We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shocking - never again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eddleston
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Shocking - never again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

- on arrival at midnight, a dead badger was lying on the side of the road on a stone; this is a major health and safety hazard and we notified the hotel staff immediately: 12 hours later the dead animal was still there, photos are available. This is shocking and unacceptable, some authorised body should check on how and why these people still own a license for public accommodation.
- breakfast not included, staff tried to charge us extra £3/person even if we booked through booking.com and the lower price was available online
- reception staff was slow, unfriendly and unresponsive to various complaints
- our room looked out on a storage space on the street level and was all dusty and creepy to look out and see the woods without any source of light - very unsafe
- shower only worked with boiling water; voiced out my concern to the reception but no apologies or solutions were presented, instead they attempted to charge us extra for breakfast
- window custain was broken, could not open or close

Room Tip: AVOID, my friends were shocked beyond words
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie M, Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear George B,

Thank you for your comments, we can assure you that the points you have raised are being looked into and will be dealt with accordingly.

Kind regards,

Jamie Mackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    473
    267
    132
    93
See reviews for
247
776
18
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Decided to stay here for a relaxing night away and was very surprised at how nice the place is. Excellent grounds to walk/explore and ideal lawns out front to sit in the sun with a picnic. We were in the tweeddale suite which was huge and luxurious. Also well appointed with decor. The restaurant food was good with excellent choice, but the steaks were a little pricey. The fillet was tasty tho. Nice bar area, nice little spa area, overall a good hotel for a night away. Feels higher than just a 3 star. If anything the service was a little slow due to a wedding being on, but no major problems. Worth a try!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fonz82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie M, Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Fonz82,

Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Barony Castle]. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.


Kind regards,

Jamie Mackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

I would not recommend this hotel for wedding. Our rooms were not ready at 2pm as promised and the ceronomy started at 2.30pm. Luckily we where mostly ready but there where other guests in same predicament needing to get ready.We were put into an unserviced room which wasn't ideal and told to keep checking to find out when our room was ready. Found reception staff slow and generally incompetent in dealing with this. There was clearly a shortage of staff but we where later told by a member of staff this was the norm. Bar staff where slow. There was no apology or compensation offered when checking out. Later found out I'd left my phone in the room. Despite it being found and told it would be posted following day, 2 weeks later I've still not received it. Last time we stayed here they double booked us, tried to get us to reorganise our hol dates to suit them. When we protested they managed to find us a room, in all pretty poor management and wasn't impressed with customer service as had to argue our case.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face onto another otherwise your curtains will be closed all time. C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie M, Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear L A,

Thank you for your comments, I can assure you that the matter is being looked into and will be dealt with accordingly.

Kind regards,

Jamie Mackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Eddleston hotels

Porta Westfalica, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

The hotel is nicely located within a castle and perfect service is offered. The room was clean and everything was available what is needed - Wifi worked well -

The hotel was easy to find thanks of road signs and the price was perfect - We used a special offer which reduced the price by 40 percent offered on the Accor hotels page.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank jensanybody15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie M, Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear jensanybody15,

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Jamie Mackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
149 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

A large group of friends stayed at the Barony Castle recently, on arrival the view leading up to the hotel is very nice and the hotel itself is lovely when you first set eyes on it. The location is excellent and the grounds are really good and well kept, plenty of walks to do if that's what you like.

My partner and her friends had booked in for the spa weeks prior to travelling, upon arrival they had spa had no idea that there was a booking. The staff in the spa were not well organised and my partner and friends were left disappointed and did not get the relaxing time that they had wanted. The spa staff were not very friendly either so that kind of put a little damper on the hotel for all of us. That's the only negative about the hotel for us.

Everything else about the hotel was very good indeed, the rooms were very nice and pretty clean apart from a few hairs in the bathroom but nothing major. The hotel staff could not have been more helpful if they tried, every single staff member at the bar, resteraunt and reception could not have done any more for us. They were all very friendly and went that extra mile which is fantastic, I'd go as far as saying that its the most helpful staff I've encountered staying in a hotel.

We ate in the resteraunt both nights and the food was very nice, one of our friends had a problem with a steak as at first it was overlooked to what he had asked and second time round it was undercooked so the waiter gave us a free bottle of wine. Everyone else thought the food was faultless and it's a very nice relaxed atmosphere in there as well. We had breakfast both mornings and that to was very, quite a good selection to chose from.

As there was kids with us we used the pool facilities, quite a small pool so not much space to move around if a lot of people in it but very nice. Also had a sauna at the pool which was very good.

I think we would stay in the hotel again but would never use the spa again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McPherson9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie M, Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear superstallion,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Barony Castle. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about the spa, which I am currently investigating.

Kind regards,

Jamie Mackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Went with my girlfriend for a quiet night before moving on to T in the Park on the Friday.

Very friendly staff, one of the ladies in reception even lent me £1 to use the lockers in the health spa!

Food in the evening and breakfast was lovely.

Weather was beautiful too. Couldn't have had a more pleasant stay.

Well done to all the staff. Would definately go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie M, Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Joe O,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Jamie Mackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eddleston
4.4 mi away
Peebles Hydro
Peebles Hydro
#7 of 8 in Peebles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
4.4 mi away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
1.7 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Park
The Park
#6 of 8 in Peebles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
4.3 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#4 of 8 in Peebles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
24.0 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Boswells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel

Property: Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
Address: Eddleston by Peebles | Scottish Borders, Eddleston EH45 8QW, Scotland (Formerly Barony Castle)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Eddleston
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eddleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barony Castle Hotel Eddleston
Barony Castle Hotel Peebles
Barony Castle Peebles
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel Eddleston, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing