We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful location, great value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eddleston
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Peaceful location, great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

A beautiful castle, with modern rooms and a lovely restaurant, in the small village of Edleston just 5 miles from Peebles. Ideal to escape the hustle and bustle. Staff were very friendly and helpful, rooms are comfortable, views are lovely and food is great. Would definitely come again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Carina1721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie M, Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Carina1721,

Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip to Scotland hopefully!

Best regards

Jamie Mackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    465
    266
    132
    92
See reviews for
240
768
17
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Booked a spa day with a group of friends and arrived to find no pool, no sauna and workmen all over the leisure area. This was not acceptable as no rooms to change and no access to showers. Relaxation room was nice but we were there for the day and would have preferred the whole package we had booked for. The therapist was excellent but the management offered no compensation and just offered an apology. I am sure it will be an improvement when finished but hotel should not take bookings for Spa days while this work is going on. Afternoon tea was uninspiring with last nights dessert in a brandy snap basket as the only cake offered. Disappointing

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cairolass_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie M, Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Cairolass_12,

I am sorry that on this occasion that you were disappointed with your spa day. we treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and I am currently investigating this matter. Please feel free to contact Stephanie Morgan, our Front of House Manager on smorgan@baronycastle.com should you wish to discuss this further.

Best regards

Jamie Mackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Eddleston hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

We had a recent two night weekend stay at Barony Castle. Booked at superior room for £48 per night. The room was a very good size and well maintained with a comfortable bed and plenty of space. In-room tea and coffee and fridge facilities were also useful and we had a nice view across the grounds.

The staff were friendly throughout and the bar food was good (we didn't eat dinner in the restaurant). As we were on the second floor the lift being out of action had no effect on us but would have been an issue for those on the top floor or those with mobility issues. The only down side for us was that the pool was closed for maintainence - obviously this needs to be done on occasion but it was a little disappointing as we did not know in advance that it would be unavailable.

Overall though, we thought the hotel was really good value for the price paid and we have already booked a return trip next month. Hopefully the leisure facilities will be operational by then in which case I would likely give it a rating of five rather than four. Judging by the other comments on this site the £10 per night upgrade we paid for the superior room was money well spent as it really did give a four star rather then three star experience.

Room Tip: Did not see a basic room but judging by comments the upgrade to a superior room is worth the price d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kingus8284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie M, Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Kingus8284,

Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Barony Castle. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Jamie Mackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

The first bedroom I was given might have held a pair of shoes, the next room had three single beds in it but third time right. The resturant in the evening was very good. My stay was spoilt by on the last two evenings in the lounge a Husband and wife with older daughter came the staff obviously new them as they were around them like bee's around a honey pot and the daughter was going in and out of the private offices but her father had his mobile phone with him - it never stopped ringing in the lounge but when it did he was making calls. So the lounge and bar area could not really be used to read or have a quite drink. In the morning at breakfast the phone started again ! But the joy of breakfast were the children running around with pool cue's.
Towards the end of my stay breakfast food became less and less - no yoghurt, no eggs, a queue for bread because there was none.
As a new hotel to the Accor group I suppse it can only get better - when it does let me know !!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rodneywebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie M, Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear rodneywebb,

Thank you for your review following your stay with us at Barony Castle. I was pleased that I was able to speak to you on the telephone following your stay to gain further clarification.

Kind regards

Jamie Mackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Our fourth or fifth stay, but first time under new management. Lovely room (with spa bath, fridge, views and coffee machine - £48, 1 night), excellent service, beautiful grounds and nice town. Yes the lift wasn't working but reception told us this on arrival and offered to help with luggage. The pool is undergoing a refub, but these things didn't matter, we love the hotel and location.

Food wasn't as good as it was under the previous owner and the breakfast was expensive (£13.95 each), so we gave it a miss.

However, we recommend Barony Castle for a relaxing break with a luxury feel. Worth paying the extra for a superior room.

Room Tip: Pay for a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie M, Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear michael f,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Barony Castle. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about the food, which we have since addressed whilst implementing our new menu in the bar and Blue Dug restaurant.

Kind regards

Jamie Mackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

This hotel is mid refurb. Ruined a romantic night.

Rooms were available and we "could" have been given another vacant room.

Spent the afternoon on Booking for an alternative.

Loads of disappointed angry guests... manager will say she tried to help. She didnt!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Martynjonesglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie M, Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear martynjonesglasgow,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on tripadvisor. I am sorry that on this occasion you did not enjoy your stay. It was unfortunate you were disappointed that the pool was closed during your stay as you had been informed of this at the time of making your booking.

As discussed with management at the time, should you wish to come back in the future, please contact Stephanie Morgan our front of house manager on smorgan@baronycastle.com who would be more than happy to help you.

Best regards

Jamie Mackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

A great stay at the Barony castle over the valentine’s weekend. The staff made an effort to put rose petals on the bed as well as bathrobes which are not usually complementary for a standard double room- thank you so much- you made us feel very special. The view from our room was beautiful as facing the wee waterfall and we were able to hear it too. A great coffee making facility in the room, nespresso machine- very innovative. The bed was extremely comfortable. The cleanliness of the room was OK, however a bit of mould on the windows (more maintenance than housekeeping issue). There also was a damp patch on the ceiling. There was no toilet brush which wasn’t very hygienic. We had a dinner at the restaurant which was very tasty - however the choice very limited as only 3 options per course available (valentines menu). The staff had lovely, police attitude and nothing was too much trouble for them. The food was served promptly without any delay or rush. The choice on the cold buffet at the BF was quite limited as lack of cold meats and cheeses and no fresh fruit offered. Juices from concentrate. I did not like the fact that the same staffs were serving dinner and breakfast and Gordon at the reception was there during the whole time- not very sustainable approach towards employees. The grounds around the hotel are great for relaxing walks and there are plenty of beautiful views. The pool was quite small but nice though- especially during dark times as had lovely colourful lights. However the water was far too warm- I had to go for a cold shower next to a sauna as felt boiling at some points. Overall a very nice experience, I would recommend the hotel to everyone how is looking for a country break far away from the chaos of a city. .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kasia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie M, Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Kasia W,

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards

Jamie Mackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eddleston
4.4 mi away
Peebles Hydro
Peebles Hydro
#7 of 8 in Peebles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,809 reviews
4.4 mi away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
1.7 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Park
The Park
#6 of 8 in Peebles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
24.0 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Boswells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
4.3 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#3 of 8 in Peebles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel

Property: Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
Address: Eddleston by Peebles | Scottish Borders, Eddleston EH45 8QW, Scotland (Formerly Barony Castle)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Eddleston
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eddleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barony Castle Hotel Eddleston
Barony Castle Hotel Peebles
Barony Castle Peebles
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel Eddleston, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing