We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquillity”
Review of Fairydean Mill

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eddleston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fairydean Mill
Ranked #1 of 2 Eddleston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tranquillity”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

If you are looking for peace and tranquillity, then look no further, because this really is a magical place. I can only iterate what all previous trip advisers have written; on arrival, you are greeted with very friendly and obliging hosts who have a wonderful way of putting you at ease in welcoming you into their amazing home and property.
The rooms are to an exceptionally high standard with great attention to detail on little extras.
Breakfast commences with a selection of lovely fresh fruit salad, yoghurts and cereal followed by a beautifully cooked breakfast to order, everything you could possibly want to the start of your day.
Thank you for a wonderful stay, hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
66
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

A very beautiful location and chance to stay in a stunning house with very friendly and attentive hosts. The rooms and beds were excellent - comfortable, stylish and clean, and with lovely ensuites. Every attention was payed to detail, including delicious cupcakes and coffee on arrival, and some beautifully wrapped treats on our second morning. The breakfasts were exceptional - traditional cooked or fresh fruit with a really good choice of Dorset cereals too, and also very near some great places to eat in the day time. Certainly a place to return to, especially owing to the generosity and friendliness of the hosts - many thanks indeed!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarmaladePip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

A great find for attending a local wedding. A lovely welcome with tea and fabulous cakes and great to have a spotless room and ensuite shower-room for getting ready for wedding. Plus, the owners were very flexible about our expected late return. Amazing cooked breakfast too with fresh fruit and selection of cereals, made to order at a time of our choosing. Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank G E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The place looked amazing on the site however when we arrived it was even more stunning than we thought. Lovely setting and such a beautiful house. The room was so modern and clean with everything you need in it. Big tv, fluffy robes, the comfiest beds and the most lovely shower room.

we had an excellent stay and will be recommending this place to family and friends. Great place.


Can't wait to come back.


My boyfriend was very impresses with the cooked breakfast.... So tasty. I loved it!


Couldn't fault on anything.



See you again :-)


Kim and Stuart

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kim and stuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

My wife and I decided to stay at Fairydean Mill whilst celebrating our wedding anniversary. An excellent choice, as the owners could'nt have been more friendly or helpful. They provided fabulous suggestions for us to fill our weekend, all within the local area. Upon arrival, we were provided with delicious cupcakes made by the owners. The room was beautifully finished, with one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. Upon waking, we had our morning coffee outside our own patio doors on a beautiful secluded private patio area overlooking the burn, before making our way up for a perfectly made breakfast. Overall a fantastic experience, and one I have no hesitation in recommending to others.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Whilst surfing the net for B&B within a 20 mile radius of Edinburgh and with a preference for the Scottish Borders, I hit upon the most magically sounding place - "Fairydean Mill". FABULOUS, what an absolute gem it turned out to be. If you are exploring the Scottish Borders or just wanting a few days of absolute luxury and peace, then I can't recommend this enough. We stayed in the "Fairydean Burn" which is a wonderfully spacious and simply stylish room with a fabulous 'open plan' shower. An added bonus are the french doors leading out on to a small open patio and an uninterrupted view of the Burn. To fall asleep in one of the comfiest beds ever whilst listening to the soporific Burn, is one of life's 'must do' experiences. Our hosts Mandi and David were absolutely charming. I can't wait to return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RobinsNestCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eddleston
1.7 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
739 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
9.0 mi away
Traquair Arms Hotel
Traquair Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Innerleithen
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Peebles Hydro
Peebles Hydro
#7 of 8 in Peebles
1,919 reviews
4.4 mi away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
11.5 mi away
Dalhousie Castle
Dalhousie Castle
#1 of 1 in Bonnyrigg
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairydean Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairydean Mill

Property: Fairydean Mill
Address: Fairydean Mill Black Barony, Eddleston EH45 8QW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Eddleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Eddleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairydean Mill is a hidden gem, nestling on the edge of the Meldons. The listed part of the property was once a Mill with waterwheel on Black Barony Estate. This has now been sympathetically extended to incorporate three beautifully appointed B&B rooms. The atmosphere is relaxed and luxurious. You may wake to the sounds of woodland birdsong and fall asleep to the music of Fairydean Burn, which runs through the garden, beneath venerable yews.Extensive cooked breakfasts each morning include freshly prepared fruit salads and freshly baked bread made at Fairydean Mill, together with a choice of cooked breakfasts, including vegetarian and healthy options.Beds have Hypnos mattresses and soft Egyptian Cotton sheets so you can be guaranteed a good night sleep. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fairydean Mill Eddleston, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing