelf on top of a unit that hid the loo from view of the bedroom door. The bathroom was well-equipped with toiletries, inf fact, there were so many they filled up the shelf.

Our room rate included an allowance for dinner which we both used up and more with our main course, but no complaints, it was good. The system in the bar for pre-dinner drinks needs a re-think as there was no distinction between the drinks queue and those wanting bar food.

Sleep was disturbed by vehicle noise out the front. Breakfast was average. The layout of the breakfast room meant that if you were in the lower dining room you had to go up and down the stairs to the buffet table.

The grounds are beautiful. I picked wild raspberries. The Border country is spectacular. This would make a good overnight stop in a quieter room but not worth paying the extra for the Suite.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the front and the view of the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henri10_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie M, Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Henri10_13,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Barony Castle. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about the queuing system , which we are currently looking into.

Kind Regards

Jamie Mackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. For a family of 4 we had dinner, bed and breakfast for £125.00 bargain. The staff were really friendly, helpful and made us very welcome. The food was really well presented and yummy for a reasonable price. Improvements could be made in the dinner service which was really slow (although I think it was just the waitress we had). It was lovely to walk around the grounds in the peace and quiet. I would have stayed longer and booked a spa treatment if I had time. My 3 year old loved the swimming pool and low ropes course.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inspired2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie M, Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Inspired2,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Jamie Mackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

My friend and I visited the hotel for afternoon tea and use of the spa facilities, to say we were disappointed is an understatement. We used a Groupon voucher and felt we din not have value for money. As we arrived the hotel looked splendid as we drove up the drive. On arrival were said we were booked for afternoon tea, the receptionist responded saying she did not have the resources for use as she had no towels and bathrobes. This was before we has the chance to explain we only planned to have afternoon tea. The couple who arrived in front of us were escorted to the spa by the caretaker. The respect ironist took us through to the bar and explained the bar man would give us a menu. Although handsome the bar man had limited English and was having difficulty understanding a lady who was trying to orders soup. What kind of soup do you have ? His reply was " hot" the reception stepped in and offered the bar man options, chicken, tomato, broth. He replayed tomato she asked is is vegetarian, he did not reply for a minute and then said yes. Looking doubtful she looked at the receptionist who said I would think so. As we all looked at each other the receptionist said she would check.
We were not offered a minute and asked what type do sandwiches we wanted, no choice offered. We went for selection. We were then offered our glass of champagne and I use the word loosely or a soft drink. This was brought to our taller and quickly followed by a pot of tea. Our sandwiches, scones and cakes followed sometime later. There were no tea plates, so I went to the bar to ask for them, the bar man said yes then a few minutes later came to our table and asked if we were looking for tea. I explained side plate. The sandwiches were two slices of bread one slice with egg and one slice with roast beef. The roast beef sandwich was only buttered on one side. Both sandwiches were a bit dry as if sitting out for a while. One cake was tasteless and the chocolate cake undercooked and inedible. The scone was nice, but the cream was squirtly type.
Tea cool and stewed, but by this time we had lost the will to live.
We did not even go to look at the spa as we had decided we would not be coming to use the facilities. The lounge was dull and the shuttered blinds dusty ( we notice this when we tilted them to get more light.
Overall a poor experience for a relaxing afternoon out. We were going to complain but there was no staff at reception as we left. One positive was the toilets were clean, well stocked and bright.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie M, Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear JESt79

I am really sorry to hear that your visit was not up to expectations. I would like to discuss this with you in person. Please could you contact me on jmackie@baronycastle.com or 01721730395

Best Regards

Jamie Mackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Eddleston hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This hotel is perfectly nice. While the outside is excitingly castle-like, the inside has mostly been modernised into mundanity. That is, nothing on the inside is particularly full of character. It is definitely clean and convenient. Everything in the room worked well for us.

There was a notice in the lobby warning that weddings are carried out in the hotel on most weekends. This warning was definitely needed, as we were in an excellent position to hear all of the music from the wedding dance while trying to sleep in our room. While the music ended before midnight, it was still troubling to those of us who had had a busy day and were trying to sleep.

The restaurant is good, and the servers were all delightful. The reception staff were also efficient and friendly.

We did not take advantage of the spa services, so I am not in a position to comment.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JESt79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie M, Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear JESt79

Thank you for taking the time to write a review . I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about the noise from the wedding, which we are currently looking into.

Best Regards

Jamie Mackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We booked through hotel connexions which got us a good deal on our stay which we liked!hotel was clean and tidy and we found staff to be friendly and helpful.weather was nice so we found that we were able to sit outside in the sun and have a lovely relaxing drink.we also used the spa which we found to be a pleasant experience.took a trip into Peebles one day which was lovely and went to see roslin chapel.all in all a good place to stay and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgewatson1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie M, Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Georgewatson1968

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Best Regards

Jamie Mackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eddleston
4.4 mi away
Peebles Hydro
Peebles Hydro
#7 of 8 in Peebles
1,957 reviews
4.4 mi away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
1.7 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Park
The Park
#6 of 8 in Peebles
425 reviews
8.9 mi away
Traquair Arms Hotel
Traquair Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Innerleithen
284 reviews
4.3 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#5 of 8 in Peebles
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel

Property: Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
Address: Eddleston by Peebles | Scottish Borders, Eddleston EH45 8QW, Scotland (Formerly Barony Castle)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Eddleston
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eddleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barony Castle Hotel Eddleston
Barony Castle Hotel Peebles
Barony Castle Peebles
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel Eddleston, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing