We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So peaceful.... an amazing trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eddleston
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We have stayed there twice in the last few months. One to celebrate an engagement and the other for a birthday treat. Staff are so friendly, especially at reception. So much so we had a complimentary upgrade following our second visit which totally took us by surprise, but one which made my birthday even more magnificent. The rooms on both trips were spotlessly clean and a special mention the hotel cleaners for doing such a wonderful job of the rooms and being so friendly, attentive and helpful when required. Nice to be able to share a joke with them. Hotel is only a few minutes drive from Peebles and I cannot wait to go back.

Room Tip: Executive double room for space. Or Eddleston suite is a must for any stay. pics to follow
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glasgow2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie M, Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear Glasgow2006,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind feedback on tripadvisor. I was thrilled to hear that you enjoyed both of your stays with us, I hope I get the opportunity to meet with you on your next visit.

Best regards

Jamie Mackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,719)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,515 - 1,521 of 1,719 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed here for one night. On arrival we were pleased with what we saw and the service we received from reception. Staff were friendly and breakfast was good. However the let down was the room(125).
First noticeable thing was that the room was cold.The radiator was on low which we turned up, but the ill fitting sash window let a cold draught in, causing the blind to flap away from the frame in the style of some horror movie.. The second and more troublesome issue was the noise from the kitchen extractor fans immediately below the room.These gave the same effect as sitting over the wing of a Boeing 747 as it hurtled along the runway for takeoff! When we called reception they did not offer a room swap but advised that the fans would shut off at 10pm when the kitchen staff left. At 10:30 pm they finally went off. This wasn't an issue and so I chose not to argue about a change of room. What the helpful man on reception omitted to tell us was that they would be switched back on at 7 am! No need for an alarm clock and no chance of a leisurely weekend lie in!
And not so much as a sorry when i raised it on check out.
My advice to you if planning a stay here is avoid rooms 124,125,126 and any others on this corridor unless you are planning to be up and away at 7am.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms along the same corridor as room 125 as these are over hte kitchens and very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie M, Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear Adam R,

Thank you for your review following your stay at Barony Castle. We have robust systems in place, but from time to time things can go wrong. Your feedback has highlighted a key issue which will be addressed accordingly.

Best regards

Jamie Mackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed here in a family room for 1 night as part of a large church party. We were all really impressed by the hotel - staff were very friendly and keen to do whatever they could to help. The food was consistently of a high quality, and the rooms clean and comfortable. we were really impressed by the way in which the hotel even managed to open the pool for us on the Saturday so that the many kids in our party could enjoy a good splash around. When the renovation is finished, it is going to be a really lovely facility. In all, really good value and service.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulandeliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie M, Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear paulandeliz,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Warm regards

Jamie Mackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Given keys to room on arrival, after some confusion about where the key actually was!! Got to room to find someone else already in the room. (if that had been my room and I had lost my laptop and valuables because my room key had been given to someone else, I would have been less than happy!!!).
Then given another room, very small, very noisy as all smokers go out the front to have a fag and muck around. Smoke detector hanging off ceiling by it's wires.

food good

drinks not too expensive for a hotel.

nice location

staff friendly

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stuartporky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie M, Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear stuartporky,

Thank you for your feedback. We treat all of our comments with the utmost seriousness and we will be investigating this matter accordingly.

Kind regards

Jamie Mackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I have no hesitation recommending "Mercure Barony Castle" I thoroughly enjoyed my one night stay. I felt relaxed after my stay, so much so, I have booked a further 2 stays at this excellent hotel since staying there on the 4th March.

From check-in to check-out the total experience was flawless and very professional, welcoming and friendly. The team are exceptionally polite, helpful and are well worthy of a special mention.

The secluded location is spectacular with the border towns of Peebles, Galashiels, Selkirk and Hawick all being a short drive away.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mshawLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie M, Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear mshawLondon,

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Jamie Mackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Booked a few weeks ago for overnight stay at Barony Castle. Beautiful surroundings, but Hotel undergoing some essential renovation. Our booking was for one night this week. The advertised Spa was of particular interest to us but we were really disappointed to find Spa is presently being refurbished. We were not informed of this at the time of booking.This information should have been given to prospective guests. The lift was not working which for us was quite a problem, although staff were very attentive in offering to help with luggage etc. Bedroom was very nice with tea/coffee facilities etc.,and lovely towels. It was very clean and warm with superior bed-linen.
We found all staff to be of exceptionally highly calibre - extremely attentive and courteous,( and hope management appreciate this!) Some of them seem to work very long hours.
In summarising, this is a Hotel which has fairly recently changed ownership. There is much requiring upgrading (e.g.the lift) It might have been better to have some of these upgradings in place before going public. Outstanding staff.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank retrieversEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie M, Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear retrieversEdinburgh,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on tripadvisor.I was sorry to hear that you had been affected by the leisure refurbishment during your visit. Should you wish to come back in the future, please contact Stephanie Morgan, our Front of House manager on smorgan@baronycastle.com who would be delighted to help you and make sure your stay with us is memorable for all of the right reasons.

Kind regards

Jamie Mackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed here just the one night and how I wish it could have been for longer! I was a bit upset to learn from TA that the pool would be out of use during our stay - but wasn't upset when I saw our room - the bath in the Tweedale Suite more than made up for the lack of pool - it was brilliant and I can see why this suite used to be the bridal suite.

All of the staff that we encounted, couldn't do enough for their guests, nothing was too much trouble including lending a non smoker a light to light the candles that surround the huge bath in the Tweedale Suite :)

We didn't eat in the hotel as had read how good the local Inn was but when we return to the Barony - which I am certain that we will - we will book ourselves a table at the hotel as the menu looked very good.

All in all we had a brilliant night - huge thanks to all at the Barony

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank outoftowngirl56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie M, Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear outoftowngirl56,

Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip hopefully!

Kind regards

Jamie Mackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eddleston
4.4 mi away
Peebles Hydro
Peebles Hydro
#7 of 8 in Peebles
2,179 reviews
4.4 mi away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
4.4 mi away
The Park
The Park
#3 of 8 in Peebles
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
800 reviews
11.5 mi away
Dalhousie Castle
Dalhousie Castle
#1 of 1 in Bonnyrigg
1,475 reviews
8.9 mi away
Traquair Arms Hotel
Traquair Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Innerleithen
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel

Address: Eddleston by Peebles | Scottish Borders, Eddleston EH45 8QW, Scotland (Formerly Barony Castle)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Eddleston
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eddleston
Price Range: $73 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barony Castle Hotel Eddleston
Barony Castle Hotel Peebles
Barony Castle Peebles
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel Eddleston, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing