We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eddleston
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

We went here for a spa day and had a lovely time the castle was lovely and clean and the food choice for both breakfast and dinner was good We had a family room instead of a twin the reception gave me a lone of a iPhone charger which was lovely of him

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1960pamglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie M, Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear 1960pamglasgow,

Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Barony Castle I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Jamie Mackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,622)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,325 - 1,331 of 1,622 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

Just back from 2 nights DBB booked with classic Britain. Cannot fault this hotel!!! All staff were very attentive and good at their job. We did not find lack of staff at bar and were served within a few minutes. Food at breakfast was excellent and the food at night well presented and tasted lovely. No complaints at all. I would go back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie M, Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Anne M,

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards,

Jamie Mackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed for two nights we had a date in Edinburgh but fancied a quieter hotel. Peebles and the borders absolutely beautiful. The hotel clean quiet and friendly.We didn't have breakfast there instead used a mobile cafe on the road into Edinburgh which was fantastic value. The restaurant looked lovely though. This would be a great wedding venue.

Room Tip: we were right at the top of the hotel which felt a little claustrophobic but we paid a bargain price...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aunty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie M, Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Aunty C,

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Jamie Mackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

My Sister & I attended a wedding at this hotel & were most disappointed with the service provided. Prior to arrival we had telephoned the hotel to make sure we would be able to get into our room at a reasonable hour in order to get ready for the wedding to be told check in was 2pm.... the wedding was at 2.30pm!! We complained & my sister also explained that I had mobility problems & 30 mins would not be enough time. My sister was then told she had booked a single room however they would be able to give us a disabled room (Room 105). She argued regarding the booking (made in March) but as we had to attend the wedding she reluctantly paid the extra to secure the double/twin room. We were told that we may be able to check in to our room earlier but they wouldn't know that until the day. We arrived at the hotel just after midday & were advised by reception to come back in 40 mins & we would probably be able to collect our room keys. We ventured out into the gardens at the rear of the property which were lovely, had a coffee & a couple of drinks(very expensive!) then obtained our keys as promised. The room was on the first floor & there was a double & a single bed. The shower area was spotlessly clean & big although struggled to find a place to put our toiletries.The bar was very undermanned & the number of items that they ran out of was ridiculous. The garden area at rear of property lacked tables & chairs & as it was a beautiful day & everyone was outside you would have thought the staff would have used their initiative & arranged for at least more seats to have been put in the area. At one point while sitting in the lower bar area my seat collapsed under me. We did ask for the seat to be removed however it took some time for this to happen & we felt we had to stay there until this was done in case someone else tried to sit on it as the person who was meant to be sorting this out just pulled the leg back into place & disappeared! Towards the end of the evening we were told the bar was closed however after stating that most people around were residents we were able to have refreshments but only if you had your 'white slip' showing your room number as no cash was being used. Some guests did not have this 'white slip' & said that they had not had the opportunity to obtain it! On a positive note the breakfast was very good, plenty of choice & there was no way anyone should have left feeling hungry. The car park area is also good, plenty of car parking spaces. The grounds around the hotel are lovely & worth investigating. We would not go back to this hotel but we are thankful that the wedding went without a hitch & we thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ACC92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie M, Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear ACC92,

Thank you for your feedback. We treat all of our comments with the utmost seriousness and we will be investigating this matter accordingly.

Kind regards,

Jamie Mackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This was a very pleasant stay whilst visiting Peebles for a night. We were intrigued by the photos of the lovely building, and decided to give it a go. From the first moments of arriving, we were offered a very warm welcome by a charming receptionist, who really did make us feel like she was at our disposal. Once particulars were taken care of, we received the key to our two rooms. We had one standard room, and one privilege room booked.

The standard room was exceptionally comfortable, mostly because of the bedding. We had a double bed and a single bed in the room, with supersoft duvet covers and lovely pillows. The TV was good, and the hospitality tray well stocked, even with complimentary biscuits. The bathroom was fine, the only downside was the shower tended to flood the bathroom because of the pressure. My only problem with this room was the two chairs provided. They had seen better days, and were quite dirty. Overall though, a great room for the price.

My mother had the privilege room, which has a massive king size bed, lovely view, and a Nespresso coffee machine. This took a bit of getting used to, because no instructions were at hand, and pressing the buttons didn't do anything until the fourth time. After mastering it, it made great coffee! There was also a great fridge in this room, with two complimentary bottles of water. The bathroom was similar, although the shower was much better in this room.

Overall, the price is great, the service was fantastic, and the grounds were stunning. A lovely place, and definitely worth the visit. It was also exceptionally clean.The rooms were quite warm, but they provided fans in each room. I would have given five stars except for my issues with the chairs and the bathroom issue in the standard room.

Room Tip: It is worth paying a little extra for the privilege rooms, for the coffee machine and the fridge, an...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie M, Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear John G,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Barony Castle. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about the chairs, which we are currently addressing as part of our rolling refurbishment project which is now underway.

Kind regards,

Jamie Mackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Taggart2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jamie M, Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

My wife and I attended a wedding at the Barony Castle Hotel & Spa and to be quite honest, it was worse than we expected. We have had past experiences of so called 'Chain' resorts and spas and have found them to be nothing other than 'a nice coat covering a bad body', this place was no different, One person on reception trying to deal with a queue of guests, bedroom(s) small and claustrophobic due to the heat , wedding dinner tasteless, bar(s) understaffed for the amount of guests requiring refreshments, bar constantly running out of drinks and having to be replenished by bar staff resulting in more queues building. The only good point from the whole weekend was the freshly cooked breakfasts.....Oh, and another point; the garden/lawn area to the rear of the property was a veritable sun-trap but with only three sets of garden furniture!! It is a rather missed opportunity to have some tables/chairs/parasols etc., available for guests in order to fully enjoy the external areas of this garden. All in all, not an overly pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the front of the hotel as the rooms directly above the spa swimming pool are ve...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HowMuchGolspie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie M, Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear HowMuchGolspie,

Thank you for your feedback. We treat all of our comments with the utmost seriousness and we will be investigating this matter accordingly.

Kind regards,

Jamie Mackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eddleston
4.4 mi away
Peebles Hydro
Peebles Hydro
#7 of 8 in Peebles
2,027 reviews
4.4 mi away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
1.7 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Park
The Park
#5 of 8 in Peebles
443 reviews
24.0 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Boswells
955 reviews
3.9 mi away
Castle Venlaw Hotel
Castle Venlaw Hotel
#3 of 8 in Peebles
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel

Address: Eddleston by Peebles | Scottish Borders, Eddleston EH45 8QW, Scotland (Formerly Barony Castle)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Eddleston
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eddleston
Price Range: $64 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barony Castle Hotel Eddleston
Barony Castle Hotel Peebles
Barony Castle Peebles
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel Eddleston, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing