We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable--Great Location for Drayton Theatre”

Listowel Country Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Listowel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Listowel Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Listowel B&B and Inns
Windsor,Ontario,
Level Contributor
437 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable--Great Location for Drayton Theatre”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is a lovely, clean and comfortable, roadside motel just north of the Town of Listowel, Ontario, Canada. Rooms were spotless--non-smoking available--bathrooms with heated tile floors, air conditioned, quiet. No Breakfast available. Balcony-walkway creates an additional illusion of spaciousness. We chose it because of its proximity to Drayton and the Drayton Festival Theatre (about 30 minutes distant). Also close to Millbank (cheese factory) and not far from Hensell (Metzgers meats). Cheese shop up the road from the motel. Reservations recommended as this is popular motel and, perhaps the best, in the area.

Room Tip: Non-Smoking Rooms in the 200 Series--Park your car at the door--no stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NamutKwu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    16
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
5
1
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fonthill
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Each summer my wife and I seem to find ourselves in small towns a night or two. Usually the motel
we choose is a little world weary, a taint of old cigarette smoke and an innkeeper who would just as soon be somewhere else. But this time we phoned ahead, were greeted warmly, and were told for the night of June 1 we wouldn't need a reservation for the 30 room motel. When we arrived the owner informed us that for that night he would upgrade our accommodation to a suite at no extra charge. The room was excellent- clean and comfortable. He even allowed a 1 pm checkout to accommodate us. Lots of eating places nearby including an excellent Chinese buffet.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooretown
Level Contributor
67 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for a boys baseball tournament.
The rooms were very clean and nice. I like the motel because we could sit outside of the rooms and socialize while the kids went to bed.

I think the problems everyone was having was because the owners held rooms for some teams who didn't show.

I think the owners from now on should NOT hold any rooms unless they have a credit card and charge the first night if rooms are cancelled within a few days of stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBall5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stouffville
Level Contributor
87 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The 'upgraded' room was fabulous! We travel and stay in chain hotels 15 - 20 nights in a year, and this 'topped them all'. There was a microwave, refrigerator, coffee, good size room and bathroom, very up-to-date for a motel that's been there awhile. The sheets were fabulous -- good quality, crisp and clean. Not the dull, thin sheets that you often find in hotels. We didn't have any time deadlines for the next morning, so decided not to set the alarm. It was so dark and quiet that when I woke up, the clock said 10:52 am, and I NEVER sleep in! I'm sure some of the rooms may be a little more dated, but for a few dollars extra, I would recommend the 'upgrade'.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank senior_traveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaPorte, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I have been coming to Listowel a couple times a year for the Carson Draft Horse Sales. I always book a room at the Listowel Country Inn and never have any problems. The rooms are clean, beds tidy, and bathroom well kept. I have stayed at some sketchy places and this is by far one of the best I stay at. Management is courteous and helpful. Plus you get a discount paying in cash! Just a short drive from town but a nice Inn to relax for the night.

Room Tip: I'd say ask for first floor if you don't like stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelby Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We are here for a baseball tournament. Every one of us got charged a different price for the same rooms, and the owners are rude. First they said they had no room for us at all. We were told the rooms were $119 a night, and we came to find they were $130. There were 4 of us in a room, which on their website says is the number of people a room can have. Our friends were charged $290 up front for 4 people in the same size room. Other friends had 2 and were told it was $20 more a person over 2 people. They came out at 11:00 pm and told us its quiet time like we're children, and we apologized and got quieter. The people down from us were almost silently playing cards and the owner came out again at 1 and he said he was going to call the cops on us all because he couldn't hear his tv. We offered to go out back and were told we had to stay in our rooms. The room attendants came in while we were gone when we didn't ask for service, and moved our things around, such as our clothing and personal items. The pop machines were empty and there was no ice. The owners dog yipped around late at night and was very annoying. I would never ever recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Unhappy_in_listowel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ListowelMotel, Owner at Listowel Country Inn, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
On behalf of Management, we would like to apologize to all our valued guests that had their stay disrupted due to the events and actions that took place during August 31 to September 2nd caused by a particular group of guests.

We will be more diligent in the future to prevent such annoyances from occurring in order to ensure that all guests experience the reputation that the Listowel Country Inn has prided itself on over that past 26 years.

In regards to the defamatory reviews posted related to this incident, we would like readers to consider all the facts when deciding on accommodation options.

Management
Listowel Country Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Said rooms are 119 a night and we get there and they are 129 a night. Made us pay up front. And Once the country inn got there money was watching us all night 11:00 pm comes around the male owner is threating to kick us out. Said we had to be in are room being quite. 6 of us where on the balcony. Playing cards and the owner was Pissed.

Ball teams beware they will kick you out!!! Cash grab CROOKS!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ball33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ListowelMotel, Owner at Listowel Country Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Motels beware

We would like to apologize to all the Guest staying Aug.31 and Sept.1
for extreme noise and rude langue. All of you staying at our Motel you witness
extreme drinking and partying from “baseball team 20 plus “ staying in rooms
109,110.111,101,102,103 and 106 .We guarantee that would NOT happened
again. We are very sorry young kids from other team had to listen all the
language for 2 nights. We assure all our costumers that this WON’T happened again
We are sorry not to remove this “drunks” out of the Motel first night. As much we try to
be nice and professional we can’t ignore that some people are just not ready
to stay and share public places. All the review from them are total false.
We have the same rates $119.00 for 2 people and $129.00 for 3-4 people
for past 3 years and they new that. Not to communicate with the team manager is
not our problem. Right from the first people check in we knew we have problem.
Drunk 2pm, using F.. word for manager idiot stupid etc…In 26 years running Motel we newer
heard so many swearing and F.. words. We are so sorry for the kids next to them who have to listen
this for 2 days. Yes, what a role models for baseball. Harassing our housekeeping for
changing towels and refill the coffee and fix the rooms which is the part of our service
was so low we have no comments.
We at the Country Inn Motel regret we let those people to stay 2nd day and harass
other guest and management. Our promise to enforce 11pm – 7am QUIET hours
will be 100% from now on

We offer special discount for the guest staying Aug.31 and Sept 1/12 for your next visit

Sincerely apologies

Country Inn Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Listowel Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Listowel Country Inn

Property: Listowel Country Inn
Address: R.R. #1, Hwy 23 North, Listowel, Ontario, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Listowel
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Listowel
Number of rooms: 36
Also Known As:
Listowel Country Inn Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing