We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful wedding anniversay stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Horseshoe Restaurant

The Horseshoe Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Eddleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $68
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Relaxed, easy dining is offered here at The Horseshoe Inn���s Bistro, a low key alternative to the sumptuous Bardoulet���s Restaurant, which has made The Horseshoe famous on the Scottish dining scene. Cosy and rustic, the Bistro is centered around a wood paneled main bar with small round tables edged by linen covered chairs, dark wood original beams overhead and a wood fired stove throwing out warmth just perfect for those cold Scottish winters. A regularly changing menu allows acclaimed chef Patrick Bardoulet to tackle favourite classics from throughout Europe but with his trademark creative twist, using excellent seasonal ingredients from the many excellent producers Scotland has to offer. A children���s menu is available throughout the day, with equally carefully created dishes introducing small gastronomes to the world of good food. Meanwhile, the bar stocks an array of excellent ales well suited to the casual dining approach offered by The Horseshoe Inn Bistro.
Ardrossan, United Kingdom
1 review
“Delightful wedding anniversay stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Booked an overnight with dinner and breakfast for our 41st wedding anniversary. On arrival staff were absolutely charming and mad us feel very welcome. The room in the old School was beautifully decorated and had all amenities for a comfortable stay. Dinner was exceptionally delicious with a wonderful choice delivered to a very high standard. All staff extremely friendly and helpful. While having coffee in the lounge we were presented with a plate of petit fours with Happy 41st Anniversary piped on the plate. A very special extra touch from a chance remark. Overall a wonderful place to go for a bar meal or a special occassion with fine dining and a relaxing stay. DELIGHTFUL

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    39
    17
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

We went for dinner here in the restaurant - food was absolutely amazing , the place has been beUtifully done - very relaxing :) staff were exceptional :)

Helpful?
Thank mansaclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peebles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

What a delight, and fantastic service and setting, we ate in the restaurant which as between £40 and £50 a head but excellent for a special occasion. We checked out the Brassiere and would try that next time as more reasonably priced just for a Saturday night meal but as it all comes from the same kitchen and served by the same staff I expect great things. They also have rooms so if you are up this way I recommend you give it a try..

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nicknicknak0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

We had thought about trying The Horseshoe for a while but it is a bit of a trip! Booked for Sunday lunch which we thought was tremendous value for gourmet dining and very reasonable.
2 starters & mains, 1 desert, 2 glasses of wine, 1 G&T, 1 coffee £56.00 great value!
Would thoroughly recommend.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MRW1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Dunbartonshire
Level Contributor
215 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“It doesn't get better than this!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

We went along for lunch on Sunday 5 August 2012. We stayed at the nearby Barony Castle for 3 nights but had wanted to try out this place since seeing it in March. We had passed it en route to Leithen Lodge at Innerleithen. The restaurant had been closed as it was a Monday so I wanted to make sure we got an opportunity to visit sometime.

I rang the restaurant a couple of weeks in advance + spoke to both Manager Mark + Deputy Manager, Shashi, to arrange this special treat to my husband for our anniversary + it was absolutely beautiful.

We were greeted at the door by the very beautiful, Megumi. She showed us to the lounge where we were served drinks until our table was ready. We perused the menus and relaxed in the beautiful surroundings. Megumi came and took our order in advance of us going into the restaurant area. As it was Sunday, they only do the 2 courses for £19.50 menu or 3 courses for £22. The restaurant is only open on a Sunday from 12 - 2.30 pm + is closed on Sunday evenings. The food is first class with pretty unusual mixes such as pork belly with squid! I opted for the pan fried hake with a casserole of octopus, puy lentils + seashore (samphire + spinach). My husband chose the traditional roast beef with trimmings. After being led to the table by Marietta, we were brought a huge jug of water and a glass of ice which she offered before serving with little tongs. We were then brought bread rolls and they had apricot + fennel, lemon + thyme or mixed seed. We had apricot + fennel, it was an unusual mix but very delicious. Everything was so lovely in gorgeous surroundings and so relaxed too. The water glasses were topped up regularly without prompting. The atmosphere was glorious and plush. Nearly all of the tables were full + people were being turned away for not having reservations. In fact I think three separate groups while we were there never got a table, so make sure you book in advance. We hadn't ordered any of the gorgeous starters as we didn't want to be unable to eat our main courses, so opted for desserts at end. Though in my case, it was cheese + oatcakes. David had a lovely mango mousse with vanilla ice cream + it looked like a work of art on a plate! I was delivered a beautiful plate with 5 separate cheeses, grapes, chutney and oatcakes. Marietta's son, Mario then proceeded to take me on a tour of the plate explaining the cheeses and recommending which order I should eat them for the best experience of the flavours! Never had that before but it was so much appreciated.

On asking for the bill, which we were brought inside a book-like box and as we were finishing off our drinks, Mario arrived with a plate decorated with "Happy Anniversary" in chocolate writing. On the plate were some petits fours with a delightful candle on one. It was a wonderful touch and everything here was lovely. I just can't praise it enough. If you find yourself in this vicinity, do give it a try! Even the toilets are fab!!

Thanks to all for a lovely experience, especially the chef Riad!!
Janice + David Hall
Xx

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Halls007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Horseshoe Restaurant also viewed

Peebles, Scottish Borders
 
Walkerburn, Scottish Borders
Peebles, Scottish Borders
 

Been to The Horseshoe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing